R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Nitro Off-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-off-road-130/)
-   -   Best air filter oil? (https://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-off-road/391231-best-air-filter-oil.html)

heidmann1 04-20-2010 07:57 PM

Best air filter oil?

Hey guys, I have been using the same brand filter oil for 7 years and I just Wandered your opinions on what you like best? I clean and re-use my filters so I am trying to find something Tacky, but that will still clean up fairly easy.

I dont know if the formula changed or what but the blue kyosho oil is not sticky at all. Its just like regular oil. And for my dusty tacks its not gonna work:( My filter after a few runs last week showed signs of it getting thru to the inside of the filter, and yes it was oiled plenty.They came out with a new green tacky oil, also I See mugen oil is supposed to be real tacky. BUt the question is finding one thats at least fairly tacky and washable..

Thanks guys!!

bigmatt 04-20-2010 08:02 PM

I use k/n air filter oil. wash with soap and water,keeps all the small crap out. I tried some others that were tacky as you say, but just clgged up on me in dusty conditions.

steve307b 04-20-2010 08:04 PM

NO TOIL cleaner and oil from the MX shops. Works great

Dlewis4 04-20-2010 08:07 PM

I am using KalGard's.... its awesome.

JAMMINKRAZY 04-20-2010 08:12 PM

Mugen oil is really good. It has some sort of carrier in it. Like an alcohol based carrier or something that evaporates after you work it into the filter. This allows the oil to be nice and thin when you are applying it so it soaks in well. Then it gets sticky after the carrier evaporates. It is NOT easily washable though. I have heard rock oil (sold by TKO) is good oil and is also washable.

I personally don't have the patience anymore to reuse my filters. I just buy pre-oiled filters and toss them when they're done.:nod:

heidmann1 04-20-2010 08:16 PM

Originally Posted by Dlewis4 (Post 7298687)