R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-21-2011, 04:19 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,779
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default oh no, what have I done!!

So the family was over my house for a BBQ today and at some point the new 8ight 2.0 was spotted. So of course they made me take it out and the inevitable "well how fast does it go" came up. So stupid me ripping it back and forth up the street to the delight of the family doesn't realize it's running lean until the controller starts beeping. Yep, overheating. I immediately shut it down, put the piston to BDC, let it cool a bit, pulled the plug and dropped in after run. is everything going to be ok? Is there anything else I can do. Please help I am worried I ruined my new buggies engine!!
vw addict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 04:25 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
Jerm13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: VB, VA
Posts: 3,237
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

About the only way to tell is fire it back up. If it runs the same, it should be ok. Good move putting the piston at BDC. It really helps take the stress off when cooling. Just make sure you adjust you mix so it wont run lean.
I have a motor that I ran at 350ish one time and she is still kickin 3 gallons later!
__________________
Serpent Cobra-TE RCR Nova P5 / Serpent SRX8 Werks B7ProKE
AE SC10.2/////AE B5M CE/////AKA/////Serpent America/////Desoto Racing
Spektrum Radios and Servos, Tekin Speedo's and Motors, SMC Batteries
RC Pro Racing VA, Awesome Hobbies(RIP), Debbies RC World VA, Thunder Alley Raceway NC
Jerm13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 04:26 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
mHOUPS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: KCMO
Posts: 1,440
Trader Rating: 5 (86%+)
Default

How hot is "overheated"? What fuel are you using? The after run oil is pointless unless your going to let the car sit for a long period of time.
__________________
Mike "Hoops" Houp

#66
"If you dont have time to do it right, When do you have time to do it over"
mHOUPS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 04:28 PM   #4
Tech Addict
 
prowlag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: The land down under.
Posts: 615
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vw addict View Post
So the family was over my house for a BBQ today and at some point the new 8ight 2.0 was spotted. So of course they made me take it out and the inevitable "well how fast does it go" came up. So stupid me ripping it back and forth up the street to the delight of the family doesn't realize it's running lean until the controller starts beeping. Yep, overheating. I immediately shut it down, put the piston to BDC, let it cool a bit, pulled the plug and dropped in after run. is everything going to be ok? Is there anything else I can do. Please help I am worried I ruined my new buggies engine!!
Mate - as long as werent running it at 300 degrees for a long time it shouldnt have any major issues. Thats on the assumption you have already broken it in properly? Relax!
prowlag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 04:29 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
alexrckid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: south carolina
Posts: 1,555
Default

w/o the ARO, do you still have compression when cold..?? if so, and guessing that the glow plug didn't blow, you should be ok. most of the time, when the engine severly overheats, the element in the plug self destructs...
__________________
2008/2009 northeast super series Production MT champion
8T-2.0, werks B5, 2013, hitec's.
gallimods hobbies and raceway, barn/wolcott.
living in north myrtle beach. race at badlands
alexrckid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 04:31 PM   #6
Suspended
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: northern michigan
Posts: 7,916
Trader Rating: 202 (96%+)
Default

Im sure its fine!
__________________
D8 "HARA", OS SPEED, ,SAVOX 1267/68 SERVOS, BYRONS 25%, SPEKTRUM DX3R PRO
D8T GO GXII ,SAVOX 1267/68 SERVOS, BYRONS 25%, SPEKTRUM DX3R PRO
NMRCC -(northern michigan rc club)
inferno13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 04:38 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,779
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexrckid View Post
w/o the ARO, do you still have compression when cold..?
engine is cold now, Smooth at BDC, can't turn it over with my finger. It got up to 250, that's when I shut it down. It was like 4 full throttle pulls in front of my house, so not a long time at all. Thanks guys, didn't want to scrap a new powerplant, yes it was broken in properly and had two rich practice runs at the track so far.
vw addict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 05:02 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
devnull's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: GA
Posts: 1,436
Trader Rating: 120 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vw addict View Post
engine is cold now, Smooth at BDC, can't turn it over with my finger. It got up to 250, that's when I shut it down. It was like 4 full throttle pulls in front of my house, so not a long time at all. Thanks guys, didn't want to scrap a new powerplant, yes it was broken in properly and had two rich practice runs at the track so far.
I run 250 at tune on my OS motors, it's barely hot bud. Not even close to too hot.

No worries whatsoever.

__________________
Romans 10:13
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑβΕ
JQ, AE, TLR, TD, AG... Still can't decide. They all go to 11
devnull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 05:13 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,779
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

sweet, I am kinda worried, probably for no reason. Should I drop a few more drops of ARO in there now that it is completely cool, or am I getting OCD? Another stupid question, pull plug, add ARO, then do I put the plug back in or not before turning the engine over on the starter box? I figured I didn't want all that oil on the plug so I didn't.
vw addict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 05:17 PM   #10
Tech Master
 
So*Cal AFDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Moreno Valley
Posts: 1,454
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Losi 350 motor runs at 275 all day long with amazing power
__________________
-Aaron Willming
~ Hobby-Pro USA ~ Viper-RC ~ IERC Raceway ~

www.IERCRaceway.com - www.Facebook.com/IERCRaceway
So*Cal AFDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 05:22 PM   #11
Tech Lord
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,500
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

Ya 250 is race tune as far as I am concerned. I ran this yesterday at temps from 230's to 260's and my engines run strong.

I think you are fine.
__________________
- X-Ray/ RC America Team Driver - MKS -
- XB8 - XB8T - XB8 E - OS Spec III - B2102 - 4PXR -
~ SSC ~ Godfather ~ Ironman ~ ButterySmooth ~
Frank L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 05:26 PM   #12
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,779
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Thanks again guys, but do I put the plug in after the ARO before I turn it over on the box or not? I hate being a n00b.... I am going to get the turbo head kit tuesday anyway, and it comes with two new plugs.
vw addict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 05:34 PM   #13
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: In a house
Posts: 1,115
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vw addict View Post
Thanks again guys, but do I put the plug in after the ARO before I turn it over on the box or not? I hate being a n00b.... I am going to get the turbo head kit tuesday anyway, and it comes with two new plugs.
no need to add after run oil...the drops you put in before should be enough. as with alot of fuels today there is no need for aro. I seldom ever put aro in my motors unless they go into my back up case incase I need them at a race.
__________________
I'm a little teapot!
bobbyc1127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 05:39 PM   #14
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,779
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobbyc1127 View Post
no need to add after run oil...the drops you put in before should be enough.
but i was running it top end lean for a bit, still no ARO?
vw addict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 05:44 PM   #15
Suspended
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: northern michigan
Posts: 7,916
Trader Rating: 202 (96%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vw addict View Post
but i was running it top end lean for a bit, still no ARO?
i would not worry about it at all, i dont use ARO on my engines, i dont feel it is good for a silicone filed crank, all it does is soften silicon and make it weak, not sure if the losi 350 in silicon or not but no worries bud!!!! sleep well tonite
__________________
D8 "HARA", OS SPEED, ,SAVOX 1267/68 SERVOS, BYRONS 25%, SPEKTRUM DX3R PRO
D8T GO GXII ,SAVOX 1267/68 SERVOS, BYRONS 25%, SPEKTRUM DX3R PRO
NMRCC -(northern michigan rc club)
inferno13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Uh oh, It's happening again Davidka Electric Off-Road 271 07-14-2011 05:34 PM
Dirt Oval Racing at I-80 Speedway nomorals2009 Nebraska/Iowa Racing 550 06-09-2011 04:20 PM
Cactus Classic and other big events. Have they lost sight of whats important??? HARDOCOR RACING Electric Off-Road 124 04-08-2011 10:34 PM
Stock: what should the specifications be? Radio Active Australian Racing 321 07-16-2010 01:53 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:18 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net