R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-02-2011, 01:20 PM   #16
Tech Adept
 
KyoshoKid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 127
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

This is the internals of the starter box. The flywheel and the pully underneith which holds the belt cannot be moved.
Attached Thumbnails
Losi 2.0 starter box - belt snapping issue-starter-1.jpg  
__________________
-------------------------------------------------
Control the mind, control the finger, control the car
-------------------------------------------------
KyoshoKid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 01:25 PM   #17
Tech Adept
 
KyoshoKid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 127
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tc5 man View Post
no problem just remember to have 1mm to 2mm of play in the belt or it will snap.

1mm is what i whould try first.
The top screw on the motor allowed it to be adjusted, so I moved the motor out a bit to enable some movement in the gears.

I had a spare Losi belt so I'll see how I go, hopefully this resolves the issue otherwise Im going to have to wait for the other belts to arrive!
Attached Thumbnails
Losi 2.0 starter box - belt snapping issue-starter-2.jpg  
__________________
-------------------------------------------------
Control the mind, control the finger, control the car
-------------------------------------------------
KyoshoKid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 01:36 PM   #18
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,873
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KyoshoKid View Post
The top screw on the motor allowed it to be adjusted, so I moved the motor out a bit to enable some movement in the gears.

I had a spare Losi belt so I'll see how I go, hopefully this resolves the issue otherwise Im going to have to wait for the other belts to arrive!


did you set the belt with 1mm of play at least ?

the thing i notice is if you have the belt fully tighten it seems to rub the power off .
your losi red box is a bit diffrent than my eight-t black starter box.
tc5 man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 01:47 PM   #19
Tech Adept
 
KyoshoKid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 127
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tc5 man View Post
did you set the belt with 1mm of play at least ?

the thing i notice is if you have the belt fully tighten it seems to rub the power off .
your losi red box is a bit diffrent than my eight-t black starter box.
The belt did have some slack but not sure how to adjust it to 1mm. The 2 pullys cannot be adjusted (I think) as the screws that hold them in cannot be adjusted. I'll have another look.
__________________
-------------------------------------------------
Control the mind, control the finger, control the car
-------------------------------------------------
KyoshoKid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 01:54 PM   #20
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,873
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KyoshoKid View Post
The belt did have some slack but not sure how to adjust it to 1mm. The 2 pullys cannot be adjusted (I think) as the screws that hold them in cannot be adjusted. I'll have another look.


1mm is just a tick of play with your finger go up and down with it thats how you can tell.

i learn this from racing electric touring car racing back in the day.

the screws on the motor should allow you to adjust the tention and gear mesh.
tc5 man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 02:17 PM   #21
Tech Adept
 
ghost68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 208
Default

FYI you cant adjust the belt tension in the RTR box... Make sure that all of the teeth are in good shape sometimes dirt/burned up rubber clogs them up and that can cause problems... Are you trying to break in a new engine? These Losi starter boxes aren't really up to the task and if you don't break the belt it will melt the gears... Get the Blue Ofna Truggy box and you will never have a problem again
__________________
------------------------------------------------
-Dustin Bullard
***HoBao Hyper Star/JL .21PRO/2047/Savox/AKA***
I would like to say Thanks to my sponsors: Team OFNA and Sidewinder Fuel
ghost68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 03:07 PM   #22
Tech Champion
 
JAMMINKRAZY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 6,575
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

TC5 it is really best not to comment on things when you don't know what you're talking about. The losi 2.0 box is completely and totally different than your old school losi box. The belt tension cannot be adjusted in the 2.0 box.
__________________
-Koby Kubrin-
Thanks to my Sponsors:
Serpent America | Team Novarossi | Desoto Racing | Race AKA | Ridgeway Bodies
JAMMINKRAZY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 12:55 AM   #23
Tech Adept
 
KyoshoKid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 127
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JAMMINKRAZY View Post
TC5 it is really best not to comment on things when you don't know what you're talking about. The losi 2.0 box is completely and totally different than your old school losi box. The belt tension cannot be adjusted in the 2.0 box.
had another look, the 2 gears that hold the belt cannot be adjusted, only the motor can be moved back and forward.
__________________
-------------------------------------------------
Control the mind, control the finger, control the car
-------------------------------------------------
KyoshoKid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 01:03 AM   #24
Tech Adept
 
KyoshoKid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 127
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghost68 View Post
FYI you cant adjust the belt tension in the RTR box... Make sure that all of the teeth are in good shape sometimes dirt/burned up rubber clogs them up and that can cause problems... Are you trying to break in a new engine? These Losi starter boxes aren't really up to the task and if you don't break the belt it will melt the gears... Get the Blue Ofna Truggy box and you will never have a problem again
no the motor is already broken in. Hopefully the slight gap now in the gear connected to the motor will allow some movement in the gears and not put too much strain on the losi belt. If it does break I'll try the same gap with the other belt off eBay, I got 3 just in case
__________________
-------------------------------------------------
Control the mind, control the finger, control the car
-------------------------------------------------
KyoshoKid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 01:23 PM   #25
Tech Champion
 
JAMMINKRAZY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 6,575
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KyoshoKid View Post
no the motor is already broken in. Hopefully the slight gap now in the gear connected to the motor will allow some movement in the gears and not put too much strain on the losi belt. If it does break I'll try the same gap with the other belt off eBay, I got 3 just in case
You DO NOT want a loose mesh between the two gears. You WILL strip them out if the mesh is too loose. I would recommend tightening it back up to where it was from the factory.
__________________
-Koby Kubrin-
Thanks to my Sponsors:
Serpent America | Team Novarossi | Desoto Racing | Race AKA | Ridgeway Bodies
JAMMINKRAZY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 01:33 PM   #26
Tech Addict
 
sluggo_sx8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 613
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

anyone got a link to the updated losi 2.0 rtr belt on ebay? I snaped one last year and losi sent me 2 more but haven't used it since. Would be nicce to have a good belt cause they are a POS to change.
sluggo_sx8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 01:57 PM   #27
Tech Adept
 
KyoshoKid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 127
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JAMMINKRAZY View Post
You DO NOT want a loose mesh between the two gears. You WILL strip them out if the mesh is too loose. I would recommend tightening it back up to where it was from the factory.
Oh, when it was mentioned to have a 1mm gap I though this was the way. I'll put it back to factory, I dont want a broken belt AND broken gears!!
__________________
-------------------------------------------------
Control the mind, control the finger, control the car
-------------------------------------------------
KyoshoKid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 02:01 PM   #28
Tech Adept
 
KyoshoKid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 127
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sluggo_sx8 View Post
anyone got a link to the updated losi 2.0 rtr belt on ebay? I snaped one last year and losi sent me 2 more but haven't used it since. Would be nicce to have a good belt cause they are a POS to change.
I ordered this the other day (after being recommended), its yet to be delivered - http://cgi.ebay.ca/LOSI-8B-T-2-0-Sta...0f0dd3&afsrc=1.

Im not sure if the RTR 2.0 starter box is the same as the stand along 2.0 starter box you get so just confirm the part number LOSA99424.
__________________
-------------------------------------------------
Control the mind, control the finger, control the car
-------------------------------------------------
KyoshoKid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 02:36 PM   #29
Tech Champion
 
JAMMINKRAZY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 6,575
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KyoshoKid View Post
Oh, when it was mentioned to have a 1mm gap I though this was the way. I'll put it back to factory, I dont want a broken belt AND broken gears!!
I completely understand the confusion. Someone was telling you to do something that isn't possible on your starter box. TC5 is thinking of a more standard style starte box pulley system where the motors directly drive the belt and there is no second gear involved. The losi 2.0 box is different and the adjustment he is talking about isn't possible on it. The belt tension can't be adjusted on the losi box.

I like to use a piece of paper to mesh the gears properly. The gears in the losi box are basically Mod 1 pitch 1/8 scale drive gears. If you slip a piece of notebook paper between the gears and tighten them together you should have the proper mesh... Or just put it back to the way it came if you remember what that was.
__________________
-Koby Kubrin-
Thanks to my Sponsors:
Serpent America | Team Novarossi | Desoto Racing | Race AKA | Ridgeway Bodies
JAMMINKRAZY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 02:48 PM   #30
Tech Addict
 
sluggo_sx8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 613
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KyoshoKid View Post
I ordered this the other day (after being recommended), its yet to be delivered - http://cgi.ebay.ca/LOSI-8B-T-2-0-Sta...0f0dd3&afsrc=1.

Im not sure if the RTR 2.0 starter box is the same as the stand along 2.0 starter box you get so just confirm the part number LOSA99424.
sweet thanks just ordered one, the rtr seems to be a good box other then the belt Grrr.
sluggo_sx8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:01 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net