R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-28-2011, 02:25 PM   #76
Tech Champion
 
bigjayjay1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,605
Trader Rating: 86 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitrozilla View Post
when you lose the switch there is also the benefit of better current draw. switches rob power especially switches on a esc as they are inefficient at passing current.
__________________
TEAM: SERPENT AMERICA DRIVER -ADVANTAGE RACING PRODUCTS-COMPETITION HEAT INC - HOBBYPRO, VPPRO - BCE-
Serpent: 811N, 811T, 811E
bigjayjay1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 09:54 AM   #77
Tech Regular
 
nitrozilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 283
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

when i use to drive mini-z alot of the guys including myself removed the switches for two main reasons . one if you were running lipo and stacked mosfets it would cause your servos to glitch but even stock when they are removed and you hardwire the connection you would notice a power gain.
larger scale this is not something that you would notice but on mini scale you may.
nitrozilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 12:06 PM   #78
Tech Addict
 
jammin32j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lake county
Posts: 633
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitrozilla View Post
when i use to drive mini-z alot of the guys including myself removed the switches for two main reasons . one if you were running lipo and stacked mosfets it would cause your servos to glitch but even stock when they are removed and you hardwire the connection you would notice a power gain.
larger scale this is not something that you would notice but on mini scale you may.
That is true....the more connections you have the more resistance you have. By eliminating the switch you get less resistance which means faster servos and longer run times.
__________________
VP Pro, Agama
Hitec-7955's, 3Pk----AKA Racing Tires
Absolutehobbyz.com____Dirtrc.com
O'Donnell, D.I.R.T. R/C ultimate Tire Gluer
Jeremy Davis
jammin32j is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 02:52 AM   #79
Tech Champion
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 5,975
Send a message via ICQ to Roelof
Default

And KO has made a new one:
http://www.redrc.net/2011/02/toy-fair-2011-ko-propo/
__________________
Speed is only fiction but a 130+km/h MRS4 is for real.
Roelof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 05:18 AM   #80
Tech Addict
 
gabor szilagyi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: greensboro nc
Posts: 505
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roelof View Post
I am glad to see that!I hope its gonna be on the market in a few months.....
__________________
Kyosho MP9,OS. based engines,Hitec servos,Spectrum radio system,M2C clutch,Avid bearings.....my name is Gabor which is a Hungarian name:Gabor means Gabriel so just call me Gabe...
gabor szilagyi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 09:11 AM   #81
Tech Regular
 
nitrozilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 283
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

i have heard good things about therre push button switches. Does look kinda big though.
anyone know how big the older one was
nitrozilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 10:54 AM   #82
Tech Master
 
rfleck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,425
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

I've had a few switch failures primarily most commonly in dusty conditions.

Now I just plug it in...one less point of failure. In a long main, you can use fishing line to tie the male and female plugs together together.
__________________
Ron Fleck Jr.
Nemoracing USA!
Agama-Beta-Bullitt!
rfleck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 09:17 PM   #83
Tech Master
 
malcnz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: DUNEDIN, NewZealand
Posts: 1,299
Default

Yeah like the look of that ko switch, and the lipo cutoff function but maybe 6v cutoff a little high?
have run there switches in the past and were faultless but are on the large side.
__________________
SCHUMACHER MI5 EVO/TEAM POWERS/SANWA/DX4R PRO.

SERPENT F110/TEAMPOWERS 21.5.

LOSI 22 2.0/TEAM POWERS 8.5
malcnz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 02:13 AM   #84
Tech Champion
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 5,975
Send a message via ICQ to Roelof
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by malcnz View Post
Yeah like the look of that ko switch, and the lipo cutoff function but maybe 6v cutoff a little high?
have run there switches in the past and were faultless but are on the large side.
Have you seen the text at the small hole on that switch? It says LiPo mode, so I presume you can switch off the 6v voltage cut off so you can also use it with NiMh batteries
__________________
Speed is only fiction but a 130+km/h MRS4 is for real.
Roelof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 01:35 PM   #85
Tech Master
 
pitpop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,445
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitrozilla View Post
i have heard good things about therre push button switches. Does look kinda big though.
anyone know how big the older one was
I think it's about the same size, it was on Cody's car at the Worlds:



I have an interesting story on this topic. In 2008, Cody was leading the 1/8 Gas Truck Nationals, and pulling away. Nobody was on his pace and he looked to have his first National Championship in the bag. Well, need I say, the switch broke and he dropped out of the race. That being said, you can imagine how much confidence I have in the KO Switch to put it on Cody's car at the Worlds. In addition, the switch on his Worlds car was old! I would say 2 years old at least. So you know how I feel about the KO switch, and I can't wait to get another one. The only one I had is retired with the Worlds car!

Let me also say, this is the only switch I would trust for a National or Worlds main, otherwise our stuff is hard wired.
__________________
Cody King's Wrench (and dad :))| Team Kyosho International | Reds Racing Engines | Pro-Line Tires
KO Propo | Byron Fuels | AbsoluteHobbyz.com | Stickit1 Racing | kustomrcgraphics.com
LiveRC.com | OCRC Raceway | codykingrc.com | ROAR Sanctioning Director
pitpop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 04:35 AM   #86
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,779
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roelof View Post


Wish they can make the button in bright red with the words " ENGINE START"on it...

__________________
Powered by: MASTERCARD and VISA

If you're in control, you're not driving it fast enough!

XRAY / NOVAROSSI / SANWA / AKA TIRES / BYRON FUEL
ganymede is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 04:53 PM   #87
Tech Adept
 
hyperc10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Midwest
Posts: 240
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to hyperc10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shnick lewy View Post
I have burnt up a few servos because of bad switches,now I just use deans mini plug.No more problems since.
hyperc10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 05:00 PM   #88
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 329
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ganymede View Post


Wish they can make the button in bright red with the words " ENGINE START"on it...

A lot of guys that used the original version of this complained that it drained their batteries in a few hours when it was turned off, hopefully the new one is better. I also hope you can turnoff the voltage cut-off so you can use it with LIFE packs.
jpas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 07:51 PM   #89
Tech Master
 
neobart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,413
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Life packs shouldn't be run below 6v just as lipo.
__________________
Clockwork Racing Engines
neobart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 10:50 AM   #90
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: San Antonio TX
Posts: 166
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Just reviving this topic. I am thinking of going switchless on my nitros. I busted my Mamba's switch during a race and I hardwired them.

How do you suggest I do it on the nitro? Solder deans to the battery and make an adapter to plug into the receiver?

Also I dont understand why people race without throttle return springs. If your battery runs out or switches off, the spring/rubber band will get your throttle to idle. I never run without them.
__________________
Previously owned - Mugen Seiki MBX7, MBX6, MBX6T, MBX6e, Thunder Tiger MTA4 S50, ST-1, Sparrowhawk XB, HPI BAJA 5Bss, Mini Recon, TRAXXAS REVO 3.3, AE RC8 onroad
rcindia is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot Bodies Cyclone Frank McKinney Electric On-Road 19762 07-26-2017 10:42 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:44 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net