R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-24-2010, 07:39 PM   #16
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Tega Cay, SC
Posts: 435
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

I agree With collecting trash. I hate doing it but it seems to be the only way to keep the linkage free. So the breaks will release.

Springs between the pads are a great idea that i will use but my problem is where the brake linkage slides through the hoop of the cam arm.
wrayth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 07:39 PM   #17
Tech Elite
 
looper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: DFW area of Texas
Posts: 2,224
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to looper
Default

__________________
Looped Designs Paintwerks
http://ldpaint.webs.com/ Email: Looped.designs@gmail.com
looper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 07:43 PM   #18
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Tega Cay, SC
Posts: 435
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

That picture works. but move your eyes from the throttle linkage to the hoop on the break cam. Where the linkage slides in and out through the hoop. it keeps getting bound.
wrayth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 07:47 PM   #19
Tech Adept
 
jjshbetz11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 234
Default

I use alot more spring than the pic on my calipers, also AI used some fuel tubing on the linkage so that when I let off the throttle it springs the calipers free so absolutely no binding. I will post pics tomorrow.
__________________
Losi 8ight 2.0 RR
Werks Racing
Hi-tec
Spektrum
jjshbetz11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 07:47 PM   #20
Tech Champion
 
losi_racer's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: mesa,az
Posts: 6,470
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrayth View Post
That picture works. but move your eyes from the throttle linkage to the hoop on the break cam. Where the linkage slides in and out through the hoop. it keeps getting bound.
it shows where the springs go, look at the pads. if its binding in the linkage something is bent


BTW LOPER, that C.D mount looks sick, i may have to get me one of those. i like the room between the carb and the mount. thanks for posting that
__________________

Byron Fuels/AKA Tires/Radiopost/TKO/Viper Rc/Dialed Inc/Empire Metal Product/Advantage Racing Products
losi_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 07:48 PM   #21
Tech Elite
 
looper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: DFW area of Texas
Posts: 2,224
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to looper
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrayth View Post
That picture works. but move your eyes from the throttle linkage to the hoop on the break cam. Where the linkage slides in and out through the hoop. it keeps getting bound.

ya gotta shim the linkage ends on the servo arm so that it is level with it and not rubbing on the sides of the hoop, on the diff mount side check the bearings or bushings to make sure that they move smoothly, it might just be that the screws are too tight binding up the whole mechanism. or doing a minor adjustment to the wires with shims or putting a minor z bend in them to get proper alignment

one more thing, make sure that the screws holding the brake pads are adusted right, about 25-30 degrees of movement of the cams should be max from coasting to full brake
__________________
Looped Designs Paintwerks
http://ldpaint.webs.com/ Email: Looped.designs@gmail.com
looper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 07:49 PM   #22
Tech Adept
 
jjshbetz11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 234
Default

check the actual linkage going to the cam, might have a depression from wearing on the can.
__________________
Losi 8ight 2.0 RR
Werks Racing
Hi-tec
Spektrum
jjshbetz11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 07:53 PM   #23
Tech Elite
 
looper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: DFW area of Texas
Posts: 2,224
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to looper
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by losi_racer View Post
it shows where the springs go, look at the pads. if its binding in the linkage something is bent


BTW LOPER, that C.D mount looks sick, i may have to get me one of those. i like the room between the carb and the mount. thanks for posting that
Thanks its just the regular old jammin center diff assembly, i replaced the cf top plate with aluminum as the cf was wallering out at the bearings.

A common mod with the losi 1.0 (maybe still true with the new one) is to dremmel the back edge of the top plate to make room for the carb boot, there is a bump back there where there should be a dip
__________________
Looped Designs Paintwerks
http://ldpaint.webs.com/ Email: Looped.designs@gmail.com
looper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 04:44 AM   #24
Tech Addict
 
flippz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 594
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

look where the linkage comes from the servo arm to the cam linkage and make sure it is straight sometimes you have to get washers under them to get them level. also as you see in the pic there is a wear mark so may be to the point of causing the hanging. also check the thickness of the pads and see if they are so worn they are allowing the cam to turn to far,saw that on a buggy once.
__________________
RC8T-Werks B5-M11 Airtronics-B4.1
flippz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 05:02 AM   #25
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Tega Cay, SC
Posts: 435
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

thanks for the hints. I will be breaking it apart today an going through it.
wrayth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 11:06 AM   #26
Tech Fanatic
 
off road god's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: chattanooga,tn
Posts: 976
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Thumbs up

Brake springs....they keep the pads from sticking or riding on the rotor,disk or whatever your term form them are....I've used them for years now. Trinity was the first I had found,then Dynamite was hanging on the wall at my favorite hobby shop. I've used them ever since at nearly half the price of the Trinitys. Makes pad adjustment easy as pie.
off road god is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 11:14 AM   #27
Tech Elite
 
DOMIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fort Worth, Texas, USA, North America, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way Galaxy, Universe
Posts: 4,034
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to DOMIT Send a message via Yahoo to DOMIT
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrayth View Post
I bought Answer-RC Brake Release Springs. Just not sure exactly how to install them properly.

http://answer-rcusa.com/zencart/inde...products_id=46
They go between the brake shoes (pads)

I use the ones made by Bic. They're cheaper.
__________________
Brad "DOMIT" Smith - I'm not fast, but at least I wreck a lot.
Unsponsored, but I use/recommend: XRay XB9, Alpha A852, Dynamite 053, Airtronics M11, Hitec 5955TG & 7955TG, ABEC 35 clutch and chassis bearings, PTRCRacing shock and diff fluids, Ready Rollers ceramic engine bearings. ** Team Terribles Region 9 coordinator. ** JOIN TEAM TERRIBLES! All racers welcome! PM me for details.
DOMIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 11:18 AM   #28
Tech Elite
 
DOMIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fort Worth, Texas, USA, North America, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way Galaxy, Universe
Posts: 4,034
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to DOMIT Send a message via Yahoo to DOMIT
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jjshbetz11 View Post
check the actual linkage going to the cam, might have a depression from wearing on the can.
+1 seen that before. Rotated it so the worn spot didn't catch. Best solution is to replace the rods.
__________________
Brad "DOMIT" Smith - I'm not fast, but at least I wreck a lot.
Unsponsored, but I use/recommend: XRay XB9, Alpha A852, Dynamite 053, Airtronics M11, Hitec 5955TG & 7955TG, ABEC 35 clutch and chassis bearings, PTRCRacing shock and diff fluids, Ready Rollers ceramic engine bearings. ** Team Terribles Region 9 coordinator. ** JOIN TEAM TERRIBLES! All racers welcome! PM me for details.
DOMIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 12:18 PM   #29
Tech Addict
 
slotkarter77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Wichita, Ks.
Posts: 681
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

http://wwwndc2.walmart.com/ip/Sparta...00-ct/10319251

this isnt the one i bought, but its the same thing. i think the one i bought was 3 bucks, but is lasts forever. i run 2 or three of them at a time.
__________________
Nick Edgington
Sponsors: Proline, Fantom, MIP, BOOM rc, Venom RC, Ogio International
slotkarter77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 07:20 PM   #30
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 544
Default

Take a spring out of a ball point pen(the retractable kind) and cut it down. I personally don't run any springs in my calipers, but have seen this done.
__________________
Shaun Davis
VP ProUSA
Mugen Seiki/Alpha Engines
Team Trinity
Miniracer23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carb return Spring. hdcruzer Nitro Off-Road 19 10-07-2009 02:54 AM
throttle return spring spudly12 Nitro Off-Road 10 10-24-2008 02:32 PM
Break in stand Judge Joe Brown Nitro Off-Road 50 12-20-2007 06:21 PM
Radio throttle/steering return springs ChrisP Electric On-Road 7 04-12-2004 07:30 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:58 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net