R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-13-2011, 01:09 PM   #1
Tech Addict
 
bboard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 639
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default switching to lipo

I'm sure this will get moved but this is probley the best place to get an answer.

I'm planning on making the switch to lipo soon. I've heard more than once and seen that a Hitec 7955 will run fine off a lipo rx pack, but I'm also running a 7985MG on throttle. Will the 7985 also hold up to the voltage, without burning up and needing a regulator?
__________________
Hotbodies D8-Werks B6/2057-Byrons-Orion LiFe-HiTec Servos-Airtronics M11 2.4
bboard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 01:52 PM   #2
Tech Regular
 
MCR82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Gordonvale, QLD
Posts: 491
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bboard View Post
I'm sure this will get moved but this is probley the best place to get an answer.

I'm planning on making the switch to lipo soon. I've heard more than once and seen that a Hitec 7955 will run fine off a lipo rx pack, but I'm also running a 7985MG on throttle. Will the 7985 also hold up to the voltage, without burning up and needing a regulator?
Hey mate, you should consider a Life rx battery - I'm not sure how your servos will go using a lipo rx, but I ran a lipo pack in my RC8b and had to use a voltage regulater, I can tell you - man it was a tight fit to install the reg.
The best thing I ever did was go to life as the reg was no longer required, you wont be disapointed using one.
__________________
MMI - RC Hobbyzone - Mugen Seiki - Neo + Fuels - AKA Australia - M2C - Phoenix Hobbies
MCR82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 05:30 PM   #3
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 105
Default

im not real sure why everybody has to run lipo unregulated. i have the 7955's and i know that the speed rating is some what slow and running them unregulated really picks the speed up but i think that they are more then fast enough with a 5 cell ni-cad pack. i have'nt seen a car yet that will respond to a extremely fast servo. i run a lipo regulated for 2 reasons #1 i can run all day long without a recharge on a 2000 ma pack #2 the weight , and if it wasnt for #1 i would proble stick with a ni-cad or ni-mh pack.
axle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 06:04 PM   #4
Tech Addict
 
bboard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 639
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MCR82 View Post
Hey mate, you should consider a Life rx battery - I'm not sure how your servos will go using a lipo rx, but I ran a lipo pack in my RC8b and had to use a voltage regulater, I can tell you - man it was a tight fit to install the reg.
The best thing I ever did was go to life as the reg was no longer required, you wont be disapointed using one.
I'm running a LiFe pack right now, but the D8 is picky on which batts will fit because the box is so small. I'm running a 1100mah LiFe pack, it's the biggest that will fit, and I'm wanting a little more runtime. I know of people running 1500-2000mah lipos that dont have to worry about runtime. I'm just gonna get a regulator, just didnt wanna add more clutter to the rx box.
__________________
Hotbodies D8-Werks B6/2057-Byrons-Orion LiFe-HiTec Servos-Airtronics M11 2.4
bboard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 07:26 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
aussies1129's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: LAND DOWN UNDER
Posts: 3,485
Trader Rating: 74 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bboard View Post
I'm sure this will get moved but this is probley the best place to get an answer.

I'm planning on making the switch to lipo soon. I've heard more than once and seen that a Hitec 7955 will run fine off a lipo rx pack, but I'm also running a 7985MG on throttle. Will the 7985 also hold up to the voltage, without burning up and needing a regulator?
if you have he chance to run life batteries do it alot safer and the same price as lipo
__________________
Proudly supported by......
Premier Model Supplies Pty Ltd
H.E.I AUSTRALIA
XRAY*****PRO-LINE*****HUDY*****
-----FUTABA-----NOVAROSSI-----
aussies1129 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 08:22 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
portyansky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,979
Trader Rating: 54 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bboard View Post
I'm sure this will get moved but this is probley the best place to get an answer.

I'm planning on making the switch to lipo soon. I've heard more than once and seen that a Hitec 7955 will run fine off a lipo rx pack, but I'm also running a 7985MG on throttle. Will the 7985 also hold up to the voltage, without burning up and needing a regulator?
You will be fine running both on lipo without a regulator. If it makes you feel any better, i have been running the 5955 and 985 on lipo direct in my nitros (truggy,buggy,revo) for over 2 years without any issues.
__________________
Team Tekno Canadian Team Manager
Team Hitec
portyansky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 08:28 AM   #7
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 300
Default

I know it's a LiPo thread but many of you recommend LiFe here so i would like to ask a simple question.

Could you please tell me if i can run my servos (Savox SC-1256TG and Airtronics 94773M) on a LiFe 6.6V pack? I know that almost every servo should be fine with it but i heard that some heat too much what may damage the electronics.
Donat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 08:32 AM   #8
Tech Lord
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,500
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

Hitec says no on lipo and the 7985. But lipo is the way to go. You get more out of the servos and the runtime is awesome. Go with another 7955 or 7950 and you will be set
__________________
- X-Ray/ RC America Team Driver - MKS -
- XB8 - XB8T - XB8 E - OS Spec III - B2102 - 4PXR -
~ SSC ~ Godfather ~ Ironman ~ ButterySmooth ~
Frank L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 09:30 AM   #9
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 321
Default

Could you please tell me if i can run my servos (Savox SC-1256TG and Airtronics 94773M) on a LiFe 6.6V pack? I know that almost every servo should be fine with it but i heard that some heat too much what may damage the electronics.[/QUOTE]

I run Li-Fe 6,6V on my Savox 1256TG, no problem.
To next year I have (to be on the safe side) applied some thermal compound to the engine, better safe then sorry!..
NitroVein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 11:40 AM   #10
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 300
Default

Ok, so i only have to know if the Airtronics will stand the extra voltage.

Have you checked the temperature on the servo while using LiFe?
What is the safe operating temperature for a servo?
Donat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 11:51 AM   #11
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,121
Trader Rating: 42 (98%+)
Send a message via AIM to RockStar_199 Send a message via MSN to RockStar_199 Send a message via Yahoo to RockStar_199
Default

http://www.integy.com/st_prod.html?p...20&p_catid=140

look through the HB D8 Hara thread it fits perfect
__________________
Mark C. Math
Kyosho TKI4
Triton Engines: L4 2108
J&T Bearing Co.
RC Pro TX10280
RockStar_199 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 12:24 PM   #12
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 3,644
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by axle View Post
im not real sure why everybody has to run lipo unregulated. i have the 7955's and i know that the speed rating is some what slow and running them unregulated really picks the speed up but i think that they are more then fast enough with a 5 cell ni-cad pack. i have'nt seen a car yet that will respond to a extremely fast servo. i run a lipo regulated for 2 reasons #1 i can run all day long without a recharge on a 2000 ma pack #2 the weight , and if it wasnt for #1 i would proble stick with a ni-cad or ni-mh pack.
I have.................Especially in buggy.

I run Losi Lipo and can go ALL DAY unregulated. I dont because it makes no sense to risk a run away.

I have seen more cars run away with a regulator than servos burnt up with out regulator.

I rather have 7.2 v going into a 45 min main than 6v...
__________________
TLR - Spektrum - Horizon - TLR 8ight 4.0 - TLR 8ight-T 4.0 - TLR 22 4.0 - Orion

Last edited by token; 01-14-2011 at 12:38 PM.
token is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 12:28 PM   #13
Tech Lord
 
Jaz240's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dwindle city
Posts: 12,492
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by token View Post
I have.................Especially in buggy.

I run Losi Lipo and can go ALL DAY unregulated. I dont because it makes not sense to risk a run away.

I have seen more cars run away with a regulator than servos burnt up with out regulator.

I rather have 7.2 v going into a 45 min main than 6v...
+1..not to mention the fact that 7.2 volts will do wonders for the performance of your servos..you wont get 7.2 volts from life, or nimh..thats why so many of us prefer lipo
__________________
nothing to see here................................
Jaz240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 01:21 PM   #14
Tech Elite
 
rangerjkb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 2,430
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to rangerjkb
Default

You'll be good running both on Lipo.
__________________
Jason Burks
--------------------------------
Psycho Cells Racing~Hal's Hobby Warehouse~Murfdogg Products~Avid RC
rangerjkb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 06:29 PM   #15
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 105
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by token View Post
I have.................Especially in buggy.

I run Losi Lipo and can go ALL DAY unregulated. I dont because it makes no sense to risk a run away.

I have seen more cars run away with a regulator than servos burnt up with out regulator.

I rather have 7.2 v going into a 45 min main than 6v...
my point to this whole deal is that it is not needed to go fast, some pros still dont run lipo or life packs because it may upset the car if you take the weight off that spot. if you run on carpet with a 1/12th scale i can see a faster servo making it trun faster but the 4 years that i run on carpet i found it takes less steering input because you have more traction then you know what to do with and when you get used to running on carpet then go back to dirt you see how much your buggy is really pushing when you trun that wheel. and also a lipo pack peaks out at 8.4 volts when it gets to 7.2 volts it's just about dead.
axle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new to lipo ? wichol98 Rookie Zone 12 07-05-2009 08:44 AM
New to Lipo,Need help X God Electric Off-Road 20 02-14-2008 09:53 AM
Switching to Lipo, need some advice. rays_tt Electric On-Road 10 02-22-2007 01:15 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:36 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net