R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-07-2011, 05:55 PM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 227
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Micro servo for throttle

Was wondering if it would be possible to use a micro servo for the throttle on ch3. And having two independent triggers (one for gas and one for brake).

I guess I am wondering if there would be an advantage to loading up the clutch when going into the turn on the brakes. Then on exit releasing the brakes.

Just wondering....
__________________
RC8Te CE-MMM/2200kv/4s
Losi ten-te/810e 3800kv/mmp/2s or 3s
JQ The CAR LE #21
airboy808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 11:11 PM   #2
Tech Adept
 
ghost68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 208
Default

You dont need a lot of torque for throttle but you need gobs of torque for brakes... I dont know of any micro servos that put out around 200oz of torque for the brakes But hey if you get it to work take some pics and let us know!
__________________
------------------------------------------------
-Dustin Bullard
***HoBao Hyper Star/JL .21PRO/2047/Savox/AKA***
I would like to say Thanks to my sponsors: Team OFNA and Sidewinder Fuel
ghost68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 03:49 AM   #3
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,147
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by airboy808 View Post
Was wondering if it would be possible to use a micro servo for the throttle on ch3. And having two independent triggers (one for gas and one for brake).

I guess I am wondering if there would be an advantage to loading up the clutch when going into the turn on the brakes. Then on exit releasing the brakes.

Just wondering....
As you know, nitro engines spool up instantly if they are tuned right. When and how fast you want it to grab coming out of a corner is up to your throttle finger, speed of the throttle servo and the clutch springs you use. The only thing you will be doing if this was even possible is wearing out your clutch creating more heat, putting stress on the micro servo, chewing up more battery MAH, and adding weight. Even though a micro servo has small weight, it still counts.

Being that your brakes when applied stop the front and rear accordingly, if you had power and brake going into the driveline you would have the front locking up and the rear spinning.

To answer your question if it's possible, probably. If it was something to make you faster I think it would have been done many moons ago and available on all modles.
got_nitro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What throttle servo ? joeling Nitro Off-Road 34 07-07-2007 12:09 AM
FOR SALE - all for sale posts here Sil80 Australian Racing 10483 12-29-2005 03:37 PM
Building my NTC3 and bought a MUGEN MT.12 motor for my NTC3..good choice? need advise JDMboy Nitro On-Road 8 08-09-2004 08:31 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:06 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net