gear mesh

Old 06-07-2011, 07:12 PM
Tech Initiate

Default gear mesh

Hi,

I have just installed a plastic spur gear in my Revo 3.3. I did the paper thing and it came through smooth with a little pull. There is also barely any play in it.
I pushed the truck across the floor and it sounded normal....to me (I'm still new at this).
I do have a steel spur gear to install, but I thought if I'm going to screw up something I'd rather it be a gear than transmission, etc.

Is there any other ways to check the gear mesh or should I start her up and go from there?

Thank you rctori
Old 06-08-2011, 07:07 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 29 (94%+)

I'd Say drive it and go...Sounds like you got it down packed!
Old 06-08-2011, 01:10 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)

Originally Posted by rctori
Hi,

I have just installed a plastic spur gear in my Revo 3.3. I did the paper thing and it came through smooth with a little pull. There is also barely any play in it.
I pushed the truck across the floor and it sounded normal....to me (I'm still new at this).
I do have a steel spur gear to install, but I thought if I'm going to screw up something I'd rather it be a gear than transmission, etc.

Is there any other ways to check the gear mesh or should I start her up and go from there?

Thank you rctori
The paper trick is the best method to use. I have been using the method for about 11 years.
Old 06-08-2011, 01:26 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)

Originally Posted by MCR82
The paper trick is the best method to use. I have been using the method for about 11 years.