R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Old 04-07-2010, 12:12 PM   #1
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default Rc Pro Series Cap on entries?????Huhhhh.....

I've been racing for 20 years and I've never had to worry about signing up early and wondering if I can go to a local race. I can understand a National race or an invitational, but the RC pro series was supposed to let everyone compete with the better drivers, as the years go by the race gets more serious, and the average racer, like me, gets put off by the seriousness of the RC pro series races. We have some great tracks in Texas. San Antonio, Austin, Houston, are my local or regional tracks and in the past we tried to increase the turnout to keep the hobby going and the track paid for. Since the RC pro series has come along the local club level racing has declined. Everyone is going to the rc pro the Texas state series, too much focus is on these races and not on local racing, and so during each of those races the club racing suffers, and to top it off there is a cap of 150 entries, and usually even that is ok, but there are more classes now with electric 1/8th buggy and sc trucks and the list is growing, but for me, a die hard 1/8th expert driver the limited entries in my class along with the slowing local racing due to these serious races kinda takes away from the fun. All I hear is, you better sign up, are you going, call the track and see if you can go, that's rediculous. 250 racers is perfect for a race, the problem with going late is because of the newer classes, and really buggy truggy, sportsman and expert is all we need for those races. We could have a seperate race for just electric and shortcourse on a different day. Let the race be about the racing class, and limiting entries is frustrating for those who have to plan for racing.......Honestly I've not enjoyed the rc pro races I've attended and it's getting more irritating. I guess I'm a local series and clu