R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Old 12-15-2010, 10:38 PM   #1
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default What Motor, controller & servo's to buy

I am a novice and just purchased a new D8T roller kit...my first RC in about 6 years. I need to buy a motor (.21), pipe, RX/TX and servo's. I dont want to spend a fortune. Looking to spend about $500 TOPS on new stuff but will consider lightly used like new condition stuff as well if I can find it here or on ebay. I was looking at either the Airtronics MX-Sport or MX-3X...will I notice a big difference between those 2 controllers for offroad use? I am trying to decide if its worth the 60-70.00 price increase for the Mx-3X. Or is there something better for under 150?
Whats the hype with these LIPO batteries? Do I need to run anything special to use these in the truck and controller?
Motor I have been told to get either a Werks B5 or a Alpha green or red .21...what do you guys think the best motor is keeping it in the 200 price range. I plan to run the outdoor 1/8 nitro tracks here in AZ...Nitro Pit and Fear Farm.
And which pipe with the motor you choose?
And lastly....Servo's. Which brand and model would you recommend using? I want something good but keep in mind I am not a professional racer (obviously or I wouldnt be asking LOL).
Oh yeah and I need batteries and a starter box I THINK? lol. Yeah I told you I havent had a truck in a long time.
Anything else im forgetting? I appreciate your time guys!
Old 12-15-2010, 11:21 PM   #2
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default Ok

Novarossi .21 3 port.

http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...-Standard-Plug
Airtronics MX-3X
http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...92744-Receiver
Steering servo.
http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...-Digital-Servo
throttle
http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...-Digital-Servo

Pipe
http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...-Hard-Anodized
Old 12-15-2010, 11:44 PM   #3
Tech Elite