R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-10-2010, 09:23 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: southeastern ohio
Posts: 375
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default possible servo problem or something else?

I have an rc8 rtr and my brakes are sticking. When I hit the brakes they stay on some until I hit the throttle again. Sometimes they take a second to even work at all when I hit the brakes, and other times the pulse like anti lock brakes. My servo also makes a humming noise almost all the time.

Is my servo almost done or is maybe the little spring bad thats on the throttle rod that goes to the servo arm?

It seems that my servo just doesn't push the brakes back far enough whenever I let off of them.

Maybe I have the back brakes to tight?

I have no idea, I'm new to all of this and am trying to think of anything that would keep me from buying another servo already. I've sunk more money then I've wanted to so far into this way to fast.
bevofrancis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2010, 09:53 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
jmaxey51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Athens, GA
Posts: 3,917
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

its probably the servo if its the servo that comes with the RTR. but also take of the servo arm and make sure its not stripped, it might be spinning on the servo. i had that happen to me and bought another servo and then realized it was just the servo arm.
jmaxey51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2010, 10:04 PM   #3
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: southeastern ohio
Posts: 375
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

I think just typing out my problem helped.

I can't start it up right now but I think I fixed it. It had something to do with my new radio's trim level. I forgot that the day I got it when I started my buggy it was idleing with the throttle at about half, so I adjusted the trim for a quick fix. That was making my brakes stay on until I hit the throttle again.

I just brought out what ever is at the end of the trottle rod ( I have no idea what these things are called) so that the servo could move my throttle all the way in without any trim on the radio. That made the brake loosen up without having to tap the throttle again.
bevofrancis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2010, 10:47 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
jmaxey51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Athens, GA
Posts: 3,917
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

glad you figured it out, sometimes going back to the basics will solve the problem. simple easy fix.
jmaxey51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Schumacher Corner meche Electric On-Road 27727 07-20-2015 07:38 PM
Losi 8ight building and setup JBRacing Nitro Off-Road 8691 06-27-2011 08:43 AM
Two dead throttle servos. Coincidence or something else? fatdaddy Nitro Off-Road 15 11-14-2009 12:09 PM
Futaba S9550 problem hanzo3 Electric On-Road 28 09-22-2007 06:44 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:20 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net