R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-20-2010, 08:25 AM   #1
Tech Initiate
 
russell77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: pomona CA
Posts: 20
Default i can't get my car to my start

i have been trying to start my car but it just sounds like it wants to start
russell77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 08:49 AM   #2
Suspended
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: northern michigan
Posts: 7,916
Trader Rating: 202 (96%+)
Default

make sure ignighter is charged, check glow plug, make sure its getting fuel, make sure clutch is not binding
inferno13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 08:55 AM   #3
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: England
Posts: 60
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by russell77 View Post
i have been trying to start my car but it just sounds like it wants to start
Well to general, can you give us any details?
c9311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 09:44 AM   #4
Tech Initiate
 
russell77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: pomona CA
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c9311 View Post
Well to general, can you give us any details?
well i look at everything and it's all working do you think it can be the tuneing ?
russell77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 09:53 AM   #5
Suspended
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: northern michigan
Posts: 7,916
Trader Rating: 202 (96%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by russell77 View Post
well i look at everything and it's all working do you think it can be the tuneing ?
could be, you could try turning HS and LS counter clockwise 1 full turn and try again, might not be getting enough fuel
inferno13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 09:57 AM   #6
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 864
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by russell77 View Post
i have been trying to start my car but it just sounds like it wants to start
Make sure the glow igniter is making good contact with the plug. Last weekend I couldn't get my b5 to fire up no matter what tune or plug I put on it turned out it was a bad glow igniter, I had to hold that igniter at an angle to make it work. That was a total waste of a good half hour.
TopGearRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 10:01 AM   #7
Tech Initiate
 
russell77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: pomona CA
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xjqkz View Post
Make sure the glow igniter is making good contact with the plug. Last weekend I couldn't get my b5 to fire up no matter what tune or plug I put on it turned out it was a bad glow igniter, I had to hold that igniter at an angle to make it work. That was a total waste of a good half hour.
ok i just have to wait for my starter to charge back up
russell77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 10:52 AM   #8
Tech Initiate
 
russell77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: pomona CA
Posts: 20
Default

wow i pulled apart my engen and the piston is cracked lol owell
russell77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 12:01 PM   #9
Suspended
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: northern michigan
Posts: 7,916
Trader Rating: 202 (96%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by russell77 View Post
wow i pulled apart my engen and the piston is cracked lol owell
yep, that will do it!! lol
inferno13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 10:02 PM   #10
Tech Initiate
 
russell77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: pomona CA
Posts: 20
Default

do i have to brake in my new piston kit
russell77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 10:13 PM   #11
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 864
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

yes you will have to break in your new piston/sleeve.

What kind of engine was it that you were running? In some cases its almost not worth it to replace a piston/sleeve.
TopGearRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 10:13 PM   #12
Tech Regular
 
RUNNINONMT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: YOUR MOMS HOUSE
Posts: 345
Default

breaking it in wouold be the best thing to do
RUNNINONMT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 10:29 PM   #13
Tech Initiate
 
russell77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: pomona CA
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xjqkz View Post
yes you will have to break in your new piston/sleeve.

What kind of engine was it that you were running? In some cases its almost not worth it to replace a piston/sleeve.
trx 2.5 is that bad?
russell77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 10:31 PM   #14
Tech Initiate
 
russell77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: pomona CA
Posts: 20
Default

this is my car if it helps


russell77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 10:45 PM   #15
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 864
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

I've never had a traxxas, so I don't know how much that engine is and the replacement parts. If the p/s set is more than 60% of the total engine price, i'd say buy a whole new engine and keep the old one for parts.
TopGearRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Newbie Alert! Can't get my car started! Jastang Nitro On-Road 14 04-09-2006 04:09 AM
Can't get Car to keep idle Blaze1 Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 6 04-21-2004 09:16 AM
my car needs to be burned fasterdanu Australian Racing 32 04-21-2003 05:12 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:57 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net