R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Old 08-07-2011, 05:04 AM   #1
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default Night shift and RC racing?

I was wondering how many of you work nights and still manage to race on the weekends. Especially some fo the bigger 2-3 day races?

I am asking because about 4 weeks ago I got moved to nights 6pm-6am 4 days a week, weekends off. But, since going to this shift I can't seem to adjust my sleep patterns from my work schedule. Hence making it virtually impossible to race. Hence I have cancelled my plans to attend 3 fairly large races, for me at least. Mo State Series, St. Louis, Byrons Nitro Challenge, St. Louis, and RC Pro Series in Gravette, Ar..

Any info will be welcome, and I hope I can figure something out. Otherwise I might as well sell my stuff..
Old 08-07-2011, 05:29 AM   #2
Tech Adept

ive been working the night shift for the last 4 years. 4 pm to 4:30 am mon thru thursday. to switch my schedule, after work on friday morning i usually take a 3 to 4 hour nap. this gets me up around 10 am and i can function properly untill 9 or 10 pm. on sundays to get ready for the work week again i will catch a 1 or 2 hour nap in the early evening preferably.sometimes its earlier sometimes its 9 pm, but its enough to keep me awake to reset mr schedule to get back to work. I am lucky enough to have a wife and kids who put up with me needing a nap or being a little owly from a lack of sleep.
hope this helps Mark
markkris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 05:50 AM   #3
Tech Prophet

i whould just club race man its a lot less stress anyways before you sell your stuff.
tc5 man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 08:38 AM   #4
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)

For me it took a really long time to adjust to working night shift, took me something like 4 to 6months to adjust. Establishing a good sleep pattern is very important. I am glad I do not work this shift, I was always moody