R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-23-2010, 06:04 PM   #1
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: 10 mins West of Fear Farm- Arizona!
Posts: 963
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default Bulldog body on D8T...whos done it?

I ordered up a Bulldog body to have custom painted. I just recently was told the body doesnt fit with the front stock mounts in the stock location. I was told I would need to drill new holes in the front shock tower or that MAYBE front body mounts from another buggy/truck would be a direct replacement so that I wouldnt need to drill my shock tower. If you have a D8T and a Bulldog body...what did you do to make the body fit perfectly? I dont like to half ass anything...so please no ghetto rig ideas
__________________
Losi TEN-SCTE 4WD
fourseventeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 06:13 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
Teufel Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sparks Nv.
Posts: 2,134
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Which Bull Dog body did you get? The one for the D8T or another one?

The Bull Dog body for the D8T uses the same front body mounts, just one hole higher in the mount location. No drilling required for the D8T Bull Dog body. If you are trying another Bull Dog body, I don't know what would have to be done. I'm sure someone on here knows.
__________________
J.Mikoliczyk

ZX6 - RB6 - MP9e
Fantom Racing, Cheater Racing
Houston's Engine Service
Teufel Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 07:43 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
Marcus Falconie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,462
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teufel Racing View Post
Which Bull Dog body did you get? The one for the D8T or another one?

The Bull Dog body for the D8T uses the same front body mounts, just one hole higher in the mount location. No drilling required for the D8T Bull Dog body. If you are trying another Bull Dog body, I don't know what would have to be done. I'm sure someone on here knows.
Not true the D8T bulldog body comes with a template and you need to dril holes in the front shocktower. Go to home Depot and get a good metal bit. And yes I did run the Bulldog body when I ran a D8T its the J-Concepts body that fits with no mod.
__________________
Marcus Falconieri
2011 Xray 808
Torco Racing Fuels
KBRL Nitro Series
www.youtube.com/gsadvanced
Marcus Falconie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 07:59 PM   #4
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 318
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

the body mounts from the 8t are supposed to work with no drilling.
morkendi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 08:07 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
Marcus Falconie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,462
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by morkendi View Post
the body mounts from the 8t are supposed to work with no drilling.
Dude I ran that body for a year on my D8T. You need to drill the front tower, just go to the proline website and download the instructions. Do people just post on here to post

http://prolineracing.com/images/howtos/pdfs/3317.pdf
__________________
Marcus Falconieri
2011 Xray 808
Torco Racing Fuels
KBRL Nitro Series
www.youtube.com/gsadvanced
Marcus Falconie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 08:23 PM   #6
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: 10 mins West of Fear Farm- Arizona!
Posts: 963
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

I understand if you use the stock D8T mounts you need to drill the shock tower. I am trying to avoid doing that if possible. I heard that there may be body mounts from another truggy that are taller that would work so I dont need to drill my shock tower mount.

And yes this is the D8T Bulldog body.
__________________
Losi TEN-SCTE 4WD
fourseventeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 08:38 PM   #7
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 318
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcus Falconie View Post
Dude I ran that body for a year on my D8T. You need to drill the front tower, just go to the proline website and download the instructions. Do people just post on here to post

http://prolineracing.com/images/howtos/pdfs/3317.pdf
OK? In the D8T forum, jesse robbers said you can use the Losi mounts. I figured since he is sponsered by HB he would know what he is talking about, but I bow down to your knowledge. Plus I have been racing the d8t since a couple months after it was released.
morkendi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 08:43 PM   #8
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 318
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fourseventeen View Post
I understand if you use the stock D8T mounts you need to drill the shock tower. I am trying to avoid doing that if possible. I heard that there may be body mounts from another truggy that are taller that would work so I dont need to drill my shock tower mount.

And yes this is the D8T Bulldog body.
Go to the D8T forum and search the thread, several pics there that will help you. Just type in bulldog, and I am sure something will come up as I know some others didn't feal cumfortable drilling as well.
morkendi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 08:53 PM   #9
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: 10 mins West of Fear Farm- Arizona!
Posts: 963
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

I have no problem with the tools or skill to drill. I just would rather not unless I REALLY had to. I personally dont like how it looks with the stub that is suppose to go in the tower now sticking above the tower if I was to drill. I tried looking at the D8T topic but I will do a search within the topic and see what comes up. Thanks
__________________
Losi TEN-SCTE 4WD
fourseventeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 09:15 PM   #10
Tech Addict
 
DezSlash's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 512
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Losi 8t mounts perfect for my jc body. Should be dine with the bulldog.
__________________
Companies I support
Hot Bodies*Futaba*Novarossi*JConcepts*Hitec*Upgrade Rc*Kalgard*Sidewinder Fuel*Dialed
Arcor Raceway
DezSlash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 10:16 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
Marcus Falconie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,462
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by morkendi View Post
OK? In the D8T forum, jesse robbers said you can use the Losi mounts. I figured since he is sponsered by HB he would know what he is talking about, but I bow down to your knowledge. Plus I have been racing the d8t since a couple months after it was released.
Sorry I wasn't trying to be a jerk you said 8t and the d8 is a 8t also so you were talking about Losi 8t mounts fit, that is what he was looking for
__________________
Marcus Falconieri
2011 Xray 808
Torco Racing Fuels
KBRL Nitro Series
www.youtube.com/gsadvanced
Marcus Falconie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 10:51 PM   #12
Tech Elite
 
NitroXray80809's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Bakersfield, California
Posts: 3,249
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

my buddy is using bulldog on his but instead of modding it he just cut lil holes where his towers are. Not big issue, looks not as good as it can but hey it works and is costless. Also i have heard get the 8t mounts or body and they work.
__________________
Xray XB4 | Ko-Propo | Savox | Hobbywing | SpeedPassion | JC |

Kyosho RB6 | Ko-Propo | Futaba | Turnigy | Orion | JC |

AE T4.2 | Ko-Propo | Savox | Turnigy | ProTek | JC |
NitroXray80809 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 10:52 PM   #13
Tech Elite
 
NitroXray80809's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Bakersfield, California
Posts: 3,249
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcus Falconie View Post
Sorry I wasn't trying to be a jerk you said 8t and the d8 is a 8t also so you were talking about Losi 8t mounts fit, that is what he was looking for
Hey off topic here Marcus but let me know how u like that JQ
__________________
Xray XB4 | Ko-Propo | Savox | Hobbywing | SpeedPassion | JC |

Kyosho RB6 | Ko-Propo | Futaba | Turnigy | Orion | JC |

AE T4.2 | Ko-Propo | Savox | Turnigy | ProTek | JC |
NitroXray80809 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 11:16 PM   #14
Tech Elite
 
English365's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 3,154
Trader Rating: 128 (100%+)
Default



My old D8Tand D8
__________________
Kyosho America~Thunder Power~Team Orion~KO PROPO~AKA
Mikes Hobby Shop...TeamTreeTop!
English365 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 11:48 PM   #15
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: 10 mins West of Fear Farm- Arizona!
Posts: 963
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

looks like regardless I will have to drill my shock tower. even with the Losi mounts you still need to drill the shock tower for them to work. So I might as well just use the stock D8T mounts...I dont see any advantage to using the Losi mounts...or am I missing something here?
__________________
Losi TEN-SCTE 4WD
fourseventeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:31 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net