R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-02-2010, 11:28 AM   #1
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 44
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default what happened to my tune?

i was running my truck the other day, (mach .26) and my high speed needle was set about 2.125 turns out. its been this way for a long time and ran great. however just like someone threw a light switch it ran extremely rich almost to the point where it wouldn't run. at full throttle it wouldn't even move. this happend immediately. i ended up turning the hsn in a full turn to get it to run good again. now its only a little over 1 turn out. what could have happened? i pulled the needle to see if it broke off or something, but everything looks good.
any input? thanks
joejo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 11:33 AM   #2
Tech Elite
 
jpalessi's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 4,747
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to jpalessi Send a message via Skype™ to jpalessi
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joejo View Post
i was running my truck the other day, (mach .26) and my high speed needle was set about 2.125 turns out. its been this way for a long time and ran great. however just like someone threw a light switch it ran extremely rich almost to the point where it wouldn't run. at full throttle it wouldn't even move. this happend immediately. i ended up turning the hsn in a full turn to get it to run good again. now its only a little over 1 turn out. what could have happened? i pulled the needle to see if it broke off or something, but everything looks good.
any input? thanks
replace your glow plug with the same plug that came out and put your HSN back to where it was. problem solved.
__________________
Joe Alessi
www.Lucky7RC.com
jpalessi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 11:41 AM   #3
Tech Elite
 
deadmancourt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Menifee,Ca
Posts: 2,486
Trader Rating: 11 (92%+)
Default

or your motor is finally broke in now!...back the HSN out about a full turn and lean the LSN about a half a turn and see what happens!...would a glow plug all of a sudden make a motor run rich?...usually if they are bad they dont let the motor run!
__________________
Rob Schneider
Special Thanks To:
S&W Fuel~Agama Usa/HobbyProUsa.com
RcRenew.com and TritonRc.com~Lucky7~Eazyrc.com
Venom-Group~Upgrade-Rc and TrackstarRc.com
deadmancourt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 11:52 AM   #4
Tech Elite
 
jpalessi's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 4,747
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to jpalessi Send a message via Skype™ to jpalessi
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deadmancourt View Post
or your motor is finally broke in now!...back the HSN out about a full turn and lean the LSN about a half a turn and see what happens!...would a glow plug all of a sudden make a motor run rich?...usually if they are bad they dont let the motor run!
nope. plug go bad all the time and still glow. I see this happen all the time. OR here is one better! I bet you didnt know your glow plug gets its heat range from the initial glow of your glow starter. Meaning your plug runs off the initial glow it gets from your starter, SO guess what happens if your starter is almost dead? weak initial glow, resulting in what seems like a super cold plug..


Just because you plug glows in the starter in your hand, does not mean its still good.
__________________
Joe Alessi
www.Lucky7RC.com
jpalessi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 12:22 PM   #5
Tech Lord
 
Jaz240's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dwindle city
Posts: 12,492
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jpalessi View Post
nope. plug go bad all the time and still glow. I see this happen all the time. OR here is one better! I bet you didnt know your glow plug gets its heat range from the initial glow of your glow starter. Meaning your plug runs off the initial glow it gets from your starter, SO guess what happens if your starter is almost dead? weak initial glow, resulting in what seems like a super cold plug..


Just because you plug glows in the starter in your hand, does not mean its still good.
I have seen this discussion before Joe and some people claim that the combustion is what keeps the plug hot while others agree with you. I would love to know the truth
__________________
nothing to see here................................
Jaz240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 12:38 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
jpalessi's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 4,747
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to jpalessi Send a message via Skype™ to jpalessi
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaz240 View Post
I have seen this discussion before Joe and some people claim that the combustion is what keeps the plug hot while others agree with you. I would love to know the truth
I wouldn't post that if it wasn't a fact.
__________________
Joe Alessi
www.Lucky7RC.com
jpalessi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 02:24 PM   #7
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 44
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jpalessi View Post
replace your glow plug with the same plug that came out and put your HSN back to where it was. problem solved.

never hear of a plug causing this but thanks alot i'll try it.


Quote:
Originally Posted by deadmancourt View Post
or your motor is finally broke in now!...back the HSN out about a full turn and lean the LSN about a half a turn and see what happens!...would a glow plug all of a sudden make a motor run rich?...usually if they are bad they dont let the motor run!
nah. it has about 2 gallons through it. i did try the needle adjustments you posted though before i read this with no improvement. thanks though
joejo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 04:28 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,657
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joejo View Post
i was running my truck the other day, (mach .26) and my high speed needle was set about 2.125 turns out. its been this way for a long time and ran great. however just like someone threw a light switch it ran extremely rich almost to the point where it wouldn't run. at full throttle it wouldn't even move. this happend immediately. i ended up turning the hsn in a full turn to get it to run good again. now its only a little over 1 turn out. what could have happened? i pulled the needle to see if it broke off or something, but everything looks good.
any input? thanks
finally some one else is having the same problem!!!! I have had this problem for a couple weeks now and i am about to give up, pack up and go electric (actually i am getting stuff together for electric conv). all three motors i have all the sudden they all started running ridiculously rich. I had to do the same thing, lean it, lean it, and lean it some more. Leaned it till the lsn was less then 2 turns out, same with hsn. DIdnt matter how rich or lean i tunned. It would always go to a heavy bog a die. I have changed P/S and rods, engines, pipes, plugs, nitro. The only thing i have not changed is the fuel tank. There are no bubbles what so ever. And there is not a airleak.

I have a pretty old ignitor (actually the first one i have ever had), It's the black ofna one, and the plugs are good.

It almost acts like it has a stretched or bent rod (well almost like that but add a terrible, terrible idle), but the rods are new. It's almost like someone put water in my fuel bottle. I am done with it.

I am holding out hope, that if i put a new plug with a new ignitor it will solve the problem. If not, i am done.
__________________
"You are not understanding the fundamental principles of my fragmented personality"

Mugen
dreaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 04:35 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,657
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

to the O.P., your problem does sound like a stretched rod. I had that happen before and replaced the rod and problem solved. But in my situation, it won't even stay running unless i have the throtle open some what. I have to set my trim like 6 ticks open to keep it running On every motor i have. And that is with a fairly wide idle gap.
__________________
"You are not understanding the fundamental principles of my fragmented personality"

Mugen
dreaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 04:37 PM   #10
Tech Regular
 
RUNNINONMT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: YOUR MOMS HOUSE
Posts: 345
Default

try changing your air filter maybe too much oil.
RUNNINONMT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 05:27 PM   #11
Tech Master
 
KWT-NITRO's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Kuwait
Posts: 1,616
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

check your pipe tip, it might be bent. had this happened to me once, a guy hit me from the side, the tip was bent and boom, the engine became rich immedietly.

Also the airfilter as Runninonmt said.
__________________
Team Kuwait, Team Terribles, www.rccck.org
Kuwait National Champion
FEMCA Truggy Finalist & FEMCA Buggy Semi-Finalist
Thanks to all my sponsors: Modelix/Ultimate Racing, AKA Racing, AVID Racing, Stick-it1 Racing and HES
KWT-NITRO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 05:44 PM   #12
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 44
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dreaux View Post
to the O.P., your problem does sound like a stretched rod. I had that happen before and replaced the rod and problem solved. But in my situation, it won't even stay running unless i have the throtle open some what. I have to set my trim like 6 ticks open to keep it running On every motor i have. And that is with a fairly wide idle gap.
mine runs great though as long as i have it "leaned out" based on the needle position. however it still blows blue smoke like its normal. nor does it overheat.
joejo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 05:46 PM   #13
Tech Elite
 
Marcus Falconie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,462
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default fuel pressure

It could also be your exaust gaskets on your motor or your pipe or a broken fuel line or exaust pressure line most of the time this will cause your motor to go lean because of the lack of pressure but I have seen it cause the motor to just act bad. When ever I have a sudden tune issue and it is not the plug like Joe says I would start to look for pressure leaks.
__________________
Marcus Falconieri
2011 Xray 808
Torco Racing Fuels
KBRL Nitro Series
www.youtube.com/gsadvanced
Marcus Falconie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 05:46 PM   #14
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 44
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RUNNINONMT View Post
try changing your air filter maybe too much oil.
just cleaned it off. i'll see how it is tomorrow with the new plug and cleaned air filter. i need to fix the steering servo horn first though.
joejo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 05:48 PM   #15
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 44
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcus Falconie View Post
It could also be your exaust gaskets on your motor or your pipe or a broken fuel line or exaust pressure line most of the time this will cause your motor to go lean because of the lack of pressure but I have seen it cause the motor to just act bad. When ever I have a sudden tune issue and it is not the plug like Joe says I would start to look for pressure leaks.
if i just plug the fuel to carb line and blow in the pressure line, can i diagnose a pressure leak properly this way?
joejo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Team Associated B44. Race, Tune and Modify Shadows Electric Off-Road 6171 08-09-2015 07:32 AM
my ninja/vspec experiment, you might be surprised! dreaux Offroad Nitro Engine Forum 227 04-22-2013 10:57 AM
Share your biggest duh or what was I thinking Saber186 Nitro Off-Road 145 07-01-2010 06:55 PM
had a runaway, now what? jeff_ellis_9 Nitro Off-Road 74 06-08-2010 07:41 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:58 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net