R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-14-2010, 11:37 AM   #1
Tech Adept
 
dave-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 248
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default Starter Box Question

I am having an issue with my starter box. The motor works fine if you wire it directly but it won't work when you push down on the car. I took a piece of sandpaper to both contacts on the pins(?). Could it possibly be the on/off switch? The on/off switch lights up but maybe isn't allowing the power to the motor?

I hope this makes sense. I am new to the whole starter box idea.
dave-man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 12:02 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sugar Land, TX
Posts: 1,169
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

If you bypass the power switch and wire direct to the motor, then press down on the box, does it work? If it does, probably a bad switch. You can get one that will work at the auto parts store. If the pressure switch (the part you push down) doesn't work even when the power switch is bypassed, try this:

Loosen the screws that hold the box lid in place and lift the lid and look inside. You should see 2 posts attached to the pressure switch with a piece of metal on the end of the posts. When you push down, they make contact with the metal pieces below them. I've had several get bent from use and stop making contact. Push the pressure switch down and see if they make contact. If they don't, bend the lower pieces back up until they do when you depress the switch. Also a good time to make sure you don't have a loose wire somewhere.
cjtamu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 12:10 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 3,644
Default

Those switches go bad at some point. They actully melt. I will always run a off/on switch. go down to radio shack and grab on and replace.
__________________
TLR - Spektrum - Horizon - TLR 8ight 4.0 - TLR 8ight-T 4.0 - TLR 22 4.0 - Orion
token is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 12:28 PM   #4
Tech Adept
 
dave-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 248
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cjtamu View Post
If you bypass the power switch and wire direct to the motor, then press down on the box, does it work? If it does, probably a bad switch. You can get one that will work at the auto parts store. If the pressure switch (the part you push down) doesn't work even when the power switch is bypassed, try this:

Loosen the screws that hold the box lid in place and lift the lid and look inside. You should see 2 posts attached to the pressure switch with a piece of metal on the end of the posts. When you push down, they make contact with the metal pieces below them. I've had several get bent from use and stop making contact. Push the pressure switch down and see if they make contact. If they don't, bend the lower pieces back up until they do when you depress the switch. Also a good time to make sure you don't have a loose wire somewhere.

I know the posts are making contact. I have everything apart and can see that they are definitely touching. I even sanded them lightly to make better contact.

I will try a new switch. Shouldn't be more than a few dollars.
dave-man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 01:28 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sugar Land, TX
Posts: 1,169
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Sounds like either the switch or wiring coming off the contacts somewhere. Check all your wiring and make sure nothing is broken or loose.
cjtamu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 06:31 PM   #6
Tech Adept
 
dave-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 248
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Well, it's fixed. Not sure what I did. I put a new switch on it and it worked. I then put the old switch on it and it worked as well. Must have been a loose wire.

Anyway, thanks for the help!
dave-man is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Starter box question??? Tate72 Nitro Off-Road 24 10-03-2009 08:29 AM
losi starter box question losi_racer Nitro Off-Road 15 05-21-2009 06:20 PM
DM-one or GT2... + starter box question - want your input! ScudMan Nitro On-Road 48 11-05-2008 07:54 PM
ofna chrome top starter box question svo Nitro Off-Road 17 05-07-2008 04:40 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:53 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net