R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-14-2007, 07:58 AM   #3931
Tech Regular
 
odoylrulz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 418
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

is it possible to use a mugen or a kyosho style clutch on the losi 8
odoylrulz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2007, 10:09 AM   #3932
Tech Elite
 
Aaron Waldron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Escondido, CA
Posts: 3,720
Default

Yes, with a different motor mount I believe. I think it's King Headz that makes it.
__________________
Aaron Waldron - LiveRC
www.liverc.com
Aaron Waldron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2007, 02:40 PM   #3933
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 6
Default

thanks it works a lot better now
m2000speedster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2007, 02:45 PM   #3934
Tech Elite
 
Aaron Waldron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Escondido, CA
Posts: 3,720
Default

Good, glad to hear it.
__________________
Aaron Waldron - LiveRC
www.liverc.com
Aaron Waldron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2007, 10:02 PM   #3935
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 67
Default

Hello,

Recently I have been having problems with my spectrum receiver loosing signal without any clear reasons. My rx batteries are fully charged, same as the tx batteries. Since spectrum doesn't get interfere by radio noise, I have no clue to what is going on. I am using the radio set that came with the 8ight RTR. Help Please!

Edit: Also my operating temperature for the receiver has been around 110F just idling for 30 mins or so.
kmaheartless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2007, 11:46 AM   #3936
Tech Elite
 
Aaron Waldron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Escondido, CA
Posts: 3,720
Default

Make sure you don't have any loose plugs or frayed wires, that the receiver pack is in good shape, the normal stuff like that. Radio problems are my least favorite to deal with because there's really no easy way to figure out where the problem is coming from.

Does the radio system kick into fail safe? Or does the truck take off like crazy? Try re-binding the receiver to the transmitter and see if that fixes it. If not, you'll probably have to contact Horizon's customer service and see what they can do for you.
__________________
Aaron Waldron - LiveRC
www.liverc.com
Aaron Waldron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2007, 05:56 AM   #3937
Tech Master
 
tex1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 1,156
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to tex1
Thumbs up

FYI - I have seen this exact problem where the RX antenna got frayed in the case. Most were still in the tube and looked to be intact. Changed the antenna and the RX was good to go. Careful of the routing.
TEX

Aaron, How have you been running of late?
tex1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2007, 05:56 AM   #3938
Tech Master
 
tex1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 1,156
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to tex1
Thumbs up

FYI - I have seen this exact problem where the RX antenna got frayed in the case. Most were still in the tube and looked to be intact. Changed the antenna and the RX was good to go. Careful of the routing.
TEX

Aaron, How have you been running of late?
tex1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2007, 11:03 AM   #3939
Tech Elite
 
Aaron Waldron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Escondido, CA
Posts: 3,720
Default

Good call. Any loose, frayed, or otherwise damaged wires will cause problems. Also, a bad connection between the battery and receiver will make the car shut off, and it can be hard to find where you are losing that connection.

I've been doing alright lately. It's been a long year already and I've been really busy and out of the house, I'm looking forward to some time at home this weekend! I finished 5th in gas truck at the Hot Rod Shootout last month, and did great in electric considering how much I drive them (haha). I've driven pretty well at all of the races I've attended lately, like the Saturday Series.
__________________
Aaron Waldron - LiveRC
www.liverc.com
Aaron Waldron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2007, 01:13 PM   #3940
Tech Regular
 
odoylrulz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 418
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Also possible that your switch is bad, try connecting battery directly to the receiver.
odoylrulz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2007, 02:18 PM   #3941
Tech Master
 
tex1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 1,156
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to tex1
Default

Ahhhhh... I over look switches because I do not run them for that reason.

Anyways, good to hear Aaron. Will I see you in Texas for the RC Pro Series Finals? If so, I look forward to it.
TEX
tex1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2007, 02:18 PM   #3942
Tech Elite
 
Aaron Waldron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Escondido, CA
Posts: 3,720
Default

Yup, a bad switch will definitely cause a problem. A lot of racers prefer not to use a switch at all and just plug the receiver pack in when it's time to go, but I've always used switches on my cars.
__________________
Aaron Waldron - LiveRC
www.liverc.com
Aaron Waldron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2007, 02:22 PM   #3943
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 72
Default

i made my decision, ima sell ALL of my cars, and get an 8ight T and an 8ight. Will report back once i get them
MXrider99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2007, 02:32 PM   #3944
Tech Elite
 
Aaron Waldron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Escondido, CA
Posts: 3,720
Default

Now that's cool!
__________________
Aaron Waldron - LiveRC
www.liverc.com
Aaron Waldron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2007, 02:36 PM   #3945
Tech Master
 
trebor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,338
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Aaron- Over in the 8ight thread you had said you were using drilled pistons >>> 1/18 scale canadian racers

Well I was wondering if you still use this set-up as I am about to give it a go.

I appreciate your response, thanks.
__________________
Feedback
[url]http://rctech.net/forum/showthread.php?t=153173&highlight=trebor[/url]
trebor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Loaded Serpent 710. Aaron Burans Previous Car! NitroMaxx3.3 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 05-03-2008 05:42 AM
Aaron Bomia is an Excellent Seller! Luckyman4 Buyer/Seller dispute and Feedback discussion forum 0 06-25-2004 09:23 AM
AARON BOMIA = Great Trader Mart42 Buyer/Seller dispute and Feedback discussion forum 1 02-05-2004 08:15 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:22 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net