R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-24-2011, 02:05 PM   #31
Tech Champion
 
bigjayjay1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,605
Trader Rating: 86 (99%+)
Default

micro deans
__________________
TEAM: SERPENT AMERICA DRIVER -ADVANTAGE RACING PRODUCTS-COMPETITION HEAT INC - HOBBYPRO, VPPRO - BCE-
Serpent: 811N, 811T, 811E
bigjayjay1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 02:06 PM   #32
Tech Adept
 
juggaloracer198's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: HEMET COMPITITION RACEWAY,ca
Posts: 144
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by deadmancourt View Post
wow thats the most intelligent thing ive ever heard you say way to go clint....yeah...im down with the switches too...
__________________
Clint.. TEAM CLAPPED OUT RACING
Losi 8T 2.0-Go GX5R w/Go 2072pipe~Hitec~S&W
juggaloracer198 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 02:13 PM   #33
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: TX
Posts: 307
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I stopped using switches after about the third time one went out on me. I just use a 2" servo extension and plug it into my receiver. the battery plugs right into the other end. the cost is like $1.50.
__________________
mike.terry@GO-Engine-USA.com
matrixmike28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 03:15 PM   #34
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Warren, PA
Posts: 463
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

[QUOTE=token;8539118]I always run a on off switch......ALWAYS. I keep an extra in my box justin case[/QUOTe

+ 1 same here.
nothin special is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 03:17 PM   #35
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Warren, PA
Posts: 463
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by token View Post
I always run a on off switch......ALWAYS. I keep an extra in my box justin case
+ 1 I do the same .
__________________
** Scott's Hooker Service** Craftworld and Action Hobbies**Craco Cryogenics** Hotbodies D8T **Fusion X Engines** Byron Fuels ** Hitec Servos ** Spectrum **AKA Tires**
nothin special is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 04:05 PM   #36
Tech Lord
 
Jaz240's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dwindle city
Posts: 12,492
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Man They both suck..I used switches that failed during a race so I switched to micro deans and my Pit man forgot to unplug after my quali and I ran out to marshal and never check and my Lipo was drained so Pick your poison! I went back to switches and I use the ones from Hyperion cause they are cheap and they work great and I change em every 3 gallons regardless
__________________
nothing to see here................................
Jaz240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 05:05 PM   #37
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Tampa Bay
Posts: 25
Default to switch or not to switch

[QUOTE=nothin special;8539783]
Quote:
Originally Posted by token View Post
I always run a on off switch......ALWAYS. I keep an extra in my box justin case[/QUOTe

+ 1 same here.
The spare switch in your box isnt gonna help you in your main when the one in your car fails...just my two cents.True, switches are easy to deal with but i find a jumper lead to be way more reliable in racing conditions,although not foolproof.As far as unplugging,you could just as easily get a raw deal by leaving the switch on.
__________________
Mike Brotherton
VP-Pro USA - http://www.raceVPpro.com
Agama USA - http://www.AgamaUSA.com
Byron Fuels-http://byronfuels.com
MB75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 05:07 PM   #38
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Tampa Bay
Posts: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by j_blaze14 View Post
switches fail eventually, almost always usually in a main. buggy and starter box both. its easy to flip a switch off, its also easy to bump a switch on. you have to unplug the battery anyways at the end of the day so why not. i've had 4 switches fail me in 3 years of racing and haven't ran a switch in the last 2 years. i've had 1 connection come "undone" in a race just cause i had a substitute pit guy and he didn't plug it in all the way. theres already a long list of things that can fail during racing, no switch eliminates a major one.
+1 I am with Johnny B. on this one.
__________________
Mike Brotherton
VP-Pro USA - http://www.raceVPpro.com
Agama USA - http://www.AgamaUSA.com
Byron Fuels-http://byronfuels.com
MB75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 05:20 PM   #39
Suspended
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 315
Trader Rating: 6 (71%+)
Default

until you have a run away due to a faulty switch causing your nitro to flip over on its lid and scream til the rod goes threw the case...it happens...toss the switch. I lost a brand new Clockworks JL.21 due to a switch...and the switch was new.
__________________
_________________________
Hotbodies D8/D8T
mb4545 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 05:32 PM   #40
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 492
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I still run switches.

I had a glitch once. It happened every other heat and always in the main. At first I thought it was a bad lipo, then I thought it was the regulator, then I thought it was the reciever, and then I thought it was the radio. Finally I changed the switch when put in a new battery box and problem never happened again. I think the switch had a short in it that was turning the power on and off intermittenly. Pissed me off.

I still run switches though. Less hassle.
Franchise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 06:05 PM   #41
Tech Master
 
j_blaze14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tampa, Fl
Posts: 1,693
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MB75 View Post
+1 I am with Johnny B. on this one.

+1

i forgot to mention, if you put a dab of shoogoo on the battery connector it will not pop off.
__________________
aGama A8 EVO - Werks B2 - Sidewinder
aGama A8E - TrackStar 150a, 2560kv, 3 and 4 cell
FlySky GT3B, Turnigy HV servos, SKY Lipos
AKA, Proline, Hotbodies Rubber
Elite Performance - HORRC.com
j_blaze14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 06:26 PM   #42
Tech Master
 
8ight-racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA
Posts: 1,087
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by j_blaze14 View Post
+1

i forgot to mention, if you put a dab of shoogoo on the battery connector it will not pop off.
If you have a connector with a flat spot, you can put a dab of ca glue on it and let it dry, and the connection will be tighter.

Does anyone know of a good, small connector that 'snaps' in? Was never a fan on plugging in the black rx connectors now the Deans idea.
__________________
Palm Desert R/C Raceway - www.palmdesertrcraceway.com

JQ Products, Pro-Line, TKO, Buku, Werks Fuel, Savox, A Main Hobbies, and Uncle Don's Hobbies
8ight-racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 08:24 PM   #43
Tech Lord
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,482
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Integra
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roelof View Post
There are electronic switches with a simple push button for on/of, I believe KO has one.
Nimh Only....Life Not too sure, Definitely No lipo tho.


Quote:
Originally Posted by rc23 View Post
i cant believe im reading a thread where everyone is agreeing that they dont run on/off switches.

Is it Wacky Wednesday?
Nope we've just seen the downside to running a switch and what Can happen So we are using preventative measure's to make sure it wont/Cant happen again.
__________________
TNS Driver - Radio Post - Blue Groove Apparel - Team Panther - Hitec - Losi - W.E.D. Paint - Clockwork Fuel - Competition Heat - SUMO Racing - Tekin - Team Terribles - M2C Racing - Matrix Concepts - Kal Gard - BuKu Power - DE Racing -
Integra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 08:27 PM   #44
Tech Lord
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,482
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Integra
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 8ight-racer View Post
If you have a connector with a flat spot, you can put a dab of ca glue on it and let it dry, and the connection will be tighter.

Does anyone know of a good, small connector that 'snaps' in? Was never a fan on plugging in the black rx connectors now the Deans idea.

I Prefer my JST's over Mini deans. They dont "click" per say but they definitely connect tighter then a mini deans as there's more surface area holding them together. I prefer the 20awg Protec leads as the wire is Nice quality.
__________________
TNS Driver - Radio Post - Blue Groove Apparel - Team Panther - Hitec - Losi - W.E.D. Paint - Clockwork Fuel - Competition Heat - SUMO Racing - Tekin - Team Terribles - M2C Racing - Matrix Concepts - Kal Gard - BuKu Power - DE Racing -
Integra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 08:39 PM   #45
Tech Champion
 
JAMMINKRAZY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 6,575
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

I personally use a switch. There's plenty of reasons not to, but if you mount them properly, use a dust cover, and replace them often you won't have any troubles. I've used both methods and the switch is much easier to use for you and your pit man. I'd rather change the switch every couple months than run a lipo dead or fry my servos by leaving the battery plugged in all day. Use good switches and they last pretty long. This is one electronic item that I think JR has down. The JR small switch is great(unlike the rest of their products!).
__________________
-Koby Kubrin-
Thanks to my Sponsors:
Serpent America | Team Novarossi | Desoto Racing | Race AKA | Ridgeway Bodies
JAMMINKRAZY is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot Bodies Cyclone Frank McKinney Electric On-Road 19762 07-26-2017 10:42 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:30 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net