Wiki Posts
Search

Diff rebuild question

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2011, 04:53 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default Diff rebuild question

Okay, I just rebuilt my front diff in my Losi 8T 2 and I used 7000 Associated Diff oil. This is all my LHS had, they were out of the Losi 7k weight so I picked the Associated stuff. Are these the same or should I have chose a different weight since I went with Associated?

Question 2: What does it mean when I spin the diff and you can feel the gears spinning on each other. Everything is back together how it is supposed to be, but I've never done this before so I am not sure if this is normal to feel this.

Thanks in advance
Old 03-15-2011, 05:07 PM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)

Question one, there pretty much the same you'll be fine

Question two, is it a grinding? They should be smooth. Move the wheels in opposite direction there should be no bumps.

Last edited by DiZzYNaTiOn; 03-15-2011 at 05:08 PM. Reason: forgot a word
Old 03-15-2011, 05:16 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 94 (100%+)

Aslong as there is no binding or grinding you should be good on number 2. there is a losi 8ight T 2.0 thread. Post in there for any questions you have with your 2.0 instead of creating a whole new thread. We will be happy to help you in any way.
Old 03-15-2011, 05:29 PM
Tech Master

Ok, I will post there going forward... Its hard to explain the feeling, it doesn't bind but I can feel the gears spinning as I turn it. I wonder if it just has to do with the thicker fresh diff oil. Before it had just the stock fill from the 8T RTR kit.

All teh gears looked good when I cleaned it and they all seated properly when putting it back together.
Old 03-15-2011, 05:38 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 94 (100%+)

Good deal. And what you are describing sounds like a normal diff with fresh fluid.
Old 03-15-2011, 05:52 PM
Tech Addict