R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-24-2011, 03:46 AM   #16
Tech Master
 
j_blaze14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tampa, Fl
Posts: 1,693
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

switches fail eventually, almost always usually in a main. buggy and starter box both. its easy to flip a switch off, its also easy to bump a switch on. you have to unplug the battery anyways at the end of the day so why not. i've had 4 switches fail me in 3 years of racing and haven't ran a switch in the last 2 years. i've had 1 connection come "undone" in a race just cause i had a substitute pit guy and he didn't plug it in all the way. theres already a long list of things that can fail during racing, no switch eliminates a major one.
__________________
aGama A8 EVO - Werks B2 - Sidewinder
aGama A8E - TrackStar 150a, 2560kv, 3 and 4 cell
FlySky GT3B, Turnigy HV servos, SKY Lipos
AKA, Proline, Hotbodies Rubber
Elite Performance - HORRC.com
j_blaze14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 05:07 AM   #17
Tech Addict
 
awdcameolsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 591
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

I never had problems with switches until I started running unregulated lipo on them. Now I switch them out often (like before the big trophy) because they do go bad and I don't like DNF's due to that. They actually caused both of my only 2 dnf's last year.
awdcameolsx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 09:51 AM   #18
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 786
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris-s View Post
Never had much luck with switches, always failing on me. And then there is the nuisance of all the extra wires to fit in the radio box.
I now use mini deans connectors, then use glue lined heatshrink to support the wires.
I use this approach as well. Just be sure to get the polarized deans (neutral male on the battery side). I ran non-polarized at first and managed to burn out two servos and an LiFe battery by plugging it in backwards!
__________________
Sponsored by My Kids' Inheritance
Serpent S811 Cobra | Novarossi Plus 21-4T | Airtronics M11x | Savox Servos
mthird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 10:46 AM   #19
Tech Champion
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 5,980
Send a message via ICQ to Roelof
Default

There are electronic switches with a simple push button for on/of, I believe KO has one.
__________________
Speed is only fiction but a 130+km/h MRS4 is for real.
Roelof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 11:09 AM   #20
Tech Addict
 
gabor szilagyi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: greensboro nc
Posts: 505
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roelof View Post
There are electronic switches with a simple push button for on/of, I believe KO has one.
Yeah those KO switches were awesome!But i can't find it anymore !I heard they discontinued...If someone knows where can i find one let me know!
__________________
Kyosho MP9,OS. based engines,Hitec servos,Spectrum radio system,M2C clutch,Avid bearings.....my name is Gabor which is a Hungarian name:Gabor means Gabriel so just call me Gabe...
gabor szilagyi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 01:04 PM   #21
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 3,644
Default

I always run a on off switch......ALWAYS. I keep an extra in my box justin case
__________________
TLR - Spektrum - Horizon - TLR 8ight 4.0 - TLR 8ight-T 4.0 - TLR 22 4.0 - Orion
token is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 01:08 PM   #22
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,758
Trader Rating: 59 (100%+)
Default

i cant believe im reading a thread where everyone is agreeing that they dont run on/off switches.

Is it Wacky Wednesday?
rc23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 01:09 PM   #23
Tech Elite
 
deadmancourt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Menifee,Ca
Posts: 2,486
Trader Rating: 11 (92%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by token View Post
I always run a on off switch......ALWAYS. I keep an extra in my box justin case
yeah me too...but this thread does have me spooked a lil....
__________________
Rob Schneider
Special Thanks To:
S&W Fuel~Agama Usa/HobbyProUsa.com
RcRenew.com and TritonRc.com~Lucky7~Eazyrc.com
Venom-Group~Upgrade-Rc and TrackstarRc.com
deadmancourt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 01:21 PM   #24
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 3,644
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deadmancourt View Post
yeah me too...but this thread does have me spooked a lil....
Not me bro. I have never had a problem with a regular off/on switch. I have only had a problem with the switch on the lipo reg. I dont know to many people that dont use one.........
__________________
TLR - Spektrum - Horizon - TLR 8ight 4.0 - TLR 8ight-T 4.0 - TLR 22 4.0 - Orion
token is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 01:37 PM   #25
Tech Champion
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 5,980
Send a message via ICQ to Roelof
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gabor szilagyi View Post
Yeah those KO switches were awesome!But i can't find it anymore !I heard they discontinued...If someone knows where can i find one let me know!

If you are into electronics you can find lots of diagrams of a one button on/off switch.

In the past we have used these switches without any problems:



Finally just plugging 2 connectors on each other is simple and safe.
__________________
Speed is only fiction but a 130+km/h MRS4 is for real.
Roelof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 01:45 PM   #26
Tech Fanatic
 
Ruune's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 891
Send a message via ICQ to Ruune Send a message via AIM to Ruune Send a message via Yahoo to Ruune
Default

The only failures I've had with switches are due to contamination by water,dirt or both. Typically this is a result of the silicon boot that came with the kit being torn or ineffectual.

This may sound funny (or like I'm joking), but I'm completely serious. To keep your power switch clean, cut 2" to tip off a profolactic (if you need to ask what this is, just use a balloon or two). Preferredly unused. Put the switch inside, switch first, then wrap the lower part, using a zip tie to seal it. Make sure it fits loosely over the upper parts of the switch, so that there is free movement for the switch to move back n forth (shut up!).

Soldiers used to do something similar with their M-16 barrels in Vietnam, in order to keep their weapons from misfiring.
Ruune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 01:47 PM   #27
Tech Adept
 
juggaloracer198's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: HEMET COMPITITION RACEWAY,ca
Posts: 144
Default

im down with switches...power wires are meant to have switches.. plugging in and unplugging connecters can become worn way faster than a switch.. plus the arc from the power can cause corrosion inside the female connector and lose contact
__________________
Clint.. TEAM CLAPPED OUT RACING
Losi 8T 2.0-Go GX5R w/Go 2072pipe~Hitec~S&W
juggaloracer198 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 01:57 PM   #28
Tech Elite
 
deadmancourt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Menifee,Ca
Posts: 2,486
Trader Rating: 11 (92%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by juggaloracer198 View Post
im down with switches...power wires are meant to have switches.. plugging in and unplugging connecters can become worn way faster than a switch.. plus the arc from the power can cause corrosion inside the female connector and lose contact
wow thats the most intelligent thing ive ever heard you say way to go clint....yeah...im down with the switches too...
__________________
Rob Schneider
Special Thanks To:
S&W Fuel~Agama Usa/HobbyProUsa.com
RcRenew.com and TritonRc.com~Lucky7~Eazyrc.com
Venom-Group~Upgrade-Rc and TrackstarRc.com
deadmancourt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 02:00 PM   #29
Tech Elite
 
hakmazter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,469
Default

I have had multiple races where I nose into the face of a jump and the on off switch gets turned off.

I hate using hobbywing because they program through the same switch.
__________________
I mass produced the first electric 1/8 scale buggy and truggy.
www.HopeWDM.org
I have thousands of dollars of caster racing inventory available.
Semi-Retired from this industry at this time.
hakmazter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 02:01 PM   #30
Tech Elite
 
deadmancourt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Menifee,Ca
Posts: 2,486
Trader Rating: 11 (92%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruune View Post
The only failures I've had with switches are due to contamination by water,dirt or both. Typically this is a result of the silicon boot that came with the kit being torn or ineffectual.

This may sound funny (or like I'm joking), but I'm completely serious. To keep your power switch clean, cut 2" to tip off a profolactic (if you need to ask what this is, just use a balloon or two). Preferredly unused. Put the switch inside, switch first, then wrap the lower part, using a zip tie to seal it. Make sure it fits loosely over the upper parts of the switch, so that there is free movement for the switch to move back n forth (shut up!).

Soldiers used to do something similar with their M-16 barrels in Vietnam, in order to keep their weapons from misfiring.
wow i havent laughed that hard in a long time...PREFERBLY NON LUBRICATED......but that will work great..i wonder if you could do the same with the receiver...even if you have to have the antenna wire coming out, it will still keep it cleaner than without it bieng wrapped
__________________
Rob Schneider
Special Thanks To:
S&W Fuel~Agama Usa/HobbyProUsa.com
RcRenew.com and TritonRc.com~Lucky7~Eazyrc.com
Venom-Group~Upgrade-Rc and TrackstarRc.com
deadmancourt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot Bodies Cyclone Frank McKinney Electric On-Road 19762 07-26-2017 10:42 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:39 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net