Wiki Posts
Search

Your thoughts on reduced throttle EPA settings

Search this Thread

Old 05-31-2010, 06:56 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default Your thoughts on reduced throttle EPA settings

Just something i have been doing since about 2002 i run a smallish restrictor and set the epa to 1/2 open and tune for it. I was thinking this is a very common thing to do since it works out well yet at the track when i bring this up people look at me like i have a martian tapdancing on my head.

your thoughts? i know it works good for me but thought it would make a good discussion.
Old 05-31-2010, 08:20 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)

OH!!! NOW YOU'VE DONE IT LOOPER!!!
Now everyone knows how to gain better
control of there car, resulting in better
lap times. Not to mention alot better run
times too.
I took it a step further by setting up the
dual rate button on my radio to pull the
carb to 50% and 100% of slide travel.
Old 05-31-2010, 08:35 AM
Tech Adept

Hi Looper

I started racing 2 years ago and one thing I did which I think was very smart was use small inserts that gave me more than enough power to get me around the track.

Running small inserts like 6 or 6.5mm in buggy and 6.5 or 7mm in the truggy when I first started racing I think was the best thing a newbie could do as it made you drive the car and choose your lines. Soo many times I see new guy's running 9mm inserts flat chat and they're not improving with their driving because they're constantly on their lid or overshooting corners.

I'm not trying to sound cocky but I have improved greatly in my driving and now to attempt to keep up witht he quicker guy's, I'm having to go bigger in inserts for the more power to clear technical jump sections that you can't do with smaller inserts and to get out of corners faster aswell.