R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Old 05-19-2010, 07:05 AM   #1
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default Engine Maintenance

I'm relatively new to the Nitro scene and want to start doing everything "right".

I have a DM-1, with the Force .28 and will be getting a .21 Vspec for my "on the way" Truggy very soon.

I read the break in bible and looks like I did everything right during break in and I'm starting to get a handle on tuning.

My question is about Engine maintenance...

I use Mystery Oil as my after run and it seems to work well.

What else and how often do I (should I) do other things?
I have friends that tear down and clean/polish everything after every race day.
Others that do nothing but use after run.

Is there a happy medium or whats even really necessary?

Thanks in advance.
Old 05-19-2010, 07:15 AM   #2
Tech Lord

Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)

For the engines I keep the outside clean and change bearings as needed. I don't use AOR unless it's going to be longer than 2 weeks between races. If you use a high quality fuel there is pleanty of oil in there. Otherwise I use the if it ain't broke don't try to fix it so if my engines are running strong I leave them alone. Why year them apart and risk gettig dirt inside. Some guys will tear anything apart and then wonder why it don't work right when they put it back togeather. Most engines will need bearings around 5 gallons. Some sooner some later but that's a good middle point. If thefront bearing is not leaking leave it alone. I have enough to do with diff oil and shocks and busted parts to keep me busy without adding to it. That's what works for me.
Frank L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2010, 08:17 AM   #3
Tech Regular

How often do you change the connecting rod?
Mine is about 2 gallons old and i'm not sure if i can run one more race (less than 1 gallon)...

I run JPX .21 in 8T1.0 if it matters...

Thanks in advance