R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-03-2010, 06:49 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Simple GREEN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 411
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default Starter box

Hey I upgraded my losi (1.0) starter box motors to the Traxxas Titan 550 Size Motor (12T). And have run into an unexpected problem.... They turn over my motor to FAST... this sounds strange I know but it is true.
I was wondering if there is some other way to wire the motors so they will be slower. I have it running stock wiring with all soldered attachments and deans plugs.

Thanks.
Simple GREEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 06:53 PM   #2
Tech Fanatic
 
mudboger07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 939
Default

How much voltage are you putting to them? If your putting 14volts try droping it a couple volts, the only other way I know of besides that is change the gearing. But a couple crawler motors 45t would have worked and prob alot cheeper.
__________________
Proud Sponsor of a 10 year old.....
losi 8ightB 2.0/DX3S/VSpec* Revo-3.3*mod slash*blade-mcx*axial GC2
Team Nitro** F-14*Team Terribles/Answer-RC

Ken
mudboger07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 07:12 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
fatdaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 1,614
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

either a higher turn motor, or a lower voltage battery.


how is starting the motor too fast a problem? i wouldnt think it would matter
__________________
HPI Racing - Hot Bodies - D8 Army!
**Team Terribles** (Answer RC, Fastlane Graphix, Caster racing, M2C Racing, and Dialed Inc!)
fatdaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 07:27 PM   #4
Tech Regular
 
Simple GREEN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 411
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

I really don't want to buy new motors I just got new ones and it was a pain to get in them in and running there is no way to wire it so that it will be slower?

and I am running a jell cell,

and for why it is to fast it spins faster than the idle so i have to try and put the throttle like half way to get it started.
Simple GREEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 07:34 PM   #5
Tech Fanatic
 
mudboger07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 939
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Simple GREEN View Post
I really don't want to buy new motors I just got new ones and it was a pain to get in them in and running there is no way to wire it so that it will be slower?

and I am running a jell cell,

and for why it is to fast it spins faster than the idle so i have to try and put the throttle like half way to get it started.
There's no way to wire it to slow it down, the speed should not hurt anything, when your starting it just bump it, don't hold it down untill it starts. When you bump it it will fire and as you release it the flywheel will not still be on the starter wheel.
__________________
Proud Sponsor of a 10 year old.....
losi 8ightB 2.0/DX3S/VSpec* Revo-3.3*mod slash*blade-mcx*axial GC2
Team Nitro** F-14*Team Terribles/Answer-RC

Ken
mudboger07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 08:36 PM   #6
Tech Regular
 
pfunk66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Batavia, OH
Posts: 330
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Looks like a bad idea now that I think about it..
__________________
AE SC10 FT - TLR 22
VP-Pro USA - Team Upgrade RC - PFunk Designs
Clinton County RC Raceway CCRCR.net

Last edited by pfunk66; 05-03-2010 at 08:50 PM.
pfunk66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 08:37 PM   #7
Tech Lord
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,499
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

Junk it and get a Ofna Truggy box. Done deal...
__________________
- X-Ray/ RC America Team Driver - MKS -
- XB8 - XB8T - XB8 E - OS Spec III - B2102 - 4PXR -
~ SSC ~ Godfather ~ Ironman ~ ButterySmooth ~
Frank L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 08:41 PM   #8
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: toronto ontario canada
Posts: 405
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pfunk66 View Post
I believe this would work?? Of course the switch is missing from this diagram, but I think it should work.
dont use that diargram that pot wont handle the load, u will burn out the pot, make sure u are in a series ciruit, so from neg of battery u go to positive of one motor, then positive of first motor u go to neg of second motor and then last connection should be positive of last motor wich should go through the switch then ur brass contacts then to battery, thats how it should be wired, if ur using a paralell ciruit it might spin to fast, or u can add a coil to reduce the voltage, but if u do that, u will looose torque
skidoos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 08:46 PM   #9
Tech Regular
 
pfunk66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Batavia, OH
Posts: 330
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skidoos View Post
dont use that diargram that pot wont handle the load, u will burn out the pot, make sure u are in a series ciruit, so from neg of battery u go to positive of one motor, then positive of first motor u go to neg of second motor and then last connection should be positive of last motor wich should go through the switch then ur brass contacts then to battery, thats how it should be wired, if ur using a paralell ciruit it might spin to fast, or u can add a coil to reduce the voltage, but if u do that, u will looose torque
Wasn't sure.. most of my electrical background is in audio based projects..
__________________
AE SC10 FT - TLR 22
VP-Pro USA - Team Upgrade RC - PFunk Designs
Clinton County RC Raceway CCRCR.net
pfunk66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 10:43 PM   #10
Tech Lord
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,499
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

Sorry to be so neg about the losi box. I had one eat a brand new $90 lipo. It shorted out and took the lipo with it. Been running the ofna blue truggy box for well over a year now and never looked back. I had to get a bigger lipo guys are always using my box to start their cars. The 2200mah pack would not last the day starting 3-5 cars. 3400mah gets the job done now
__________________
- X-Ray/ RC America Team Driver - MKS -
- XB8 - XB8T - XB8 E - OS Spec III - B2102 - 4PXR -
~ SSC ~ Godfather ~ Ironman ~ ButterySmooth ~
Frank L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 10:51 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
smokinu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: MODESTO CA
Posts: 4,863
Trader Rating: 60 (98%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank L View Post
Sorry to be so neg about the losi box. I had one eat a brand new $90 lipo. It shorted out and took the lipo with it. Been running the ofna blue truggy box for well over a year now and never looked back. I had to get a bigger lipo guys are always using my box to start their cars. The 2200mah pack would not last the day starting 3-5 cars. 3400mah gets the job done now
haha i saw that at the last race, ill be getting a 4s 5600mah pack should last a couple months!
__________________
Marcus P.
\\Speedzone USA//Savox USA\\Caster Racing Parts//
www.speedzoneusa.com. www.casterracingparts.com
smokinu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 07:02 AM   #12
Tech Regular
 
Simple GREEN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 411
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Well sounds like I am going to have to throw it, thanks for the input.
Simple GREEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 07:27 AM   #13
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 203
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Simple GREEN View Post
Hey I upgraded my losi (1.0) starter box motors to the Traxxas Titan 550 Size Motor (12T). And have run into an unexpected problem.... They turn over my motor to FAST... this sounds strange I know but it is true.
I was wondering if there is some other way to wire the motors so they will be slower. I have it running stock wiring with all soldered attachments and deans plugs.

Thanks.
No such thing - these engines run at 30k rpms. No starter box is to fast, expecially with a Titan motor. I had 2 Titans in my box last year and never had a problem...... I was running with a 12v gel then swichtched to losi lipo for starter box....
__________________
I'm not sponsored so it does not matter what I put here.
Shuming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 07:33 AM   #14
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 3,644
Default

One Titan Motor in a Losi starter box? That will not last you long. Plus like shuming said, no such thing, the fast it turns the fast it starts the less stress on motor. But you will burn that out soon. The best thing you can do for this box is upgrade to 1 Ofna 770 motor. The 550 titan is no better than stock and we all know how long that last.
__________________
TLR - Spektrum - Horizon - TLR 8ight 4.0 - TLR 8ight-T 4.0 - TLR 22 4.0 - Orion
token is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 11:51 AM   #15
Tech Regular
 
Simple GREEN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 411
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Token I have 2 in there, I don't think you can just put one in I would need to get a shorter belt or something.
Simple GREEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Losi starter box rgrassey@me.com Nitro Off-Road 151 05-16-2011 03:09 PM
FREE!!!LOSI 8IGHT 2.0 BUGGY,STARTER BOX,SPEKTRUM DX3S,RAFFLE!,YOU PAY THE SHIPPING!!! thercwizard R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 132 04-14-2010 01:41 PM
(((((losi 8b and 8t w/mucho parts , starter box and a few more extras ))))) houston R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 159 01-20-2009 10:10 PM
Starter Box Lipo Pull_My_Finger Nitro Off-Road 47 07-12-2008 05:11 PM
losi 8B-8T Starter Box layedbackguy Nitro Off-Road 80 12-10-2007 03:48 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:03 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net