Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
Starting a Custom Nitro build....Am I crazy? >

Starting a Custom Nitro build....Am I crazy?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Starting a Custom Nitro build....Am I crazy?

Search this Thread

Old 08-15-2011, 09:21 PM
Tech Rookie

Default Starting a Custom Nitro build....Am I crazy?

How's it going guys? Just to start off, I have been racing RC for about 5 years now, got started at a SMALL on road carpet oval running an AE18t, then moved up to offroad. I now run an AE RC8b, an HPI Blitz (mod), a Losi XXXt-MF1 (mod).
I recently picked up 2 Traxxas Rustler Nitro's (one w/ a Traxxas 2.5, the other with the .15) and a Traxxas Jato (2.5 as well) for $20 total. They all supposedly run, but were torn apart by the previous previous owners, and then given up to the guy I bought them from. Far as I can tell, they are all there. They are the older versions, not the latest, but that doesn't stop me!
I decided to turn the Jato and 1 of the Nitro Rustlers into dirt oval cars (one for me, one for a co-worker), and tear apart the 2nd Rustler and turn it into a Nitro powered, RWD, SOLID AXLE short course truck. I know that RC Driver I believe did a custom RWD Nitro Slash, but I want to do them one better. I want SOLID AXLE!!!!
So, just seeing what the collected expertise of this board thought, as most of the local racers just look at me funny when I mention it, and think I sniffed just a bit too much of the nitro fume.
I want to keep it "1/10th" scale, so roughly the same wheelbase as the Slash or Blitz. The front end will keep the wishbone independent suspension. I am thinking about using 2 of the swingarms from the Kyosho Mad Force MT, as they look PRETTY beefy. I am unsure about the axle, if a Axial SCX10 axle or an HPI wheely king axle would be wide enough. Don't really want to buy one from RC4wd, because even though they are AWESOME, they are expensive.