R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-24-2011, 10:01 AM   #1
Tech Initiate
 
RCelik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Los Angeles / New Jersey
Posts: 47
Default HB D8 HARA ED. LINKAGE HELP

I just finished builing my HB D8 Hara Ed. Last night. I mounted the engine and started playing around with the linkage so i can start the break in process. However, I am having problems adjusting the trims of the throttle and brakes. To much brake the engine intake closes all the way. Can someone take a picture of there D8 Linkage please? I am using the Spektrum DX3r radio.

Thanks
RCelik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 12:19 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,303
Default

your intake opening is controlled by the idle screw, not the linkage. the spring on the throttle linkage should fight your servo when you apply the brakes. But the idle screw prevents the intake from closing all the way.
redbones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 12:41 PM   #3
Tech Initiate
 
RCelik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Los Angeles / New Jersey
Posts: 47
Default

I totally understand what your saying but I was told not to touch the idle screw because it is at the factory setting and that the idle screw should only be adjusted when the engine is running?
RCelik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 12:46 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,303
Default

depends on the engine, but you should have about 1mm of an opening maintained by the idle screw. you can then do subtle adjustments as needed. Look around for default screw/needle settings for your engine too.
redbones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 12:53 PM   #5
Tech Initiate
 
RCelik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Los Angeles / New Jersey
Posts: 47
Default

I will definitely give that a try. Just an FYI, the engine is the Nova P5XLT. The instructions call for 0.6 mm opening.
RCelik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 01:59 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
morgoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,518
Default

If the engine is idling too high just screw the idle a bit out.
I tought I had an incostent idle a few weeks ago but the motor had a good tune. I tried a different tune and then the engine flamed when I was braking. I thought my clutch springs broke, but it was the spring of my new linkage that didn't push hard enough against the carb and and the idle screw screwed too much in. Just make sure that spring between your carb and servo horn has a bit of pressure on it so the carb is always fully closed. And a little play on the other side ensures that the carb is fully closed.
If this is not the case you will probably have an inconsistent idle and perhaps a flaming engine because you cant set the idle screw right.
__________________
Serpent BeNeLux teamdriver // FX Engines // Nitrolux fuel
My blog: http://scrubbingspeed.wordpress.com
morgoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 02:29 PM   #7
Tech Elite
 
ScottyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Miami OK
Posts: 3,149
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RCelik View Post
I will definitely give that a try. Just an FYI, the engine is the Nova P5XLT. The instructions call for 0.6 mm opening.
That is a race tuned idle gap.. If you are breaking-in your going to need a much wider gap to start with..
__________________
Scott Musgrave
ScottyM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 06:54 PM   #8
Tech Adept
 
dburt86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: New Haven, ct
Posts: 121
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

but dont go nuts adjusting it.Your not going to give it throttle in the first couple minutes of running, so get it to fired and adjust the trim on the transmitter to idle.

then you can turn in the idle screw until it starts to pick up and go from there.The idle will increase as the motorr breaks in, so dont go crazy when your backing it out a couple times.
__________________
dburt86- xbox live
dburt86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:35 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net