R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-24-2010, 06:31 PM   #1
Tech Elite
 
NitroXray80809's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Bakersfield, California
Posts: 3,249
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default Lipo For a D8?

What lipo fits the D8 good? Also a regulator means you dont need HV servos to run lipo??? thanks
__________________
Xray XB4 | Ko-Propo | Savox | Hobbywing | SpeedPassion | JC |

Kyosho RB6 | Ko-Propo | Futaba | Turnigy | Orion | JC |

AE T4.2 | Ko-Propo | Savox | Turnigy | ProTek | JC |
NitroXray80809 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2010, 06:43 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
MotoGod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Clayton, NC
Posts: 3,701
Trader Rating: 112 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to MotoGod Send a message via Yahoo to MotoGod
Default

I run the Robitronic 1500mah LIPO in my D8 and D8T. They fit without any mods at all and last forever using a regulator ;-)

I just don't have good luck finding them in stock typically. eBay generally has a few available though.
__________________
Scott Pouliot
Current Race Rigs: TLR 8ight 3.0/3.0E/3.0T/22/22-4
==============================================
Thanks to my 2015 Sponsors: LutzRC, RadioPost, AKA Tires, RC Addition Products, Nitro Pro Fuels
MotoGod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2010, 07:28 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
NitroXray80809's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Bakersfield, California
Posts: 3,249
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MotoGod View Post
I run the Robitronic 1500mah LIPO in my D8 and D8T. They fit without any mods at all and last forever using a regulator ;-)

I just don't have good luck finding them in stock typically. eBay generally has a few available though.
Thanks Moto, how you been lately haven't talked in a while. so you still running hb i see? lol
__________________
Xray XB4 | Ko-Propo | Savox | Hobbywing | SpeedPassion | JC |

Kyosho RB6 | Ko-Propo | Futaba | Turnigy | Orion | JC |

AE T4.2 | Ko-Propo | Savox | Turnigy | ProTek | JC |
NitroXray80809 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2010, 07:40 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Omaha,NE
Posts: 2,549
Trader Rating: 86 (99%+)
Default

Check with rctech member lockmouth here on the forum, he can get you hooked up with the robotronics lipo. I run them straight to hitec 7955sh servos (Around $95 per servo) with no issues.
WideOpenThrottle RC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2010, 07:46 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
NitroXray80809's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Bakersfield, California
Posts: 3,249
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WideOpenThrottle RC View Post
Check with rctech member lockmouth here on the forum, he can get you hooked up with the robotronics lipo. I run them straight to hitec 7955sh servos (Around $95 per servo) with no issues.
Hmmmm Thanks. lol I told my buddy about your deals on here btw and i guess he bought ur motor yesterday lol. wish i could afford it but owell.
__________________
Xray XB4 | Ko-Propo | Savox | Hobbywing | SpeedPassion | JC |

Kyosho RB6 | Ko-Propo | Futaba | Turnigy | Orion | JC |

AE T4.2 | Ko-Propo | Savox | Turnigy | ProTek | JC |
NitroXray80809 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2010, 07:52 PM   #6
Tech Fanatic
 
vwduud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Prairieville, LA
Posts: 876
Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)
Default

Here's a link:

https://store.vgracing.com/batteries...0mah-7-4v.html
__________________
Jim Brown
Tekno EB-48.4, ET-48, Rx8 G2, 1900kv/2000kv, Savox 2274/2273, SMC, 4PX
Sponsors: Tekno, RC Crew Chief (chassis tuning S/W)
President of SCR (just outside New Orleans) - https://www.facebook.com/scr.raceway
vwduud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2010, 10:49 PM   #7
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: 10 mins West of Fear Farm- Arizona!
Posts: 963
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Im also running the Robitronics in my D8T now and couldnt be happier. Fits with plenty of room for the connectors inside the box. I purchased it from VG racing. I did have to modify (actually a buddy did it for me, but its cake) the connection going into my reciever switch though. The battery comes with the red 2 prong connector and my reciever takes the flat black plug...its an easy swap though.
__________________
Losi TEN-SCTE 4WD
fourseventeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2010, 11:06 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
MotoGod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Clayton, NC
Posts: 3,701
Trader Rating: 112 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to MotoGod Send a message via Yahoo to MotoGod
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vwduud View Post
Awesome...thanks for the link. I need 2 more ;-)
__________________
Scott Pouliot
Current Race Rigs: TLR 8ight 3.0/3.0E/3.0T/22/22-4
==============================================
Thanks to my 2015 Sponsors: LutzRC, RadioPost, AKA Tires, RC Addition Products, Nitro Pro Fuels
MotoGod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2010, 11:07 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
MotoGod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Clayton, NC
Posts: 3,701
Trader Rating: 112 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to MotoGod Send a message via Yahoo to MotoGod
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NitroXray80809 View Post
Thanks Moto, how you been lately haven't talked in a while. so you still running hb i see? lol
Been good man. I tell you...I was skeptical of the D8 at first, but this thing RIPS! Been on the podium every race thus far and laptimes have improved a TON.
__________________
Scott Pouliot
Current Race Rigs: TLR 8ight 3.0/3.0E/3.0T/22/22-4
==============================================
Thanks to my 2015 Sponsors: LutzRC, RadioPost, AKA Tires, RC Addition Products, Nitro Pro Fuels
MotoGod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 09:38 AM   #10
Tech Elite
 
NitroXray80809's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Bakersfield, California
Posts: 3,249
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MotoGod View Post
Been good man. I tell you...I was skeptical of the D8 at first, but this thing RIPS! Been on the podium every race thus far and laptimes have improved a TON.
Same here I havent been happier since runnin hb. I know i can go to the track knowing my servos wont blow and knowing it wont break. So far this is the best car i have ran. Im puttin the hara stuff on mine and it seems even better. Really nice ride.
__________________
Xray XB4 | Ko-Propo | Savox | Hobbywing | SpeedPassion | JC |

Kyosho RB6 | Ko-Propo | Futaba | Turnigy | Orion | JC |

AE T4.2 | Ko-Propo | Savox | Turnigy | ProTek | JC |
NitroXray80809 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 09:50 AM   #11
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 835
Trader Rating: 8 (90%+)
Default

How many mah are you guys using with a lipo? When I run 1/12th scale or world gt I was always able to run a lipo directly to my reciever. I have used spectrum 3001's and also the fasst modules with no voltage problems at all. plus your steering resonse is crazy fast at 7.4 volts.

Then I was averaging about 150 mahh is all. I used a Hobby zone 7.4 2 cell and the pack is 300 mah and has a jst plug.
__________________
Houston,Texas
Serpent 733 EVO
Mikes Hobby shop-Porter Texas/ Gulf coast Raceway"Electric Is For Hairdryers"..Eric Koger
Chris Totcky@facebook.com
Tha Skinny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 10:34 AM   #12
Tech Master
 
Slimsh8t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: AZ
Posts: 1,127
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

[QUOTE=MotoGod;8387763]I run the Robitronic 1500mah LIPO in my D8 and D8T. They fit without any mods at all and last forever using a regulator ;-)

I just don't have good luck finding them in stock typically. eBay generally has a few available though.[/QUThey come with a JT connector which we changed to the bec. But get ahold of Lockmouth on here & he can hook you up. Considering if he has any at the time or possibly coming in.
__________________
Kevin Murphy
Associated B5m/Reedy
AP Custom Paint/Kal-Gard/
Slimsh8t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 08:57 PM   #13
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 725
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

You can use lipid without a voltage regulator depending on the setup you run. Some receivers can run on higher voltages, but the key are your servos. Most servos are designed to run on or about 6 volts. Lipos have a much higher voltage over the discharge curve thus putting additional strain on servos not designed to run higher voltages.

I've bought the robitronics Lipos from lockmouth and he is very trustworthy. Couldn't be happier with thief performance.
__________________
HB D8T with BCE Chassis, ACE Shock towers and motor mounts, M2C Rear Suspension system, KH front steering plate and chassis braces, Lunsford Ti-turnbuckles & hinge pins, OS Speed motor, Hitec 5995TG steering, Futaba 9351 throttle/brake, OS 2060 pipe, and J concepts Punisher Body.
HB D8: CEO Mods Novarossi P5K with JP4 tuned pipe, JR 9000T steering, JR 8800T throttle.
gotspeed_2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HPI Vorza wth LiPo (Hot Bodies D8 based car) mebolson R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 23 12-01-2010 01:19 PM
What RX Lipo fits a HotBodies D8T? Brodie-72 Nitro Off-Road 30 10-31-2010 06:26 AM
lipo for D8 and D8T????? bcarter007 Nitro Off-Road 28 02-19-2010 06:31 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:06 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net