R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-08-2010, 07:21 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
hookem34's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Texas.....Y'all!
Posts: 1,793
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default How to use Droop Blocks (sounds simple, right)?

I just recently purchased the 1/8 Hudy setup station, second hand (aka no manual and I have gone to Hudy's webiste but not found any helpful info).

My question is, how do you use the droop blocks? I know you place them under the chassis, but then what?

The ride height of my truggy is greater than the height of the blocks(30mm) so do I need to reduce the ride height of my truggy to ensure I have a 30 mm droop at all four axles before I set toe and camber?

Thanks!
hookem34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 07:31 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
johnny t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,289
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

push down on the chassis so it rests on the blocks. it is just for a Consistent reference mark.

Or don't use them and rely on your working ride height. as I and others do. No "correct" way, as long it is the same way every time.
johnny t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 08:54 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
jpalessi's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 4,747
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to jpalessi Send a message via Skype™ to jpalessi
Default Ride Height.

This is the best way imo. If your blocks are only 30mm i would say they were intended to be used with buggies only. i would p/u the losi gauge, its a nice little unit and its easy to use.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BWvdzIjiBvc
__________________
Joe Alessi
www.Lucky7RC.com
jpalessi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 09:05 PM   #4
Tech Champion
 
Tony Newland's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Utah
Posts: 5,764
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

He's talking about droop blocks not ride height

Take your tires off your truggy, and set the droop blocks on something flat preferrably a setup board and place your chassis on top of them. Then what you'll do is use a ride height guage to measure from the bottom of your hex hubs (flat spot) to the flat surface. In onroad this a common and crucial adjustment. Offroad not so much. we usually adjust droop by the length of the shocks. But that can be inconsistent as well. so this you could use to match side to side droop adjustments.

ride height is a completely separate adjustment to droop
__________________
Schumacher Factory Team - Core RC - Highest Servos - Avid - Lunsford - Bellgate Distributors - Jconcepts - www.Prime-hobby.com - IRCR

Last edited by Tony Newland; 09-08-2010 at 10:37 PM.
Tony Newland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 09:57 PM   #5
Tech Regular
 
secretsg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 470
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

There you go.

http://www.hudy.net/xhudy/showfile.p...252739b1ad8c24
secretsg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 07:12 AM   #6
Tech Master
 
pickle311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,650
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

As much as I dislike their products, Integy makes a better droop gauge for the truggy. The blocks hold it at 60mm so there's plenty of clearance then use the gauge to measure how far the wheel hexes sit below the chassis.
The Hudy works the same way, but the 30mm blocks really aren't tall enough.
pickle311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 06:08 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
hookem34's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Texas.....Y'all!
Posts: 1,793
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pickle311 View Post
As much as I dislike their products, Integy makes a better droop gauge for the truggy. The blocks hold it at 60mm so there's plenty of clearance then use the gauge to measure how far the wheel hexes sit below the chassis.
The Hudy works the same way, but the 30mm blocks really aren't tall enough.
Pickle do you have a link to the 60mm blocks? I can not find them on the Integy website.
hookem34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 06:14 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
jpalessi's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 4,747
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to jpalessi Send a message via Skype™ to jpalessi
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony Newland View Post
He's talking about droop blocks not ride height

Take your tires off your truggy, and set the droop blocks on something flat preferrably a setup board and place your chassis on top of them. Then what you'll do is use a ride height guage to measure from the bottom of your hex hubs (flat spot) to the flat surface. In onroad this a common and crucial adjustment. Offroad not so much. we usually adjust droop by the length of the shocks. But that can be inconsistent as well. so this you could use to match side to side droop adjustments.

ride height is a completely separate adjustment to droop
OOPS. MY BAD. yea i measure my droop from screw center to screw center on the shocks. Tony's way with the RH gauge sounds good tho imma try that.
__________________
Joe Alessi
www.Lucky7RC.com
jpalessi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 08:52 PM   #9
Tech Champion
 
Tony Newland's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Utah
Posts: 5,764
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jpalessi View Post
OOPS. MY BAD. yea i measure my droop from screw center to screw center on the shocks. Tony's way with the RH gauge sounds good tho imma try that.
Its interesting to do if your bored..... sometimes you can match shocks but the droop still isnt "square". wear, bent chassis and bent hinge pins will change droop some.
__________________
Schumacher Factory Team - Core RC - Highest Servos - Avid - Lunsford - Bellgate Distributors - Jconcepts - www.Prime-hobby.com - IRCR
Tony Newland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 09:19 PM   #10
Tech Master
 
pickle311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,650
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hookem34 View Post
Pickle do you have a link to the 60mm blocks? I can not find them on the Integy website.
http://www.integy.com/st_prod.html?p...11&p_catid=163

This is the one I have. I'll have it with me in Harlingen this weekend if you are going. Just come find me and I'll show you how I measure and let you use it if you need to.
pickle311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:59 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net