R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-14-2010, 01:05 AM   #1
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Some where
Posts: 3,015
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default Quick Question Fellas

I recently got a Top bf(novarossi) and it had an untuneable carb so I tried to take it out and replace it with a standard nova one(to add venturi's) no luck there either..well I found an old Go tech case and swapped everything over...but now the compression is so tight it can pop the headbutton out. will this work? I mean it's awfully hard to turn over now(it was good before but now it's outrageous) any quick help would be great

thanks,
jayson
__________________
T5M 7.5
22 3.0 7.5
SickWitiTRacing(Jayson)
NitroLuver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 01:12 AM   #2
Tech Elite
 
NitroXray80809's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Bakersfield, California
Posts: 3,249
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NitroLuver View Post
I recently got a Top bf(novarossi) and it had an untuneable carb so I tried to take it out and replace it with a standard nova one(to add venturi's) no luck there either..well I found an old Go tech case and swapped everything over...but now the compression is so tight it can pop the headbutton out. will this work? I mean it's awfully hard to turn over now(it was good before but now it's outrageous) any quick help would be great

thanks,
jayson
never heard of swaping the 2 but with most if not all engine new wont just turn over with out heating them up, get a blow dryier or heat gun(preferable heat gun its much faster) and heat the engine to about 170ish and then it will be way easier for it to crank over.
__________________
Xray XB4 | Ko-Propo | Savox | Hobbywing | SpeedPassion | JC |

Kyosho RB6 | Ko-Propo | Futaba | Turnigy | Orion | JC |

AE T4.2 | Ko-Propo | Savox | Turnigy | ProTek | JC |
NitroXray80809 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 07:19 AM   #3
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Some where
Posts: 3,015
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

it's not new though lol...it's got like 2 gallons on it..compression was not like that in the old case but when in the go case it's so much it actually pushes the sleeve back down...I think it won't work and i have taken it apart
__________________
T5M 7.5
22 3.0 7.5
SickWitiTRacing(Jayson)
NitroLuver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 10:44 AM   #4
Tech Lord
 
Jaz240's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dwindle city
Posts: 12,492
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

did you lose any of the head shims when you did the swap?
__________________
nothing to see here................................
Jaz240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 11:26 AM   #5
Tech Elite
 
NitroXray80809's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Bakersfield, California
Posts: 3,249
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NitroLuver View Post
it's not new though lol...it's got like 2 gallons on it..compression was not like that in the old case but when in the go case it's so much it actually pushes the sleeve back down...I think it won't work and i have taken it apart
I dont think GO and Nova have the same case specs to swap, The only engines ove heard os swapping between each other are 0.s v-spec to ninja, ninja to speed and v-spec to speed and a sirio evo and werks b5. I dont think this will work if GO is italian it might.
__________________
Xray XB4 | Ko-Propo | Savox | Hobbywing | SpeedPassion | JC |

Kyosho RB6 | Ko-Propo | Futaba | Turnigy | Orion | JC |

AE T4.2 | Ko-Propo | Savox | Turnigy | ProTek | JC |
NitroXray80809 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 02:51 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
Rcrenew's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3,006
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

+1 I dont think those cases are interchangeable, and if your engine feels different like that with more compression it means, something is off. The sleeve most likey sits lower in the crankcase, raising compression ratio and letting hte piston go past its normal TDC. hope this helps.

Lance,
Rcrenew.com
__________________
RcRenew.com engines, modding and rebuilding
http://www.rcrenew.com/

Triton RC- Ultra high performance racing engines
http://www.tritonrc.com/
Rcrenew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 03:07 PM   #7
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,781
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rcrenew View Post
The sleeve most likey sits lower in the crankcase, raising compression ratio and letting hte piston go past its normal TDC.
That's what it sounds like to me too. Sleeve is sitting lower so piston is coming up higher.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ryde it like you stole it: the Ryde Drivers thread. old_skoolie Australian Racing 22936 08-14-2017 04:25 AM
1/10th pan car Taz_S Oval, Larger Scales and More 16138 09-25-2014 09:03 AM
New Hot Bodies Buggy!!??????? monsteraddict Nitro Off-Road 14489 03-18-2013 01:42 PM
Mugen MTX-3 university_dave Nitro On-Road 17237 12-30-2012 12:16 PM
Courtney Marine Corps Base Off-Road Track Okinawa Japan YDBD Track Locator Forum 922 03-20-2010 02:53 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:35 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net