R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-21-2011, 10:38 PM   #1
Tech Apprentice
 
johnatpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 60
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default on-off switch

Man I`ve been searching post and threads with no luck for this ?Help please

When I was at the PNB race I saw a number of on off switches
on nitro buggies of coarse that look like some kind of circuit board switch
not the norm slide switch ,can some one point me in the rite direction
for one of this type on off devices or tell what to use because I have many
failed stock slide switch any help would greatly appreciated tnx JB.
johnatpc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2011, 04:28 AM   #2
Tech Addict
 
jammin32j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lake county
Posts: 633
Default

I personally do not use switches, but I think this might be what you are looking for.
http://www.horizonhobby.com/Products...rodID=KOP60224
__________________
VP Pro, Agama
Hitec-7955's, 3Pk----AKA Racing Tires
Absolutehobbyz.com____Dirtrc.com
O'Donnell, D.I.R.T. R/C ultimate Tire Gluer
Jeremy Davis
jammin32j is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2011, 05:28 AM   #3
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1,142
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jammin32j View Post
I personally do not use switches, but I think this might be what you are looking for.
http://www.horizonhobby.com/Products...rodID=KOP60224
This one is showing discontinued. I read somewhere that KO was coming out with an updated switch that was lipo safe and would not drain the RX battery once turned off.
Is this correct??
If so, where can we locate them?

Thanks
cleblanc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2011, 05:56 AM   #4
Tech Apprentice
 
johnatpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 60
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jammin32j View Post
I personally do not use switches, but I think this might be what you are looking for.
http://www.horizonhobby.com/Products...rodID=KOP60224
Yep that was the one thanks.If you don`t use a switch how exactly do you on & off ,pics if you have it,I am a newbie and have had some problems with the switch that came on the RC8T more than once.Any help would be appreciated.
johnatpc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2011, 07:02 AM   #5
Tech Master
 
neobart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,413
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

This is how I used to do it when I ran nitro.

__________________
Clockwork Racing Engines
neobart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2011, 07:11 AM   #6
Tech Lord
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,500
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

I'm using micro polarized deans and no switch. I have seen to many issues with switches. The only time I had an issue with the plugs is when a kid stepped on my car and broke one of the connections.
__________________
- X-Ray/ RC America Team Driver - MKS -
- XB8 - XB8T - XB8 E - OS Spec III - B2102 - 4PXR -
~ SSC ~ Godfather ~ Ironman ~ ButterySmooth ~
Frank L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2011, 07:15 AM   #7
Tech Regular
 
nitrozilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 283
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

ko propo did show a new version at the international toy fair this year

http://www.redrc.net/2011/02/toy-fair-2011-ko-propo/
nitrozilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2011, 07:32 AM   #8
Tech Adept
 
triplebvalp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Valparaiso, FL
Posts: 180
Default

Hey Big John,

You don't need no stinkin' switch
__________________
Hold my beer and watch this!
Jammin X2 CRT/Nova P5XLT/Werks 2013
HB D8B/Werks B2/Werks 2058
triplebvalp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2011, 08:05 AM   #9
Tech Apprentice
 
johnatpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 60
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by triplebvalp View Post
Hey Big John,

You don't need no stinkin' switch
No what I need is a board across my head
johnatpc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2011, 08:16 AM   #10
Tech Apprentice
 
johnatpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 60
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by triplebvalp View Post
Hey Big John,

You don't need no stinking' switch
Hey Burt it really depends on your pit guy sometimes plugging in a switch is too difficult specially when your to far for verbal communication and only know 1 sign language sign ya know whatta I mean
johnatpc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2011, 02:16 PM   #11
Tech Adept
 
triplebvalp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Valparaiso, FL
Posts: 180
Default

John,

I have had real good luck with switches sold under the Ofna label, never had a failure... Another good one is the Racers Edge switch.
__________________
Hold my beer and watch this!
Jammin X2 CRT/Nova P5XLT/Werks 2013
HB D8B/Werks B2/Werks 2058
triplebvalp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2011, 05:42 PM   #12
Tech Addict
 
jammin32j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lake county
Posts: 633
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnatpc View Post
Yep that was the one thanks.If you don`t use a switch how exactly do you on & off ,pics if you have it,I am a newbie and have had some problems with the switch that came on the RC8T more than once.Any help would be appreciated.
I use these
http://www.amazon.com/FJP-Safety-Plu.../dp/B0015H6JGQ
__________________
VP Pro, Agama
Hitec-7955's, 3Pk----AKA Racing Tires
Absolutehobbyz.com____Dirtrc.com
O'Donnell, D.I.R.T. R/C ultimate Tire Gluer
Jeremy Davis
jammin32j is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2011, 08:32 PM   #13
Tech Elite
 
Jerm13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: VB, VA
Posts: 3,237
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnatpc View Post
Man I`ve been searching post and threads with no luck for this ?Help please

When I was at the PNB race I saw a number of on off switches
on nitro buggies of coarse that look like some kind of circuit board switch
not the norm slide switch ,can some one point me in the rite direction
for one of this type on off devices or tell what to use because I have many
failed stock slide switch any help would greatly appreciated tnx JB.
Those type of switchs are micrologic devices. The are a great improvemnt over the slide switchs. There is no mechanical parts to break or wear out. They use a circuitbord with transistors and such instead of 2 pieces of copper sliding together. Very reliable but a little more out of pocket. But if you take the cost of all the parts you break on a run-away, it might be cheap insurance.
Jerm13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2011, 11:24 PM   #14
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 165
Default

If you dont have a switch then do you have a connector coming outside the receiver box and you connect and disconnect each time?

the kopropo switch looks nice has anyone used it?
Jaap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 12:14 AM   #15
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 411
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaap View Post
If you dont have a switch then do you have a connector coming outside the receiver box and you connect and disconnect each time?

the kopropo switch looks nice has anyone used it?
I use mini deans connectors, small cut in the radio box for the wires to come out. Never had a single problem running this setup.
__________________
Xray XB4 | Kyosho RB6 | Kyosho Rudebits DB2
Chris-s is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pros/Cons on running an ON/OFF switch wannarace Nitro Off-Road 92 04-28-2012 02:54 AM
Tekin RS Pro On/Off switch shanty140 Electric Off-Road 15 06-15-2011 05:46 PM
Mamba Max ESC on/off switch SpeedKills25 Electric Off-Road 9 12-06-2008 09:20 PM
Need an engine that doesn't have to be blipped or driven like an On/Off switch Cannondale1974 Nitro Off-Road 23 08-26-2008 06:50 PM
CNC Machined On/Off Switch for G4 Serpent Mugem HPI Ofna ETC.. snicker Nitro On-Road 6 06-15-2006 06:43 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:31 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net