R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Old 05-05-2011, 10:40 PM   #1
Tech Initiate

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default First crash and break today, servo grinding no movement.

So I crashed today on the street in my losi 8ight 2.0 buggy that I just bought (used) and the steering servo is making a grinding noise and tries to respond to my commands (I can hear it moving) but nothing moves. I am new to the rc world and still trying to learn the basics. The servo that is not working is a JR Servo DS8417. I read in another post that there is such thing as a servo rebuild kit? I sure hope so because I dont feel like shelling out $114 for a servo after I just spent $600 on the car. I dont really know how a servo works but is it something that might have just come loose inside of it? Or is that not possible? Any input is greatly appreciated!

P.S. just read this from their site "Hardened steel and brass gear train that's virtually un-strippable" Hope I wan't lucky enough to do this on my first crash.
waterisgood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 04:22 PM   #2
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)

check the servo arm.....might have stripped that. if not its probably in the gears in the servo. most servo companies sell replacement gear sets
Old 05-06-2011, 04:28 PM   #3
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)

Prob stripped the gears. Check to see how tight your servo saver is. Look into a possible warranty repair. If it costs too much to fix, just get a nice Hitec. Love that 3 year warranty.
-Traxxas Spirit
nadan805 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 04:47 PM   #4
Tech Initiate

Quote:
Originally Posted by nadan805 View Post
Prob stripped the gears. Check to see how tight your servo saver is. Look into a possible warranty repair. If it costs too much to fix, just get a nice Hitec. Love that 3 year warranty.