R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Old 05-23-2011, 12:14 AM   #1
Tech Initiate

Default Nitro Off Road Truck - Front Differential Broke - Will it move?

I recently traded a friend of mine some computer parts for his old nitro off road truck, it was 4wd but he said the front differential was busted.. so we gutted the front diff and took the metal gears out and saw one of the metal gears was busted (we also took the drive shafts out)..

so i took the now empty shell of the front diff and put it back on the car and left the drive shafts out as well.. im wondering will the car still have power to the rear wheels if i give it the gas ? I dont have any nitro so i cant test it myself for a while.. and he wasnt sure himself if it would still move or not without a front differential

im new to the hobby.. this is my first car.. albeit used.. im just curious if someone knows ahead of time before i go buy nitro when i should be ordering a new front diff just to get it moving

I'm not sure what kinda car this is.. the manual says its an ACME conkestador or something.. but the truck itself says Aggressor on it

all servos seem to work okay, throttle/brake and the steering works good though.
akirahz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 05:47 AM   #2
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 65 (100%+)

if you truck has a center differential, you will barely get power to the wheels. If it goes from motor to gear with a slipper pad style center gear, you will get power to the rear wheels. I did that on my mt2 a long time ago. be warned, their will be so much power to the rear wheels it will almost be undriveable. 4 wheel drives are designed for 4 wheels of drive power and cutting that in half makes it donut crazy.
cnelson3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 11:40 AM   #3
Tech Initiate