Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Seeking advice which kit to buy?

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2011, 07:52 AM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default Seeking advice which kit to buy?

Hi all I am looking for help because I want to get back into off road Buggy racing but I last night I was looking into buying a buggy but I wasn't able to do it because I don't know which one to buy.
I will say that I am not a beginner but definitely not an expert so I need to understand what is the easier car to drive, have good quality in parts and must important is not expensive to maintain.
I used to have Mugen MBX5 then the first edition of the Xray 808 and from my experience both cars were pretty good, easy to drive and setup and with quality products at a reasonable price.
A few days ago I went to my local track and was able to drive a Losi 8ight, and I was not able to control the car, I felt that every time I tried to go faster and push the car I will start making a lot of mistakes making the car difficult to drive, I don't know if it was a matter of settings or simply that the car needs a more patient type of driven because I dont have that so I guess a need a car that is more forgiven.
Also I was able to see a Durango and a Hot Bodies but honestly both cars look to me to heavy and kind of slow, to me it was like looking at Mack trucks racing mini coopers. Again that was my point of view I might be wrong even I am thinking that might be the guys behind the wheel, but I was also able to look at more detail the Durango car and to me it is a very heavy car, it actually remember me my first Buggy and Ofna 9.5.
On the other hand I saw able to see the Agama, the Serpent and the new Mugen and I really liked them, they looked very sharp and yet not so difficult to drive. I guess from my previous experience from the MBX5 that the Mugen will be a good car but I keep wondering of the other two.