R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-09-2010, 04:40 PM   #1
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,657
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default can you run a standard plug without the copper gasket?

just curious. what will happen?
__________________
"You are not understanding the fundamental principles of my fragmented personality"

Mugen
dreaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2010, 04:42 PM   #2
Tech Champion
 
JAMMINKRAZY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 6,575
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

NO!!! Absolutely not! The copper gasket is what seals a standard plug. Without it the plug will not seal at all.
__________________
-Koby Kubrin-
Thanks to my Sponsors:
Serpent America | Team Novarossi | Desoto Racing | Race AKA | Ridgeway Bodies
JAMMINKRAZY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2010, 04:50 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,657
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

i have a picco .26 i just rebuilt today. Got one of my old standard plugs and put it in. It would fire up and die after i took the ignitor off. Sometimes it would idle for a couple seconds and sometimes it would start screaming then die.

Then i remembered about the copper gasket. was hitting 200 at idle


got so used to putting turbo plugs in i forgot all about it


when smoke starting coming out the top i was like WTF?


thank god i figured it out after only half a tank
__________________
"You are not understanding the fundamental principles of my fragmented personality"

Mugen

Last edited by J.Whiting; 04-09-2010 at 04:57 PM. Reason: language
dreaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2010, 04:50 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
RC-ZOMBIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Insane Asylum, Pa
Posts: 1,353
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

You won't even be able to tune it correctly.
__________________
Associated~Tekno~Mugen
RC-ZOMBIE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2010, 04:57 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,657
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

tune? it wont even run.

when i put the plug in the button head i remember saying at the time "man that plug sure is far into the combustion chamber". Duh duh duh.

I kept puting shims in. Had like 4. Started to get a little better
__________________
"You are not understanding the fundamental principles of my fragmented personality"

Mugen
dreaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2010, 05:01 PM   #6
Moderator
 
J.Whiting's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: a very small town in wisconsin that is in the middle of absolutely no where
Posts: 4,536
Trader Rating: 57 (100%+)
Default

the copper shim does 2 things.....

1) seals the combustion chamber
2) shims the plug up high enough to clear the piston and centers the heat in the middle of the chamber...

jeremy
__________________
Jeremy Whiting - serpent america - desoto racing - apicco race engines - RcRenew - jconcepts - Rc Pro Products - ko propo eurus - ko propo servos - VP PowerMaster Fuels - Answer-rc usa - advantage racing products - Parma/pse bodies - serpent 811 2.1 - 811t
J.Whiting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2010, 05:05 PM   #7
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,657
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

so how bad did i mess up my engine running it without the gasket? I did less then a tank.
__________________
"You are not understanding the fundamental principles of my fragmented personality"

Mugen
dreaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2010, 05:09 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
RC-ZOMBIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Insane Asylum, Pa
Posts: 1,353
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dreaux View Post
tune? it wont even run.

when i put the plug in the button head i remember saying at the time "man that plug sure is far into the combustion chamber". Duh duh duh.

I kept puting shims in. Had like 4. Started to get a little better
It will run, just don't take your finger off the triger.
__________________
Associated~Tekno~Mugen
RC-ZOMBIE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2010, 05:09 PM   #9
Tech Champion
 
JAMMINKRAZY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 6,575
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

You're fine dreaux. No harm done. The reason it wouldn't run right and smoked was because of it leaking around the plug. While it is true that the copper gasket raises the plug some, it really has no chance of hitting the piston even without a gasket. The head button/combustion chamber are shaped in a way that would make that impossible.
__________________
-Koby Kubrin-
Thanks to my Sponsors:
Serpent America | Team Novarossi | Desoto Racing | Race AKA | Ridgeway Bodies
JAMMINKRAZY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2010, 05:10 PM   #10
Tech Master
 
RC-ZOMBIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Insane Asylum, Pa
Posts: 1,353
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dreaux View Post
so how bad did i mess up my engine running it without the gasket? I did less then a tank.
Put the shim in and test it. You should be fine.
__________________
Associated~Tekno~Mugen
RC-ZOMBIE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2010, 05:14 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,657
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

i will get a new plug tomorrow. Don't have any copper shims around for some reason. Been over a year since i ran a standard plug.
__________________
"You are not understanding the fundamental principles of my fragmented personality"

Mugen
dreaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2010, 05:17 PM   #12
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,657
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

by the way, what is a good standard O.S. plug? it will be for a ofna picco .26 outlaw.
__________________
"You are not understanding the fundamental principles of my fragmented personality"

Mugen
dreaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2010, 05:27 PM   #13
Tech Champion
 
JAMMINKRAZY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 6,575
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dreaux View Post
by the way, what is a good standard O.S. plug? it will be for a ofna picco .26 outlaw.
None actually. OS plugs are short plugs. That engine accepts a long body plug. I would look at an Odonnell or McCoy plug or something along those lines. Maybe a novarossi plug. Say a #5 ultra plug. Or you could go with a picco plug like the Ofna #6(warning, they are expensive but last a long time).

Edit: you may be able to get the OS LC3 "long" plug to work. It's their only long plug and is a bit hot for that engine IMO.
__________________
-Koby Kubrin-
Thanks to my Sponsors:
Serpent America | Team Novarossi | Desoto Racing | Race AKA | Ridgeway Bodies
JAMMINKRAZY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2010, 05:34 PM   #14
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,657
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Can we nominate most helpful poster? You should be a moderator jammin.

BTW, i am thinking about getting a LRP .30 It has 4.21 horses and 39K rpm's


not really gonna get it eerrr maybe
__________________
"You are not understanding the fundamental principles of my fragmented personality"

Mugen
dreaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2010, 05:40 PM   #15
Tech Champion
 
JAMMINKRAZY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 6,575
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dreaux View Post
Can we nominate most helpful poster? You should be a moderator jammin.

BTW, i am thinking about getting a LRP .30 It has 4.21 horses and 39K rpm's


not really gonna get it eerrr maybe
Aw shucks

LOL about the .30. Hahaha.

More like 2 hp and 20K rpm(if that)
__________________
-Koby Kubrin-
Thanks to my Sponsors:
Serpent America | Team Novarossi | Desoto Racing | Race AKA | Ridgeway Bodies
JAMMINKRAZY is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:06 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net