R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-22-2011, 08:24 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
hookem34's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Texas.....Y'all!
Posts: 1,793
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default Throtle issue

Looking for some quick advice. My throtle servo recently started to "stick" in the brake position when I engage the brakes in my 6T. I am running a Hitech 7955 that is almost brand new and a Futaba 3 PMX with the 603FS revceiver.

I put another servo in today and confirmed that it is not a servo related issue. I removed the receiver box cover and watched the receiver light stay green the entire time I engaged the brakes and the "sticking" still happened.

Anyone else had this issue? Could it be related to my transmitter?

I am clueless at this point.
__________________
Dan Culver
Companies I stand behind with my hard earned cash:
KyoshoClockwork Racing EnginesPT Racing OilsJet Lube ☆ Futaba ☆ Competition Heat ☆ Revolve RCNovarossiBuku PowerBones Motorsports
hookem34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2011, 08:31 PM   #2
Moderator
 
J.Whiting's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: a very small town in wisconsin that is in the middle of absolutely no where
Posts: 4,536
Trader Rating: 57 (100%+)
Default

first i would check over all the break linkages/throttle linkages.. see if one of them is catching on the top center mount plate.. the end peice on the break rods like to catch the top plate.. they seem to drop over the edge when you hit the breaks.. this is fixed by the break levers need to be repositioned.. some where to start.. jeremy
__________________
Jeremy Whiting - serpent america - desoto racing - apicco race engines - RcRenew - jconcepts - Rc Pro Products - ko propo eurus - ko propo servos - VP PowerMaster Fuels - Answer-rc usa - advantage racing products - Parma/pse bodies - serpent 811 2.1 - 811t
J.Whiting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2011, 08:33 PM   #3
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 380
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default throttle

Check the screw that holds down your carb ,It may of moved and causing your slide to stick ,also look at you linkage just in case if you havent already .un hook it from you carb and see if it still does it .hope this helps .

Last edited by Bjeepn; 04-22-2011 at 08:34 PM. Reason: mis spelled word
Bjeepn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2011, 08:39 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
hookem34's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Texas.....Y'all!
Posts: 1,793
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

The linkages move freely and there is no binding. The issue does not happen all the time but always at the worst time. Today my 6T was mid air over a large triple and all of a sudden the brakes engaged causing the nose to dive and my truck to smash right into the back of the final hill.

Other times when I am coming into a corner I hit the brakes and they will stay engagged for 2-3 seconds after I have already pulled the trigger on my transmitter. I really think it is some sort of electrical glitch.
__________________
Dan Culver
Companies I stand behind with my hard earned cash:
KyoshoClockwork Racing EnginesPT Racing OilsJet Lube ☆ Futaba ☆ Competition Heat ☆ Revolve RCNovarossiBuku PowerBones Motorsports
hookem34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2011, 08:43 PM   #5
Moderator
 
J.Whiting's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: a very small town in wisconsin that is in the middle of absolutely no where
Posts: 4,536
Trader Rating: 57 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hookem34 View Post
The linkages move freely and there is no binding. The issue does not happen all the time but always at the worst time. Today my 6T was mid air over a large triple and all of a sudden the brakes engaged causing the nose to dive and my truck to smash right into the back of the final hill.

Other times when I am coming into a corner I hit the brakes and they will stay engagged for 2-3 seconds after I have already pulled the trigger on my transmitter. I really think it is some sort of electrical glitch.
yes it does.. sounds like you are going into fail safe.. change receiver.. do you run a switch?? turn car on and wiggle switch, wires and any connection point... i think a broken wire under heat shrink.. bad switch.. loose terminal on a connector.. bad receiver.. some things to check.. jeremy
__________________
Jeremy Whiting - serpent america - desoto racing - apicco race engines - RcRenew - jconcepts - Rc Pro Products - ko propo eurus - ko propo servos - VP PowerMaster Fuels - Answer-rc usa - advantage racing products - Parma/pse bodies - serpent 811 2.1 - 811t

Last edited by J.Whiting; 04-22-2011 at 08:45 PM. Reason: spelling
J.Whiting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2011, 09:34 PM   #6
Tech Addict
 
hdcruzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Pittsburg Ca.
Posts: 732
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Mine would stick wide open throttle. Checked everything all seemed fine. Still did it, changed switch still did it on occasion. Changed remote from 5.5 ms to 11 ms and havnt had a problem since.......
__________________
Ofna Late Model-Losi 350-Losi RE 10-Hobbico CS170s
Coldfusion Fuel
Henchman Racing
hdcruzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2011, 10:11 PM   #7
Tech Adept
 
ghost68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 208
Default

Hitec servos require a lot of power... Could just be radio glitching because of low power causing the servos to lock up... Try a power cap... Spectrum has one for like $6...
__________________
------------------------------------------------
-Dustin Bullard
***HoBao Hyper Star/JL .21PRO/2047/Savox/AKA***
I would like to say Thanks to my sponsors: Team OFNA and Sidewinder Fuel
ghost68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2011, 11:07 PM   #8
Tech Fanatic
 
J.Sears's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Versailles KY
Posts: 837
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Sounds like RX is going bad I had a 603 do kind of the same thing but mine was stuck WOT. I replaced the RX and problem went away. I think it does it when the rx gets hot. That's why it doesn't do it all the time just every now and then. Try that and let us know.
J.Sears is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 02:45 AM   #9
Tech Master
 
j_blaze14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tampa, Fl
Posts: 1,693
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hookem34 View Post
Looking for some quick advice. My throtle servo recently started to "stick" in the brake position when I engage the brakes in my 6T. I am running a Hitech 7955 that is almost brand new and a Futaba 3 PMX with the 603FS revceiver.

I put another servo in today and confirmed that it is not a servo related issue. I removed the receiver box cover and watched the receiver light stay green the entire time I engaged the brakes and the "sticking" still happened.

Anyone else had this issue? Could it be related to my transmitter?

I am clueless at this point.
electronics issue, start with removing the on/off switch, then check all rx connections, battery connections then move to tx.
__________________
aGama A8 EVO - Werks B2 - Sidewinder
aGama A8E - TrackStar 150a, 2560kv, 3 and 4 cell
FlySky GT3B, Turnigy HV servos, SKY Lipos
AKA, Proline, Hotbodies Rubber
Elite Performance - HORRC.com
j_blaze14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 03:20 AM   #10
Tech Elite
 
merdith6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Brazoria, TX
Posts: 2,350
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default one more thing....

Check the carb. Sometimes it helps if you take it apart and check for burrs and so on. I've seen a few carbs get over opened by closing the idle scre too much or the angle is weird on the carb. Did you try rebinding your radio?
__________________
Mad Dog drives a Mugen MBX-7, Novarossi engines, Clockwork Racing, Futaba radio, AKA/Proline Tires
merdith6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 04:15 AM   #11
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Quinby south Carolina
Posts: 1,157
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hookem34 View Post
The linkages move freely and there is no binding. The issue does not happen all the time but always at the worst time. Today my 6T was mid air over a large triple and all of a sudden the brakes engaged causing the nose to dive and my truck to smash right into the back of the final hill.

Other times when I am coming into a corner I hit the brakes and they will stay engagged for 2-3 seconds after I have already pulled the trigger on my transmitter. I really think it is some sort of electrical glitch.
How old is your battery? Iv started to notice my battery is going dead sooner now n when it gets weak I start losing signal every now n then, put in a new battery n no problems.

Edit add battery I use is losi 2200 lipo pack. Starts glitching at 45 minutes to n hour n then is done but the battery has had over 35 cycles. It's getting old old. Best battery on the market tho it's lasted longer n when there new I can get half gal of running in a day on one battery life.
Matt Piva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 05:34 AM   #12
Tech Adept
 
lanmine657's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Posts: 232
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

I know it sounds crazy, but try a different radio. I had the DX3.0 with 7955 servos with lipo and had a similar issue a few months ago and it drove me nuts, it ended up being a problem with the trigger on my controller. sent the radio to horizon and problem solved, it sounds strange but give it a try.
__________________
Buggy on the Brain
MotoAdventure Kawasaki
LOSI
Riva-Sinister Skis-Jetworks-Jet Pilot
Coorslight
lanmine657 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 06:20 AM   #13
Tech Master
 
hookem34's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Texas.....Y'all!
Posts: 1,793
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for all the great advice!

I recenty switched to HRS mode so I will go back to the slower frame rate and see if that helps. If not, I will check out the switch. Carb slide is good and battery is fully charged when issue occurs but I have not chcked the wires from the battery.

Thanks!
__________________
Dan Culver
Companies I stand behind with my hard earned cash:
KyoshoClockwork Racing EnginesPT Racing OilsJet Lube ☆ Futaba ☆ Competition Heat ☆ Revolve RCNovarossiBuku PowerBones Motorsports
hookem34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin RS ESC sensored Jeff Cuffs Electric On-Road 23359 10-02-2016 05:57 AM
Throtle Servo Fried, Thoughts On Why????? dishsoap Nitro Off-Road 10 03-22-2009 12:32 AM
Need Help! Throttle servo issue Truggyman Nitro Off-Road 11 12-07-2008 11:50 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:38 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net