R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-07-2011, 05:10 AM   #1
Tech Fanatic
 
drstrangelove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Singapore
Posts: 867
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default AKA Tires

Hi Guys,

Anyone know if those AKA tires that pre-mounted with the wheels come with holes ready in the tire?

I mean, it is advisable to create few holes on the tire right? So thus the pre-mounted one they do the same?
__________________
Accepting sponsors who need to test their products durability :)
drstrangelove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 05:16 AM   #2
Tech Master
 
TVMRocket69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lancaster Pa.
Posts: 1,904
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to TVMRocket69 Send a message via Yahoo to TVMRocket69
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by drstrangelove View Post
Hi Guys,

Anyone know if those AKA tires that pre-mounted with the wheels come with holes ready in the tire?

I mean, it is advisable to create few holes on the tire right? So thus the pre-mounted one they do the same?
Yes holes are in the tires already.
__________________
Bob Walker Jr.-Sponsor's-
AnswerUSA-RC Team Driver, G's R/C Raceway Team Driver, RBMods Team Driver, Kosmic R/C Fuel Team Driver, MurfDogg Motorworks Team Driver, Serpent S811B, Serpent S811t, MurfDogg Powered V-Desizn Carpet Ripper 5
TVMRocket69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 07:42 AM   #3
Tech Fanatic
 
drstrangelove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Singapore
Posts: 867
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Thanks TVMRocket69.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TVMRocket69 View Post
Yes holes are in the tires already.
__________________
Accepting sponsors who need to test their products durability :)
drstrangelove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 11:06 AM   #4
Tech Initiate
 
OnePixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 22
Default

I just bought Proline pre-mounted, and no holds in the tires.
anyone know how to punch holds in tires without remove them off?
Thx
__________________
Team Associated - Werks - Airtronics - Savox - Proline
OnePixel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 11:27 AM   #5
Tech Master
 
pickle311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,650
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OnePixel View Post
I just bought Proline pre-mounted, and no holds in the tires.
anyone know how to punch holds in tires without remove them off?
Thx

Leather hole punch is what I use. There's enough spacing to get it over the wheel.
__________________
Thanks to my sponsors and friends
RC America l Xray l Hudy | Pro-Line |KO Propo | Avid | VP Powermaster
pickle311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 11:40 AM   #6
Tech Lord
 
Jaz240's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dwindle city
Posts: 12,492
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

you cant use a hole punch on pre-mounted tires, Pull the rubber away from the foam and use a dremel to drill a hole about 2-3MM
__________________
nothing to see here................................
Jaz240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 11:41 AM   #7
Tech Initiate
 
OnePixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pickle311 View Post
Leather hole punch is what I use. There's enough spacing to get it over the wheel.
Do you mean using the leather punch on the tire and wheel together, so it will go through the tire??
__________________
Team Associated - Werks - Airtronics - Savox - Proline
OnePixel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 11:43 AM   #8
Tech Initiate
 
OnePixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaz240 View Post
you cant use a hole punch on pre-mounted tires, Pull the rubber away from the foam and use a dremel to drill a hole about 2-3MM
I think this will work : ),, Thanks
__________________
Team Associated - Werks - Airtronics - Savox - Proline
OnePixel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 12:19 PM   #9
Tech Champion
 
losi_racer's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: mesa,az
Posts: 6,470
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaz240 View Post
you cant use a hole punch on pre-mounted tires, Pull the rubber away from the foam and use a dremel to drill a hole about 2-3MM
Yes you can , I've had to do it. Pull the tire away and pinch it and align the hole punch at the edge of the tire where you pinched it
__________________

Byron Fuels/AKA Tires/Radiopost/TKO/Viper Rc/Dialed Inc/Empire Metal Product/Advantage Racing Products
losi_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 01:42 PM   #10
Tech Lord
 
Jaz240's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dwindle city
Posts: 12,492
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by losi_racer View Post
Yes you can , I've had to do it. Pull the tire away and pinch it and align the hole punch at the edge of the tire where you pinched it
Explain how you do not punch 2 holes in your tire like that. You have to insert the folded tire into the hole punch and when you squeeze its going to punch a hole all the way through. If you manage to get the entire tire and wheel inside the hole punch, when you squeeze you will also be punching a hole in your foam. I just cant picture any way for a hole punch to work on a pre-mount, but I've been wrong before
__________________
nothing to see here................................
Jaz240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 01:46 PM   #11
Tech Lord
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,500
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaz240 View Post
Explain how you do not punch 2 holes in your tire like that. You have to insert the folded tire into the hole punch and when you squeeze its going to punch a hole all the way through. If you manage to get the entire tire and wheel inside the hole punch, when you squeeze you will also be punching a hole in your foam. I just cant picture any way for a hole punch to work on a pre-mount, but I've been wrong before
Doug is special that way.
__________________
- X-Ray/ RC America Team Driver - MKS -
- XB8 - XB8T - XB8 E - OS Spec III - B2102 - 4PXR -
~ SSC ~ Godfather ~ Ironman ~ ButterySmooth ~
Frank L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 01:47 PM   #12
Tech Champion
 
losi_racer's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: mesa,az
Posts: 6,470
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaz240 View Post
Explain how you do not punch 2 holes in your tire like that. You have to insert the folded tire into the hole punch and when you squeeze its going to punch a hole all the way through. If you manage to get the entire tire and wheel inside the hole punch, when you squeeze you will also be punching a hole in your foam. I just cant picture any way for a hole punch to work on a pre-mount, but I've been wrong before
Put the hole punch at the edge where you pinched it up , then since its folded against it self only use half the diameter of the hole punch ,sorry if you don't understand it's hard to explain , I can show you at the track if wanted
__________________

Byron Fuels/AKA Tires/Radiopost/TKO/Viper Rc/Dialed Inc/Empire Metal Product/Advantage Racing Products
losi_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 01:49 PM   #13
Tech Champion
 
losi_racer's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: mesa,az
Posts: 6,470
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank L View Post
Doug is special that way.
Shut it frank ..l.. ..l..
__________________

Byron Fuels/AKA Tires/Radiopost/TKO/Viper Rc/Dialed Inc/Empire Metal Product/Advantage Racing Products
losi_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 01:50 PM   #14
Tech Lord
 
Jaz240's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dwindle city
Posts: 12,492
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

I understand you now. Punch a half moon at the very tip and when unfolded it's a full circle. Man you really need to stretch the rubber to do that, but I got you now.
__________________
nothing to see here................................
Jaz240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 01:54 PM   #15
Tech Champion
 
losi_racer's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: mesa,az
Posts: 6,470
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaz240 View Post
I understand you now. Punch a half moon at the very tip and when unfolded it's a full circle. Man you really need to stretch the rubber to do that, but I got you now.
Yeah . Not the preferred way but it can be done . Better then drilling and possibly hitting the foam IMO
__________________

Byron Fuels/AKA Tires/Radiopost/TKO/Viper Rc/Dialed Inc/Empire Metal Product/Advantage Racing Products
losi_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AKA tires ALG Nitro Off-Road 1793 11-04-2016 06:37 AM
AKA Tires Stirex Nitro Off-Road 23 04-20-2011 08:31 AM
AMB personal, JR Servo,.12 engine, Proline,AKA tires,wheels Dragtruck R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 47 12-07-2010 08:43 AM
AKA Tires......Release Date? Newell33 Nitro Off-Road 69 09-11-2008 12:21 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:54 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net