Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Ask Aaron Waldron

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2007, 06:21 PM
Tech Elite

Oh boy.

I'll let you drive mine next time we get the chance. Then you'll understand!
Old 04-19-2007, 07:11 PM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)

You going to be there Saturday for practice?
Old 04-19-2007, 07:53 PM
Tech Elite

Yup! Not sure what time, but we'll be there.
Old 04-20-2007, 07:40 PM
Tech Apprentice

I recently bought a nitro rustler to get into playing around and maybe eventually some racing, now its got the old pro .15 and I looked online and found kits to convert to TMX 2.5 engines, now Im curious as to wether a TMX3.3 could drop in instead using the kit, Whats a good engine thats low to medium priced and what is needed to make one of these engine packages actually fit, I know every vehicle is diffrent but in general.

Please help me Im new to this and completly lost.
Old 04-20-2007, 08:38 PM
Tech Elite

I don't know what it would take to put the 3.3 engine into a Rustler using a 2.5 conversion. If there are no means to make that conversion yet, I'm sure the aftermarket companies are working on it.

Generally speaking, you'll need a header pipe, engine mounts, and the correct carb linkage. I'm sure an aftermarket conversion kit to drop a 2.5 motor into your truck will have all that stuff in it, or at the least, information on how to make it work.

The Traxxas engines are great for their intended purposes. They run well, make good power, and don't break the bank. Traxxas has great customer service and a reputation for reliability so sticking with their engines for your Rustler is probably a good idea!

Hope that helps?
Old 04-20-2007, 09:51 PM
Tech Apprentice

yeah thanks.
Old 04-20-2007, 10:12 PM
Tech Elite

No problem.

This Sunday is the first round of the Jimmy Babcock Racing League Nitro Series, at Hobbytown Raceway in Palm Desert, CA. If you're in the area, come check it out!