Wiki Posts
Search

8ight t 2.0 shock oil

Search this Thread

Old 06-23-2010, 06:51 PM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default 8ight t 2.0 shock oil

I'm running 45wt/55piston in the front and 40wt/56piston in back. I changed from the standard thinking this would allow me alittle more room for error in landing bad jumps. Am i correct in thinking that? I know it makes the truck alittle less responsive. The track i'll be racing on this weekend is loose with a lot of turns and jumps. I can't decide if i want to stay with the 45/40 or go back with the 35/32.5. The fast guys are running the 35/32.5 but i'm no expert so i'm thinking the heavier oil will be easier to drive?!?! I won first in sportsman at the track last time with the 45/40 oil. The race this weekend is big and i'm not sure if i'll run sportsman or expert! What would you do? Help!
Old 06-24-2010, 08:02 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)

45/40 is obviously working for you. I personally wouldn't make that big of a change without testing it before a big race. Stick with what's working for you and try the different setup on a practice day.
Old 06-24-2010, 08:49 AM
Tech Addict

Anyone else offer any help or advice? Am i even correct in thinking the heavier oil will dampen my landings? If so, what does it take away?
Old 06-24-2010, 01:51 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)

Originally Posted by bacchus
Anyone else offer any help or advice? Am i even correct in thinking the heavier oil will dampen my landings? If so, what does it take away?
I will help u out here cause I just did this today. I have a hard pack track with big jumps and loose dirt. My starting point was 37.5f 35r. I went to 45f 42.5r and the Truck was along easier to drive and still felt good in the bumps. I also noticed it rotated alot easier making the car feel very controlable in the slick stuff that u typically slide on. I would try it!!
Old 06-24-2010, 02:01 PM
Tech Addict