R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Old 08-23-2010, 03:27 PM   #1
Tech Master

Send a message via AIM to nmt6789
Default Idle hangs high and surges?

I am not new to R/Cs but I am new to nitro. I have a Losi 8ight-T with the 454 engine. I have been trying to tune it and I can't get it to idle right. When I start it, it will idle but when I rev it up, the idle stays high and surges. Can anybody give me an idea of what I am doing wrong?
nmt6789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 03:32 PM   #2
Tech Prophet

R/C Tech Elite Subscriber

Trader Rating: 91 (100%+)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nmt6789 View Post
I am not new to R/Cs but I am new to nitro. I have a Losi 8ight-T with the 454 engine. I have been trying to tune it and I can't get it to idle right. When I start it, it will idle but when I rev it up, the idle stays high and surges. Can anybody give me an idea of what I am doing wrong?
Surging is caused by inconsistent fuel pressures , check all fuel lines , pipe , tank and such . Try richening both needles a little to see if you can get a consistent idle before changing everything

Hope this helps ,
Monty
TEAM FUSION X ENGINES / TEAM BYRON ORIGINALS / TEAM PROLINE RACING TIRES / TEAM SICK GRAPHICS /TEAM KYOSHO / things I support: COMP HEAT DEALER /TEAM LUNSFORD/ FUSIONX™ USA / TEAM KYOSHO / "H.E.S."™ / BYRON FUELS / RC-OMGUSA/KICWEBDESIGNZ/AKA TIRES/PROLINE RACING TIRES /RAYA RACING/BUKU POWER CLUTCH/M2CRACING/special thanks to STAV and JIM HOTTIGREENMOUNTAINGRILLS.COM
houston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 03:35 PM   #3
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 114 (100%+)

I wonder if by surging he means the noise and pulsating you get when the LSN is too lean? Or Maybe it's high enough to be engaging and releasing the clutch?
2fst2c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 03:53 PM   #4
Tech Addict