R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Old 05-20-2010, 07:45 PM   #1
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default break in bench

I just recently purchased a GRP ninja and a Hudy break in bench to break it in on and was wondering what the best way would be to break this in on the break in bench as i have never done it on a bench before and want to treat this engine very nice.
Thanks.
Simple GREEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2010, 11:57 PM   #2
Tech Apprentice

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

found this on Adam Drake post...

"boostfiend- Glad to hear you purchased a GRP engine. They are great engines. Out of the box the carb will be set very rich. Heat the engine with a temp gun to 160-170 degrees. Start the engine and adjust idle. I use a 1/10th scale truck tire foam to wrap around the head. This will help keep the engine up to temp during break-in. You want to keep the engine in the 170 - 180 degree range. Let the engine idle for 4-5 tanks. Now it's time to start running it on the track or in the street. You want to start with the engine a little on the high speed needle. It ok to run the engine with the low speed needle lean (race setting), but keep the high speed needle a little on the rich side for another 4-5 tanks. You want to make sure the engine is getting plenty of lubrication on the straights. It can take up to a full gallon of fuel before the engine is completely broken in. Be patient and take your time. It will pay off." -Adam Drake.

so u can use bench for the first 5 tanks...
XCORERacing Servos
SPECTRUM DSM
RedlandRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2010, 05:55 AM   #3
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)

wow. Run the lsn at a race tune? No thanks. I would at least turn the lsn an hour or two richer then a race tune to be safe. But i am not adam drake. He has forgotten more then i will ever know.

Still woundn't do it though.

Mugen
dreaux is offline   Reply With Quote