R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-13-2010, 03:46 AM   #1
Tech Master
 
BLKNOTCH's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ajax, Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,024
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to BLKNOTCH
Default RC Setup Guild video by Squirrelod

These may already be posted up but I found them to be very helpful and well done, I wanted to share again as Squirrelod has done an amazing job creating these for us the hobbiest.

Enjoy
Sean

+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.

+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.

+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.

+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.

+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.

+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.

+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.

+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.

+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.

+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.

+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.

+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.

+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.

+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.

+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.

+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.

+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.

+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.

+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.

+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.

+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.
__________________
HB/HPI Racing | Morgan Fuels | HOBBYWING | Airtronics | REDS Racing | HRP | Hobby Revolution | Team N.E.R.D.
BLKNOTCH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 05:06 AM   #2
Tech Master
 
nickdawg18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Granite City, IL
Posts: 1,696
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

i vote for sticky!!!
nickdawg18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 05:41 AM   #3
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,872
Default

the brake video was really helpfull ! i never thought about that way.
tc5 man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 05:45 AM   #4
Tech Regular
 
jeff_ellis_9's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Grover, NC
Posts: 418
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default changing shock oil help

I understand you have to dump your old oil, but do you just put new oil in or do you have to clean out the shock body? Any good informational site or even a video for changing shock oils?

I did have a very informative web site a How To on changing the oil, but I had to clean sweep my PC and lost the link. Thanks
__________________
Team Losi Buggy
GO Tech 5 port RB Mods
AKA
HiTec
Spektrum DX3S
jeff_ellis_9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 05:49 AM   #5
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,872
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff_ellis_9 View Post
I understand you have to dump your old oil, but do you just put new oil in or do you have to clean out the shock body? Any good informational site or even a video for changing shock oils?

I did have a very informative web site a How To on changing the oil, but I had to clean sweep my PC and lost the link. Thanks


i dump out the old shock oil, and clean out the shock body with simple green or something else. you want to make sure, there is no dirt at all in the shock body.
tc5 man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 10:32 AM   #6
Tech Master
 
8ight-racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA
Posts: 1,087
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tc5 man View Post
i dump out the old shock oil, and clean out the shock body with simple green or something else. you want to make sure, there is no dirt at all in the shock body.
Dump the old oil, fill it with new unless you want to change the o rings. I clean the o rings every other time I refill the shocks just to clean everything up, but for the most part if you get all the old oil out there will be air bubbles at the bottom below the piston. So I leave a little in there.
__________________
Palm Desert R/C Raceway - www.palmdesertrcraceway.com

JQ Products, Pro-Line, TKO, Buku, Werks Fuel, Savox, A Main Hobbies, and Uncle Don's Hobbies
8ight-racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 11:00 AM   #7
Tech Fanatic
 
jwm2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 823
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Dump, refill, bleed, move on.
jwm2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 11:04 AM   #8
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,872
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 8ight-racer View Post
Dump the old oil, fill it with new unless you want to change the o rings. I clean the o rings every other time I refill the shocks just to clean everything up, but for the most part if you get all the old oil out there will be air bubbles at the bottom below the piston. So I leave a little in there.


yea i refill it with new oil even, though i should clean the o-rings or change them when i do it.
tc5 man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 11:06 AM   #9
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,872
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jwm2 View Post
Dump, refill, bleed, move on.

you can do that but if theres, a little dirt on the o-rings sometimes it can cause a bind or a butch of air bubbles. that you cant get rid of inless you clean off the o-rings
tc5 man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 11:15 AM   #10
Tech Master
 
MikeFriery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,368
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

you really don't want to clean o-rings.. either replace them or leave them with dirt on them.. Motor spray causes them to swell up.. and everything else doesn't do much.
__________________
AKA / RedRock Hobbies / Shuurspeed
MikeFriery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 11:23 AM   #11
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,872
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeFriery View Post
you really don't want to clean o-rings.. either replace them or leave them with dirt on them.. Motor spray causes them to swell up.. and everything else doesn't do much.


i dont use motor spray on, the o-rings i already know what happens to them
i use a little bit of simple green or just replace them.
tc5 man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 11:31 AM   #12
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,872
Default

now about the ride he was, showing in the video he must have new front springs or something to get the front arms level. on the eight-t because i can never get my arms even, inless i really crank down on the collers than it makes it too high.
tc5 man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 01:53 PM   #13
Tech Master
 
8ight-racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA
Posts: 1,087
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tc5 man View Post
now about the ride he was, showing in the video he must have new front springs or something to get the front arms level. on the eight-t because i can never get my arms even, inless i really crank down on the collers than it makes it too high.
Don't go by 'arms level', 'just below level', its too inconsistent. Buy the Losi ride height gauge and do set it that way, since Losi's are sensitive to ride height.
__________________
Palm Desert R/C Raceway - www.palmdesertrcraceway.com

JQ Products, Pro-Line, TKO, Buku, Werks Fuel, Savox, A Main Hobbies, and Uncle Don's Hobbies
8ight-racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 02:10 PM   #14
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,872
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 8ight-racer View Post
Don't go by 'arms level', 'just below level', its too inconsistent. Buy the Losi ride height gauge and do set it that way, since Losi's are sensitive to ride height.


i have the losi ride height gauge, the front is about 35 mm when i drop the truggy off a flat table. and the rear is level, with a little bit of preload but without the arms sagging and there level.

i do wonder why losi made the front end that way ?

yea i have tried higher and , lower ride heights on the losi so i know there sensitive to ride height.

belive it or not on the, 1.0 buggy and truggy on a rough track they handle better with the front a bit higher, and the rear lower i know thats weird but it worker for me.
tc5 man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 04:01 PM   #15
Tech Master
 
pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Hills, CA
Posts: 1,283
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tc5 man View Post
i have the losi ride height gauge, the front is about 35 mm when i drop the truggy off a flat table. and the rear is level, with a little bit of preload but without the arms sagging and there level.

i do wonder why losi made the front end that way ?

yea i have tried higher and , lower ride heights on the losi so i know there sensitive to ride height.

belive it or not on the, 1.0 buggy and truggy on a rough track they handle better with the front a bit higher, and the rear lower i know thats weird but it worker for me.
I hope you're not measuring the ride height from the kick-up. You have to measure it from behind the kick up where the chassis is flat.
__________________
Jesse Carrillo
Team Driver For:
TLR | Horizon Hobby | Nitrotane | Spektrum | HandleITHobbies | 818 Designs
pyromania is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:47 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net