R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-03-2011, 04:28 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 295
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default HUDY setup station measurements?

This is probably a stupid question but I'm a newbie to setup stations.

I'm using my HUDY 1/8th offroad station and all the measurements for toe & camber are taken using droop blocks under the chassis that are 30mm high and pressing the chassis down onto them.

I'm a bit confused as this is my first time using the station. 30mm is not my normal ride height, and with truggy wheels on, the car sits way more than 30mm off the ground (42mm is ride height), so how are the camber and toe measurements with the chassis at 30mm off the ground correct???

My -2 camber on the station is more like zero with the wheels on?

I'm confused . . . . . .

Last edited by primus95; 02-03-2011 at 04:43 PM.
primus95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 04:42 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
2fst2c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Martin, MI
Posts: 1,939
Trader Rating: 114 (100%+)
Default

I usually set mine by getting it all setup...then with nothing under it I press the car/truck down and let it come up on it's own and take the measurements then. I push it down kinda quickly and let it raise up. I do that a few times as I make adjustments. Once it's set I do it a few times to make sure it's consistently measuring the same.
2fst2c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 04:47 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
Brandon Melton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NC
Posts: 2,506
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Brandon Melton
Default

"camber gain" is a term referred to how much more camber the wheel gets throughout the suspension motion. Camber is not technically the same throughout any point of the travel. So measuring at 30mm is close to where a normal ride height would be. It is ideal to set your camber at whatever ride height you will using. If you run 28mm then make some blocks out of wood or something that are 28mm, but there shouldn't be too much difference between 28 and 30mm.

However, if you put a truggy on 30mm blocks, there would be a big difference normal ride height of a truck and the camber when set on the blocks.
__________________
Team Associated~Reedy~Werks Racing~Pro-Line~Competition Suspension Inc.~Schelle Racing Innovations
Brandon Melton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 04:48 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
Illbreakthat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: With your sister!
Posts: 3,521
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

The best thing for that is to measure and set your ride hieght with your wheels on first before putting it on the setup station then while on the station it should keep the same ride hieght you had preset. Then when you make a change on the station push down on the car in the middle of the car a couple of times to mimic a rough ground situation and check your readings again.
__________________
Not much to put here....
Illbreakthat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 04:56 PM   #5
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 295
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

thanks guys. Using the truggy's ride height is how I actually started to take the measurements but I think I confused myself by reading the manual . . .ha ha . . .that will teach me to follow instructions.

Again, thank you all for clarifying that, I'll have another go at it now.

cheers
Glen
primus95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 05:00 PM   #6
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Lake Martin, ALABAMA
Posts: 186
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

It really doesnt matter...
The setup station gives you a way to take measurments
over and over accuratly...
Now that you can do this over and over, it allows you to make changes and see if they effect the car the way you want.
harris414 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 05:39 PM   #7
Tech Champion
 
jmackani's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Shippensburg
Posts: 5,599
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

30 mm is normal for the buggies. I planed down my own larger ones for the truggy to match my ride height settings.
__________________
LCRC Raceway http://www.lostcreekcycles.com/lcrc.htm
Proline Racing http:://www.prolineracing.com
jmackani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 05:41 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
AZRC4Me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Fullerton, CA
Posts: 1,147
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by harris414 View Post
It really doesnt matter...
The setup station gives you a way to take measurments
over and over accuratly...
Now that you can do this over and over, it allows you to make changes and see if they effect the car the way you want.
I have the Hudy setup station - the point of the blocks is to give you a repeatable way to measure camber/toe. You could always make a few shims that are 10mm or so to set on top of the blocks for your truggy. I only use mine for buggy (sold the truggy for an e-buggy). Consider this also, even though you set a ride height, you are hardly ever at that ride height when racing, your truggy is always transferring weight and soaking up bumps. Ride height is just a static reference point.

Also, if I set a ride height of say 27f/28r, I know that whatever I set my camber to at 30mm will be slightly less than what it's at at ride height due to camber gain.
__________________
Sean Gaffney
...where some sponsors used to be...
AZRC4Me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 06:20 PM   #9
Tech Champion
 
jmackani's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Shippensburg
Posts: 5,599
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

That is the weird part. The hudy touring car setup stations do all toe and camber without any blocks but free hanging.
__________________
LCRC Raceway http://www.lostcreekcycles.com/lcrc.htm
Proline Racing http:://www.prolineracing.com
jmackani is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GT class car and Setup Station question MiniMeRCRacing Nitro On-Road 12 09-20-2010 04:09 PM
RPM guages or hudy setup station? didrace Nitro Off-Road 19 02-12-2010 11:04 PM
Good value setup station Phroz Electric On-Road 31 06-27-2007 11:59 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:23 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net