R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Old 05-08-2010, 05:42 AM   #1
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 119 (99%+)
Default glow plugs

so i am not new to the hole nitro motor scene but i am also no expert when it comes to tunning. i feel i have a pretty good tune on my motor and others at the track think i am pretty close to spot on as well. my question is, racing every week for about the past month now i have been popping a glow plug every race day. at least one if not more than that. when i pull out the plug, the filament is still attached, the plug on the bottom is a little dark and a touch wet looking. it seems like i can run all my short quals with the same plug but as soon as i run a long main (15-25min) my plug fails after the race. it never fails me during the race but when i go to fire my car back up to burn out the fuel the plug is dead, and it never fails every week now. glow plugs are really starting to get expensive. i have leaned and fattened both the bottom and the top with new plugs and the same results over and over. any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
the motor is a ninja jx21 brand new ceramic bearings with just shy of 4 gallons on it
skoalisbad4me is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 06:02 AM   #2
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 68 (100%+)

What plug are you using? You need to be using the OS P3 plug.
Make sure you're not to lean on top and rich on bottom. Easy engine to run like that.
Greg B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 06:09 AM   #3
Tech Master

yes i am using a p3. and like i said i have gone in all kinds of different directions with the needles. im pretty sure my tune is pretty close to being on but i just cant figure out why i keep popping plugs. i ran the same plug for maybe a gallon before this started and now i cant make 1 plug last a race night
Old 05-08-2010, 06:39 AM   #4
Tech Regular

check your conrod and bearings, maybe they are causing the problem...