R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Old 03-29-2010, 12:27 AM   #1
Tech Master

Default Novice Needs help choosing between Boss and Alpha

hi guys, im still fairly new to the nitro scene. i spent most of last year getting familiar with my car and learning the ropes of nitro engines and such. im thinking of getting a new motor so that i can apply everything i have learned over the past year and get it all right from the start....as i guess everybody's first nitro motor takes some real abuse Both these are available at my local hobbieshop and are on a clearance sale, so the prices are relatively cheap.

the first is the Sm Boss .21 7 port rally competition. im leaning towards this due to the price.

the second is the Alpha plus .21 7 port witch is a small bit more expensive than the Boss. (green head)

At the same price of the Alpha, the Boss comes in a Mario Rossi tuned version as well. decisions decisions

thx in advance for the advice
Attached Thumbnails
Novice Needs help choosing between Boss and Alpha-b21rally_mini.jpg   Novice Needs help choosing between Boss and Alpha-alpha2809091.jpg  
Old 03-29-2010, 02:38 AM   #2
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)

GOOOO THE ALPHA!!!!

i run the z852 (green head) with the aplus 0801 pipe

it is a gun engine. Very tight when you first get it but use the break in method that is a sticky on the forum and it goes great. heaps of power and pretty easy to tune

Just my opinion anyway
Old 03-29-2010, 02:59 AM   #3
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default BOSS Vs Alpha

Both engines have their ups & downs.
The BOSS is also similiar to the GRP Tuned series and the NinjaMR series. They have higher RPM's and are bulletproof mills! Parts are getting harder to come by though!
The Alpha series are rather new in the market but seems to have quite a following. Can find any faults in the motor except for the soft heatsinks that come with it. Seen many heatsinks crushed from hard roll-overs!