R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-17-2010, 11:56 AM   #1
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,657
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default stalling out when the motor gets up to temp.

Is this symptomatic of loss of compression? It really does not idle that good but once it heats up over 200 degree and the idle drops it won't idle at all. Just cuts out. And it's not the tune.

Air leak is possible but i have tried everything. I am more and more convinced that the p/s need a pinch. I can push the piston just barely past tdc pretty easily. Just barely though.
__________________
"You are not understanding the fundamental principles of my fragmented personality"

Mugen
dreaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2010, 12:00 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
ScottyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Miami OK
Posts: 3,149
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

That's what it sounds like to me.. Check you compression when it dies/ won't idle.. I bet it is really easy to spin by hand..
__________________
Scott Musgrave
ScottyM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2010, 12:07 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,657
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by (MRC)Scotty! View Post
That's what it sounds like to me.. Check you compression when it dies/ won't idle.. I bet it is really easy to spin by hand..
yeah, pretty easy. But then it's a vspec so if you have expierience with those motors you know how compression is with it. Having said that it is still easy to turn, even for a o.s. motor.
__________________
"You are not understanding the fundamental principles of my fragmented personality"

Mugen
dreaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2010, 10:42 AM   #4
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Zionsville, IN
Posts: 578
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

I dealt with this a little bit last weekend. It ended up being the fuel tank lid. Engine wanted to keep flaming out and not wanting to idle above about 220. I am assuming that as the temp rose, the pressure inside the gas tank was just enough to break the seal on the tank and flame out. Problem went away when I installed a new fuel tank. Another item to check.
__________________
Axial Wraith
sdtech58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2010, 10:50 AM   #5
Tech Elite
 
portyansky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,979
Trader Rating: 54 (100%+)
Default

You need a pinch. Or a new p/s
__________________
Team Tekno Canadian Team Manager
Team Hitec
portyansky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2010, 10:52 AM   #6
Tech Addict
 
hdcruzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Pittsburg Ca.
Posts: 732
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Also could be a plugged pipe. Went through 3 different tanks,new pressure line, without fail at half a tank it would flame out everytime. Put a different pipe on and havnt had a problem since.
__________________
Ofna Late Model-Losi 350-Losi RE 10-Hobbico CS170s
Coldfusion Fuel
Henchman Racing
hdcruzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2010, 10:53 AM   #7
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 67
Default

dreaux

not freaking you out.

do this. when you encounter this problems. change a new plug. and check the glow. beautiful. after a couple of heats, problems back again. mysterious flame out. check the plug again. dull flame.

if you experience this problem try changing to odonnell plug. it will go away. i have the same damn problem months ago and change up to 3 OS P3 plugs to finish a race.

looks like os have a bad batch of plugs some where out there. in the past the P3 plugs just run and run without issues.
king offroad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2010, 11:23 AM   #8
Tech Regular
 
CKmaxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sask, Canada
Posts: 485
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by portyansky View Post
You need a pinch. Or a new p/s

+1
__________________
Tekno NT48.3 and NB48.4 powered by OS Engines
Tekno ET48.3 powered by Tekin
CKmaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2010, 05:18 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
2fst2c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Martin, MI
Posts: 1,939
Trader Rating: 114 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by king offroad View Post
dreaux

not freaking you out.

do this. when you encounter this problems. change a new plug. and check the glow. beautiful. after a couple of heats, problems back again. mysterious flame out. check the plug again. dull flame.

if you experience this problem try changing to odonnell plug. it will go away. i have the same damn problem months ago and change up to 3 OS P3 plugs to finish a race.

looks like os have a bad batch of plugs some where out there. in the past the P3 plugs just run and run without issues.
Odd, I had the same issue last weekend with my +4. I'm running OD plugs. Changed lines and the plug. Ran great the next qualifier 7 mins. Took it out for the main and flame out after about 5 mins. Happened 2 more times after restarting. Pulled it out of the race and haven't messed with it since.
2fst2c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2010, 05:24 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,657
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2fst2c View Post
Odd, I had the same issue last weekend with my +4. I'm running OD plugs. Changed lines and the plug. Ran great the next qualifier 7 mins. Took it out for the main and flame out after about 5 mins. Happened 2 more times after restarting. Pulled it out of the race and haven't messed with it since.
if it's running great, why change it?
__________________
"You are not understanding the fundamental principles of my fragmented personality"

Mugen
dreaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2010, 06:50 PM   #11
Tech Master
 
2fst2c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Martin, MI
Posts: 1,939
Trader Rating: 114 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dreaux View Post
if it's running great, why change it?
Think you miss read it or I miss typed it.. I had the flame out issue. Then I changed the plug and lines. Then I ran a 7 min qualifier with no problems. Didn't touch it and then in the main it flamed out 3 times.
2fst2c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2010, 06:54 PM   #12
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,657
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2fst2c View Post
Think you miss read it or I miss typed it.. I had the flame out issue. Then I changed the plug and lines. Then I ran a 7 min qualifier with no problems. Didn't touch it and then in the main it flamed out 3 times.
got it.
__________________
"You are not understanding the fundamental principles of my fragmented personality"

Mugen
dreaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2010, 01:42 AM   #13
Tech Master
 
Bigedmond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,837
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

To be honest, it sounds like either a new P/S is needed or possibly a cracked block.
Bigedmond is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SAVAGE - SS, .25, .21 Official Thread! Horatio Monster Trucks 11167 05-15-2017 08:40 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:41 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net