R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-22-2011, 04:26 PM   #31
Tech Regular
 
bre1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pasco, WA.
Posts: 337
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I have to do this to my box.
__________________
Team Associated, Venom, Tekin, Ofna, DE RACING, J CONCEPTS, Savox, AKA, PROLINE,
bre1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 06:40 PM   #32
Tech Lord
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,482
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Integra
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by teeforb View Post
how is it using 5S compared to 4S?


seeing as our motor's in our boxes are rated up to 18volts, I would guess your box will be a bit more powerful and might have a slightly shorter life span for the fact a 5S is a Hair over 18volts. But like anything electrical If you take care of it and Dont try and Force start a motor that's Locked at TDC or Bottoming out on the chassis you should be good to go for years to come.
__________________
TNS Driver - Radio Post - Blue Groove Apparel - Team Panther - Hitec - Losi - W.E.D. Paint - Clockwork Fuel - Competition Heat - SUMO Racing - Tekin - Team Terribles - M2C Racing - Matrix Concepts - Kal Gard - BuKu Power - DE Racing -
Integra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 06:09 AM   #33
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Porto, Portugal
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by teeforb View Post
i would think it's max by amps and voltage. Like a 12v 30AMP relay or a 1v .5Amp relay. I believe a relay is just some bjt, Darlington pairs, or some kink of high amp transistors. Therefore, specs are important.

and there's SPDT (single pole double throw) and SPST (single pole single throw)...
I'm using a 12V/40A SPST, you could use a SPST or SPDT as long as you use the normally open contact

A relay is a simple electromechanical device, there is no bjt, Darlington pairs, or some kink of high amp transistors in there.

To save the "life" of the relay contact I use a capacitor of 40V/3000uF in parallel to the coil, this way you avoid the short-cycles that would eventually kill the contact .
BiteTheBullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 06:23 AM   #34
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,779
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Wiring diagram anyone?
__________________
Powered by: MASTERCARD and VISA

If you're in control, you're not driving it fast enough!

XRAY / NOVAROSSI / SANWA / AKA TIRES / BYRON FUEL
ganymede is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 07:38 AM   #35
Tech Champion
 
teeforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: San Diego & Compton CA
Posts: 7,202
Trader Rating: 94 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to teeforb
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BiteTheBullet View Post
I'm using a 12V/40A SPST, you could use a SPST or SPDT as long as you use the normally open contact

A relay is a simple electromechanical device, there is no bjt, Darlington pairs, or some kink of high amp transistors in there.

To save the "life" of the relay contact I use a capacitor of 40V/3000uF in parallel to the coil, this way you avoid the short-cycles that would eventually kill the contact .
Can u elaborate on short cycle?
__________________
$$ Team High Budget $$
17.5 stock buggy fb page
https://www.facebook.com/groups/17.5stockbuggy/
teeforb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 08:05 AM   #36
Tech Champion
 
teeforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: San Diego & Compton CA
Posts: 7,202
Trader Rating: 94 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to teeforb
Default

here is a good page...

http://www.mp3car.com/the-faq-empori...ire-it-up.html
__________________
$$ Team High Budget $$
17.5 stock buggy fb page
https://www.facebook.com/groups/17.5stockbuggy/
teeforb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 09:12 AM   #37
Tech Champion
 
teeforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: San Diego & Compton CA
Posts: 7,202
Trader Rating: 94 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to teeforb
Default

Got a 30amp relay. Is that big enough?
__________________
$$ Team High Budget $$
17.5 stock buggy fb page
https://www.facebook.com/groups/17.5stockbuggy/
teeforb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 09:30 AM   #38
Tech Master
 
trickedout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Las Vegas/Pahrump,NV
Posts: 1,273
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by teeforb View Post
Great little read there for those unfamiliar with relays. Yes a 12v 30a relay should be just fine
__________________
In the middle of some changes
*702 RC Raceway* *WindWater Raceway*
trickedout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 10:02 AM   #39
Tech Champion
 
teeforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: San Diego & Compton CA
Posts: 7,202
Trader Rating: 94 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to teeforb
Default

in regards of hooking it up...

pin 85 --------> lipo gnd
lipo pos --------> starter box switch ____/ ____ ---------> pin 86
lipo pos ---------> pin 30
pin 87 ----------> + on Motor
lipo gnd -----------> gnd of motor

is this correct?
__________________
$$ Team High Budget $$
17.5 stock buggy fb page
https://www.facebook.com/groups/17.5stockbuggy/
teeforb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 11:06 AM   #40
Tech Master
 
trickedout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Las Vegas/Pahrump,NV
Posts: 1,273
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by teeforb View Post
in regards of hooking it up...

pin 85 --------> lipo gnd
lipo pos --------> starter box switch ____/ ____ ---------> pin 86
lipo pos ---------> pin 30
pin 87 ----------> + on Motor
lipo gnd -----------> gnd of motor

is this correct?
Yes i believe that looks correct, if you plan to keep your Switch, if not pin 86 will hook up straight to the contact spring when you push the car down...Having the switch just breaks that connection when not on.
__________________
In the middle of some changes
*702 RC Raceway* *WindWater Raceway*
trickedout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 01:43 PM   #41
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Porto, Portugal
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by teeforb View Post
in regards of hooking it up...

pin 85 --------> lipo gnd
lipo pos --------> starter box switch ____/ ____ ---------> pin 86
lipo pos ---------> pin 30
pin 87 ----------> + on Motor
lipo gnd -----------> gnd of motor

is this correct?
I'm going to post here the link for the circuit and a photo of my installation, post them here if you wish:

h ttp://img64.imageshack.us/img64/7646/circuitocaixaus.jpg

h ttp://img27.imageshack.us/img27/8859/caixa1.jpg

About short-cycle, if you press the car in the box and for an instant you let the switch go off and them press the car again, your are wearing the relay contact, if you look at the graph you will see that the switch was let of in the instants t1, t2 and t3, but the motor keeps spinning avoiding the relay to open and close for 3 times. Is it clear?
BiteTheBullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 02:29 PM   #42
Tech Champion
 
teeforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: San Diego & Compton CA
Posts: 7,202
Trader Rating: 94 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to teeforb
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BiteTheBullet View Post
I'm going to post here the link for the circuit and a photo of my installation, post them here if you wish:

h ttp://img64.imageshack.us/img64/7646/circuitocaixaus.jpg

h ttp://img27.imageshack.us/img27/8859/caixa1.jpg

About short-cycle, if you press the car in the box and for an instant you let the switch go off and them press the car again, your are wearing the relay contact, if you look at the graph you will see that the switch was let of in the instants t1, t2 and t3, but the motor keeps spinning avoiding the relay to open and close for 3 times. Is it clear?
so you prevent on/off cycles when pressing down on the box, by storing charge in the cap. once u let off the box for T=t, the cap discharges and the relay opens.
__________________
$$ Team High Budget $$
17.5 stock buggy fb page
https://www.facebook.com/groups/17.5stockbuggy/
teeforb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 09:08 PM   #43
Tech Champion
 
teeforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: San Diego & Compton CA
Posts: 7,202
Trader Rating: 94 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to teeforb
Default

I hooked up the relay with the cap. I only found a 4700 micro F. I think that was go big. It's a 1.5sec delay in the spin. Hope it won't be a big deal for starting. This mod is a good idea! Esp the cap part. Thanks all for the info. Sharing is caring, is what my 3 year old daughter always tell me!
__________________
$$ Team High Budget $$
17.5 stock buggy fb page
https://www.facebook.com/groups/17.5stockbuggy/
teeforb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 11:39 PM   #44
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,779
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Can someone point out how do you wire the relay and the capacitor with a wiring diagram like this? Thanks in advance!

Just noticed these two wiring diagram are a bit different, any pointers?


__________________
Powered by: MASTERCARD and VISA

If you're in control, you're not driving it fast enough!

XRAY / NOVAROSSI / SANWA / AKA TIRES / BYRON FUEL

Last edited by ganymede; 02-23-2011 at 11:53 PM.
ganymede is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 06:01 AM   #45
Tech Master
 
Gary NJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 1,157
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Integra View Post
seeing as our motor's in our boxes are rated up to 18volts, I would guess your box will be a bit more powerful and might have a slightly shorter life span for the fact a 5S is a Hair over 18volts. But like anything electrical If you take care of it and Dont try and Force start a motor that's Locked at TDC or Bottoming out on the chassis you should be good to go for years to come.
Sorry, didn't get back to this thread after I posted earlier. Integra covered it all. The motor certainly spins harder on 5S....

I was thinking about doing a GMK Supply 12V relay upgrade kit for boxes for a year now...this thread may finally get me off my ass to do it!
__________________
Gary - GMK Supply
www.gmksupply.com
Great products. Goofy names.
Gary NJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best Lipo for Ofna Blue Truggy Starter Box? Armaan Nitro Off-Road 114 10-03-2010 07:25 AM
Ofna Blue starter box, tools, reciever, Hitec 7955, 1/8th tires, etc etc FS/FT Dlewis4 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 10 08-21-2010 03:32 AM
Ofna truggy starter box - rewire for Lipo? dsl Nitro Off-Road 17 08-25-2009 11:37 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:10 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net