R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Nitro Off-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-off-road-130/)
-   -   HUDY setup station measurements? (https://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-off-road/478469-hudy-setup-station-measurements.html)

primus95 02-03-2011 04:28 PM

HUDY setup station measurements?

This is probably a stupid question but I'm a newbie to setup stations.

I'm using my HUDY 1/8th offroad station and all the measurements for toe & camber are taken using droop blocks under the chassis that are 30mm high and pressing the chassis down onto them.

I'm a bit confused as this is my first time using the station. 30mm is not my normal ride height, and with truggy wheels on, the car sits way more than 30mm off the ground (42mm is ride height), so how are the camber and toe measurements with the chassis at 30mm off the ground correct???

My -2 camber on the station is more like zero with the wheels on?

I'm confused . . . . . .

2fst2c 02-03-2011 04:42 PM

I usually set mine by getting it all setup...then with nothing under it I press the car/truck down and let it come up on it's own and take the measurements then. I push it down kinda quickly and let it raise up. I do that a few times as I make adjustments. Once it's set I do it a few times to make sure it's consistently measuring the same.

Brandon Melton 02-03-2011 04:47 PM

"camber gain" is a term referred to how much more camber the wheel gets throughout the suspension motion. Camber is not technically the same throughout any point of the travel. So measuring at 30mm is close to where a normal ride height would be. It is ideal to set your camber at whatever ride height you will using. If you run 28mm then make some blocks out of wood or something that are 28mm, but there shouldn't be too much difference between 28 and 30mm.

However, if you put a truggy on 30mm blocks, there would be a big difference normal ride height of a truck and the camber when set on the blocks.