R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-22-2010, 07:14 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: southeastern ohio
Posts: 375
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default do I need to switch to lipo

I've been running a 1600 and 1900 nimh hump packs. I've never had any trouble with them, but I've entered my first big race and I'll probably be in either a 45 or 30 minute main.

I'm adding a 7955 servo and an rc4 transponder to the mix. Both are going to use more juice then what I was using before. Am I going to be able to run long mains with just normal Nimh packs, or am I going to have to make the switch to lipo? I really don't want to switch, but if lipo is really needed I can.

And if I can stick with Nimh packs do I need to go bigger then 1900?
bevofrancis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 07:20 PM   #2
Tech Adept
 
dandrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San francisco, ca
Posts: 248
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

no need to switch. if you have a fresh nimh for the mian you will be fine.
dandrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 07:21 PM   #3
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: southeastern ohio
Posts: 375
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dandrat View Post
no need to switch. if you have a fresh nimh for the mian you will be fine.
That's what I wanted to hear.
bevofrancis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 07:22 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
Quad Racer 34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: OHIO
Posts: 2,973
Trader Rating: 4 (83%+)
Default

They should last. I just got a Reedy lipo pack. I ran about 10 min in practice then 3 qualifiers and decided to top it off before the main and it only charged less than 400mah. It's nice having the lipo in there. You might want a regulator as well.
__________________
Dylan Gerard

Serpent - Desoto Racing - Picco - AKA - Hitec - RC Addictions Products - Tekin - VRP - Avid RC - SMC - MIP - SkipGear - The Ohio RC Factory
Quad Racer 34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 07:26 PM   #5
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: southeastern ohio
Posts: 375
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quad Racer 34 View Post
They should last. I just got a Reedy lipo pack. I ran about 10 min in practice then 3 qualifiers and decided to top it off before the main and it only charged less than 400mah. It's nice having the lipo in there. You might want a regulator as well.
If I went lipo what all do I need? I don't know anything about them.
bevofrancis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 07:37 PM   #6
Tech Addict
 
DezSlash's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 512
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

You'll need the lipo, a regulator and a compatible charger. I use a common sense rx battery and the reedy regulator. I have 2 hyperion charges that i maintain all the batteries with.
__________________
Companies I support
Hot Bodies*Futaba*Novarossi*JConcepts*Hitec*Upgrade Rc*Kalgard*Sidewinder Fuel*Dialed
Arcor Raceway
DezSlash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 07:39 PM   #7
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: southeastern ohio
Posts: 375
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Is this all I would need to go lipo.
http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...0C-74V-2100mAh
http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...tor-w-o-Switch
http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...ng-Bag-23x30cm
http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...rger-4S-6A-80W

I wasn't sure about a bag, but it seems like I read that tracks are starting to require lipo charging in in a bag.
bevofrancis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 07:42 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
Quad Racer 34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: OHIO
Posts: 2,973
Trader Rating: 4 (83%+)
Default

Those are what you need. I'm not sure about the bag for the state race. I haven't heard anything about needing them. But that lipo is good. Muchmoore has a regulator for 15 bucks. Little cheaper than that losi one.

this one. I have it works good.
http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...tage-Regulator
__________________
Dylan Gerard

Serpent - Desoto Racing - Picco - AKA - Hitec - RC Addictions Products - Tekin - VRP - Avid RC - SMC - MIP - SkipGear - The Ohio RC Factory
Quad Racer 34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 07:43 PM   #9
Tech Addict
 
DezSlash's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 512
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

I dont use a bag for the rx battery since i charge it in the car. Most of the time i charge the nite before. i use this regulator.
http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...tage-Regulator
__________________
Companies I support
Hot Bodies*Futaba*Novarossi*JConcepts*Hitec*Upgrade Rc*Kalgard*Sidewinder Fuel*Dialed
Arcor Raceway
DezSlash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 07:47 PM   #10
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: southeastern ohio
Posts: 375
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DezSlash View Post
I dont use a bag for the rx battery since i charge it in the car. Most of the time i charge the nite before. i use this regulator.
http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...tage-Regulator
That's the one I looked at but it's out of stock. I hate to mix a losi regulator with an associated battery. Losi might try and sabotage me, but that's the only other cheap one I seen.
bevofrancis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 07:49 PM   #11
Tech Adept
 
dandrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San francisco, ca
Posts: 248
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

you can still run nimh, can switch to lipo or run LIFE which is probably better. your choice of course.
dandrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 07:57 PM   #12
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 614
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

I run nimh and ran a 30 min main with a fresh 1600mah. No Problem. Using JR 9100s and T and an amb transponder.
bacchus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 08:04 PM   #13
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: southeastern ohio
Posts: 375
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dandrat View Post
you can still run nimh, can switch to lipo or run LIFE which is probably better. your choice of course.
I'm just kind of checking out my options, and seeing how much it would cost to make the switch. It's looking like it's a pretty expensive switch. I'll peobably stick with what I have for now. Maybe do some testing this weekend and see how long i can run non stop before my 1900 dies.
bevofrancis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 08:13 PM   #14
Tech Elite
 
Quad Racer 34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: OHIO
Posts: 2,973
Trader Rating: 4 (83%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bevofrancis View Post
I'm just kind of checking out my options, and seeing how much it would cost to make the switch. It's looking like it's a pretty expensive switch. I'll peobably stick with what I have for now. Maybe do some testing this weekend and see how long i can run non stop before my 1900 dies.
Make sure you have a strong throttle return spring if you are going to run it till it dies!
__________________
Dylan Gerard

Serpent - Desoto Racing - Picco - AKA - Hitec - RC Addictions Products - Tekin - VRP - Avid RC - SMC - MIP - SkipGear - The Ohio RC Factory
Quad Racer 34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 08:22 PM   #15
Tech Fanatic
 
Cory Kerber's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 769
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bevofrancis View Post
I'm just kind of checking out my options, and seeing how much it would cost to make the switch. It's looking like it's a pretty expensive switch. I'll peobably stick with what I have for now. Maybe do some testing this weekend and see how long i can run non stop before my 1900 dies.
If you're running dual 7955's you can run unregulated lipo. Unless you're running the FASST radio system.
__________________
Losi 8ight-Novarossi N21R-Hitec Servos-AKA-M11 Spektrum
*TEAM TERRIBLES*
Cory Kerber is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switch to LiPO, hot motor mfs Radio and Electronics 7 04-13-2010 06:08 PM
Bout to buy a slash. What kind of batteries do I need jfd152 Electric Off-Road 7 11-20-2009 07:00 AM
Most cost effective way to switch to lipo? xlgraphicspro Nitro Off-Road 6 05-21-2008 06:40 AM
Making the switch to lipo Tree Nitro Off-Road 15 04-11-2008 10:25 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:44 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net