Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Can anyone recomend a good nitro off road buggy

Search this Thread

Old 12-05-2011, 02:17 PM
Tech Rookie

Default Can anyone recomend a good nitro off road buggy

Im new to nitro and am after a good durable, easy to use offroad nitro buggy that i can bash without having to spend hours repairing bits. Im currently looking at HPI's. i started off looking at the firestorm, then got tempted by the Bullet 3.0 MT but dont like the fact it has plastic spur gear, now im looking at the trophy truggy and my eyes lit up when i saw the savage but this is expensive at £400 can anyone recomend anything please?
Old 12-05-2011, 02:41 PM
Tech Regular

HPI is known for making virtually bullet-proof stuff so you're looking in the right direction. Don't let a plastic spur gear scare you off of a kit you like the look of. They actually last a long time as long as you set your gear mesh properly. They are also dirt cheap. Only about $5 usually. I actually keep 4 in my toolbox at all times.

I have heard really good things about the nitro Firestorm and the Savage. Frankly, under $500 is dirt cheap to pay for a durable nitro. If you want a buggy, HPI is making an RTR version of their Hotbodies D8 that looks really sweet http://www.hpiracing.com/kitinfo/106116/. If you are on a budget though, the Firestorm is a great starter nitro truck http://www.hpiracing.com/kitinfo/105865/. Unfortunately, I know nothing about the trophy buggy and truggy, other than they do look nice in pics.

If you are not dead set on HPI, Losi makes a decent starter buggy as well, the 810 http://www.losi.com/Products/Default...rodID=LOSB0021. Out of personal experience, I would say stay away from their Ten T rtr truggy. It was my first nitro RC purchase and I love it to bits, but it was very frustrating dealing with the onboard starter issues. Losi does make RTR versions of their 1/8th 8ight 2.0 buggy and truggy, but they are $700-800 which I suspect is more than you want to spend.