R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-10-2011, 09:28 PM   #1
Tech Addict
 
Fatam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Iowa
Posts: 534
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Questions?? Servo Help...

Ok so last race I was in the main and about two laps into it my buggy took off like a rocket, full power and someone finaly stoped it. When I got back to the pit me and some buddys were looking at it and it looked like the plastic servo horn skiped a few spots and locked the servo in a full throttle position. So I went out this week and bought a metal horn, as I put it on and powered the buggy up the servo is locked up. When the car is powered off the servo moves freely. Does this mean my servo is shot? Or am I just doing something wrong. We are going to race this weekend and I would like to figure it out before we go. Thanks
Fatam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 09:55 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
NitroXray80809's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Bakersfield, California
Posts: 3,249
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fatam View Post
Ok so last race I was in the main and about two laps into it my buggy took off like a rocket, full power and someone finaly stoped it. When I got back to the pit me and some buddys were looking at it and it looked like the plastic servo horn skiped a few spots and locked the servo in a full throttle position. So I went out this week and bought a metal horn, as I put it on and powered the buggy up the servo is locked up. When the car is powered off the servo moves freely. Does this mean my servo is shot? Or am I just doing something wrong. We are going to race this weekend and I would like to figure it out before we go. Thanks
Take hoen off and power car see if it moves, also set all epa to zero. I see hb is ur avatar and im figuring ur using a d8 or d8t. I have never Stripped platic horn on throttle, im guessing ur epa was way off. If servo works off but on it dont it could be a shot board and shorting it. Try it with horn off and if it still dont work then ur servo got the worst of it other than engine. Very possible that it fried from being locked in a spot and binding causing it to fry.
__________________
Xray XB4 | Ko-Propo | Savox | Hobbywing | SpeedPassion | JC |

Kyosho RB6 | Ko-Propo | Futaba | Turnigy | Orion | JC |

AE T4.2 | Ko-Propo | Savox | Turnigy | ProTek | JC |
NitroXray80809 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2011, 05:20 AM   #3
Tech Addict
 
Fatam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Iowa
Posts: 534
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Ill check it out
Fatam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2011, 06:13 AM   #4
Tech Lord
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,500
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

Alum horns are your best bet. Racers edge or I have been using the hudy ones too.
__________________
- X-Ray/ RC America Team Driver - MKS -
- XB8 - XB8T - XB8 E - OS Spec III - B2102 - 4PXR -
~ SSC ~ Godfather ~ Ironman ~ ButterySmooth ~
Frank L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2011, 09:07 AM   #5
Tech Adept
 
ghost68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 208
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank L View Post
Alum horns are your best bet. Racers edge or I have been using the hudy ones too.
Re-Bind your radio if it is 2.4ghz... I had a retarded moment at the track last week where I turned on my radio after the engine was running and the damn thing reset all of its settings and reversed the throttle... WOT on the table and me just standing there like wtf is going on trying to turn it back off... Almost lost my Orion and sacrificed a fair amount of skin/blood for that mistake...
__________________
------------------------------------------------
-Dustin Bullard
***HoBao Hyper Star/JL .21PRO/2047/Savox/AKA***
I would like to say Thanks to my sponsors: Team OFNA and Sidewinder Fuel
ghost68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2011, 01:02 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sugar Land, TX
Posts: 1,169
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

When you turn the car on, the servo locks up? If that's the case, it's clearly getting power. Does it move at all when you pull the throttle? What about the steering servo? It almost sounds like your failsafe kicking in, but I don't know if you're using a radio that has one or if you have an external failsafe, or none. Ghost 68 had a good idea, if your radio has failsafe built in, it's possible you accidentally reset settings.
__________________
Who the ^&@$#()! Is Jason Branham!?
cjtamu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2011, 02:07 PM   #7
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 122
Default

Not really related to the current issue. Nevertheless it's still a servo question.

What's the minimum torque weight should a good/great servo have to handle a buggy's steering & throttle?
Sleepstream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2011, 02:43 PM   #8
Tech Lord
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,500
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghost68 View Post
Re-Bind your radio if it is 2.4ghz... I had a retarded moment at the track last week where I turned on my radio after the engine was running and the damn thing reset all of its settings and reversed the throttle... WOT on the table and me just standing there like wtf is going on trying to turn it back off... Almost lost my Orion and sacrificed a fair amount of skin/blood for that mistake...
I did that same thing. You need a motor stopper. It saves my thumb and I saw it save an engine at the track a few weeks ago. Check it out.

Safety nitro engine stopper
__________________
- X-Ray/ RC America Team Driver - MKS -
- XB8 - XB8T - XB8 E - OS Spec III - B2102 - 4PXR -
~ SSC ~ Godfather ~ Ironman ~ ButterySmooth ~
Frank L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2011, 03:15 PM   #9
Tech Addict
 
Fatam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Iowa
Posts: 534
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

After playing with it I got the servo to work with the radio weird.
Fatam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
tekin rx8 servo help gnatsum69 Electric Off-Road 34 05-25-2010 12:00 PM
Planning on replacing throttle servo. Help? helgso Nitro Off-Road 19 12-17-2009 01:42 PM
Futaba 9451 servo help Omnicron Electric Off-Road 10 04-02-2009 01:35 PM
Airtronics 94360 Servo.. HELP! Bwadd2002 Electric Off-Road 9 08-20-2006 11:31 PM
servo help!!!! ALBERTO Electric On-Road 19 09-18-2004 09:06 AM


Tags
buggy, hitec, servo


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:15 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net