R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-25-2010, 06:19 AM   #1
Tech Master
 
RC-ZOMBIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Insane Asylum, Pa
Posts: 1,353
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default Hudy 1/8 droop blocks do you need them if your using the setup station?

Do you realy need them?
__________________
Associated~Tekno~Mugen

Last edited by RC-ZOMBIE; 03-25-2010 at 02:38 PM.
RC-ZOMBIE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 10:47 AM   #2
Tech Regular
 
lewis666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: suffolk, england
Posts: 345
Send a message via MSN to lewis666
Default

i think that they are far to expensive for what they are. i just cut some wood to 30mm high (same as hudy blocks) and use them for my set up station
__________________
Durango DEX410R, BCE Losi 8ight 1.5 (radical 621t), Durango DESC410R on the way!
radical engines- www.gotnitroonline.com
Got nitro team driver
lewis666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 10:50 AM   #3
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,210
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

If you're using the setup station you will need droop blocks.
__________________
Team HRC Raceway - http://www.hrcraceway.ca/
Semple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 10:56 AM   #4
Tech Master
 
pickle311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,650
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

I used the ones that INtegy makes for 1/8 scale. They are too tall for the setup station so I flip them on the side. They are 41mm tall on the side and are perfect for the setup station and closer to the actual ride height than the hudy blocks.
pickle311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 11:39 AM   #5
Tech Master
 
RC-ZOMBIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Insane Asylum, Pa
Posts: 1,353
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I do have the Hudy 1/8 setup station, but I run full droop. Here is why I ask because when I use the setup station and set camber at -2 degree all the way around on my RC8TCE and then check it with the RPM monster camber gauge it says -1 degree, am I doing somthing wrong?
__________________
Associated~Tekno~Mugen

Last edited by RC-ZOMBIE; 03-26-2010 at 05:09 AM.
RC-ZOMBIE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 01:17 PM   #6
LMB
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 36
Default

Oh dear, you have just opened a can of worms here!!! I am not playing this time!!!
LMB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 01:20 PM   #7
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 864
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lewis666 View Post
i think that they are far to expensive for what they are. i just cut some wood to 30mm high (same as hudy blocks) and use them for my set up station
+1
TopGearRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 01:59 PM   #8
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 411
Default

The idea of the blocks is so that you are always setting your camber and toe at a consistent point. If you then check again at ride height, it will of changed.
__________________
Xray XB4 | Kyosho RB6 | Kyosho Rudebits DB2
Chris-s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 02:03 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
RC-ZOMBIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Insane Asylum, Pa
Posts: 1,353
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris-s View Post
The idea of the blocks is so that you are always setting your camber and toe at a consistent point. If you then check again at ride height, it will of changed.
Ok, so setup station reads -2 and hand held camber gauge reads -1 so which is it?
__________________
Associated~Tekno~Mugen
RC-ZOMBIE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 02:13 PM   #10
Tech Fanatic
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 991
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

doesn't really matter, just use the same gage every time you check it, I setup my cars on the Hudy station after every race weekend at home, and use a plastic rpm gage at the track but just to make sure booth my sides are equal.
__________________
Rui Almeida
Hamilton, Ontario
CANADA
I am not sponsored, these are the products I chose to support.
Serpent SRX8, Sanwa M11s, Sanwa SRX-BX servos, Picco 5TB
RAlmeida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 02:18 PM   #11
Tech Master
 
RC-ZOMBIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Insane Asylum, Pa
Posts: 1,353
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAlmeida View Post
doesn't really matter, just use the same gage every time you check it, I setup my cars on the Hudy station after every race weekend at home, and use a plastic rpm gage at the track but just to make sure booth my sides are equal.
Do you use the blocks and hight gauge?
__________________
Associated~Tekno~Mugen

Last edited by RC-ZOMBIE; 03-26-2010 at 09:01 AM.
RC-ZOMBIE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 07:16 PM   #12
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lewis666 View Post
i think that they are far to expensive for what they are. i just cut some wood to 30mm high (same as hudy blocks) and use them for my set up station
+1 I run my ride height at 28mm, so that's what I set my camber/toe at. I took the time to make a wooden block that was 28mm, only to find out from my brother that a Hitec servo box w/ the lid cut off measures exactly 28mm. Go figure
__________________
Shaun Davis
VP ProUSA
Mugen Seiki/Alpha Engines
Team Trinity
Miniracer23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 04:34 AM   #13
Tech Master
 
RC-ZOMBIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Insane Asylum, Pa
Posts: 1,353
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Miniracer23 View Post
+1 I run my ride height at 28mm, so that's what I set my camber/toe at. I took the time to make a wooden block that was 28mm, only to find out from my brother that a Hitec servo box w/ the lid cut off measures exactly 28mm. Go figure
So all you really have to do is set your ride hight then drop the car down from 6-12" and use the RPM monster gauge to set camber, correct? If you use the 30mm blocks and set your camber to 30mm ride hight when you take it off the setup station and set your ride hight to where its suppose to be you will have to re adjust you camber right?
__________________
Associated~Tekno~Mugen

Last edited by RC-ZOMBIE; 03-26-2010 at 05:14 AM.
RC-ZOMBIE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 09:31 AM   #14
Tech Regular
 
lewis666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: suffolk, england
Posts: 345
Send a message via MSN to lewis666
Default

well i cut them to 30mm because that is what the hudy ones are and they must be that height for a reason. but having the blocks the same as ride height would give a very accurate reading of the camber because that show how much camber there is when on tyres and fuelled for a race
__________________
Durango DEX410R, BCE Losi 8ight 1.5 (radical 621t), Durango DESC410R on the way!
radical engines- www.gotnitroonline.com
Got nitro team driver
lewis666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 07:45 AM   #15
Tech Master
 
RC-ZOMBIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Insane Asylum, Pa
Posts: 1,353
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

??
__________________
Associated~Tekno~Mugen
RC-ZOMBIE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TA-05 ver.2 RepaF1 Electric On-Road 2704 05-06-2017 05:25 PM
Hudy Set Up Station mudboger07 Nitro Off-Road 32 01-28-2010 08:15 AM
Getting out of Touring Sale!!! jaysimpson R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 24 07-03-2006 07:39 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:54 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net